|FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE||
CONTACT: Tom Vincz
|April 11, 2005||
Division of Taxation to Offer Extended Hours For Final Days of Tax Filing Season
TRENTON - State Treasurer Bradley Abelow today reminded taxpayers that all individual income tax returns for 2005 need to be postmarked or electronically submitted by Monday, April 17, 2006, in order to avoid penalties and interest. T axpayers who have not yet submitted their returns are encouraged to file electronically using one of the NJ FastFile Programs - NJ TeleFile, NJ WebFile or NJ E-File.
"If taxpayers want their refund quickly, the best advice is to file returns electronically," Treasurer Abelow said. The Treasurer noted that electronic filing offers taxpayers a fast, convenient and user friendly alternative to completing and mailing paper returns. Electronic filers also have the option to direct deposit a tax refund to their bank account.
Of the more than 2.7 million returns filed so far this season, 1.65 million, or 60% of them, have been filed electronically. Electronically filed returns are up more than 16% over last year.
Taxpayers in need of assistance completing their returns may contact the Division of Taxation's Customer Service Center by calling 609-292-6400. They may also visit one of the Division's Regional Offices, which are located throughout the State. The Division's business hours during the week leading up to the filing deadline will be as follows:
Regional Offices are located at the following addresses:
Division of Taxation employees will be available at each regional office to answer questions, assist with return preparation, accept completed tax forms or provide blank forms. Directions to the offices are available on the Division's Web site at: www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/ot1.htm.
The Treasurer also reminded taxpayers who owe tax not to overlook the advantages of electronic payments. "You can file now and pay at any time until midnight on April 17th," Abelow said. New Jersey 's electronic payment methods include electronic check (e-check) and credit card. There is a credit card convenience fee of 2.5% paid directly to Official Payments Corporation based on the amount of the tax payment.
Taxpayers who need more time to file their return can request a six-month extension of time to file. Extension requests can be submitted online through the Division of Taxation's Web site ( www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/online.htm ) or by mail using the traditional paper form, Form NJ-630, Application for Extension of Time to File New Jersey Gross Income Tax Return, which can be printed from the Division of Taxation's Web site. However, at least 80 percent of a filer's actual New Jersey income tax must be paid by April 17 in order to receive an extension. Mailed extension applications must be postmarked on or before Monday, April 17, 2006, and online extension requests can be submitted until midnight on April 17. Anyone making a payment of tax due with an online extension must pay by e-check or credit card.
Taxpayers who apply for an automatic extension of time to file their Federal return may receive an extension for their New Jersey return by including a copy of the Federal application when they submit their New Jersey income tax return, provided they meet all other requirements (including the requirement that at least 80 percent of the taxpayer's actual New Jersey income tax liability be paid on or before April 17). Taxpayers who file for a Federal extension but also need to make a payment of New Jersey tax by the April 17 due date must submit Form NJ-630 with that payment or file and pay online.
"While taxpayers will be given additional time to file their income tax returns, extensions of time to pay the tax due are not permitted under the Gross Income Tax Act," Abelow explained. "Penalties and interest are imposed whenever tax is paid after the due date."
Attached is a list of important contacts for New Jersey taxpayer information and assistance.