Governor Chris Christie • Lt.Governor Kim Guadagno  
The Official Web Site For The State of New Jersey - Department of Treasury
Global Navigation
FAQs Departments/ Agencies Services A to Z NJ Home Page
Disclaimer
Division of Taxation
FILE UCC FINANCING STATEMENTS

The Uniform Commercial Code (UCC) financing statements record and protect a secured party's interest in the collateral offered by a debtor for a loan. The UCC system gives public notice of the debtor-secured party relationship and the collateral involved.

To record this relationship, you will file a UCC Financing Statement (Form UCC-1). If the conditions change, you may amend the initial filing statement by submitting Form UCC-3. This document will reflect the current relationship including continuation of the maturity date, amendment of the conditions or information in the original filing, termination of the obligation, assignment to another, or partial release of the collateral listed. Filing services are provided for a fee.

Click here to access our service.

Related Link:

Online Filing Service

Our system contains all of the required and optional fields needed to file UCC-1’s and UCC-3’s. With each online filing you will receive electronic confirmation that you have filed, along with a downloadable version of the filed form in the national standard format (as defined by the International Association of Corporate Administrators – IACA). Examples of the forms may be obtained from the IACA homepage or at a local legal stationery store.

The online system contains the primary data elements and enforces the business filing rules set forth in the State of New Jersey’s Administrative Code (NJAC). The system also interfaces with and imports images into the image storage facility required by the NJAC. (N.J.A.C. 17:33 et seq.: http://www.michie.com/newjersey/lpext.dll?f=templates&fn=main-h.htm&cp=).

Alternative UCC Filing Service Channels

If desired, filers may submit UCC financing statements via mail or over-the-counter delivery. The forms may be obtained from the International Association of Corporate Administrators’ site -- IACA homepage, or at a local legal stationery store.
It is important to note the following regarding mail and over-the-counter services:

  • Two copies of each filing are required. One will be retained for State records, the other will be returned to the filer.
  • The Filing Office cannot track work in progress for individual mail-in items. It also cannot verify the delivery or mail to address for completed work. Also, the turnaround time for mail in work requests is 2 to 10 work days, depending on prevailing work volumes and mailing time – in-bound and out-bound, adds from 3 to 10 days to the overall turnaround time.
  • Over-the-counter requests, which are typically expedited (8.5 business hour processing), cost $15 extra per transaction (statutory expediting fee). The Filing Office fee schedules do not reflect other related costs such as express mailing services and/or costs for couriers or personal travel, which can add a minimum of $15 to expedited requests.

RETURN TO TOP OF PAGE

Fees/Payment
The fee for each filing is $25.00. Clients may choose one of the following payment options

Depository Account

With a prepaid depository account, clients need only reference their account numbers on search requests. The Division will fulfill the service requests and debit the appropriate accounts.

Credit card
Visa/MasterCard, American Express, or Discover

Check
Clients should make all checks payable to the Treasurer, State of New Jersey.

RETURN TO TOP OF PAGE


Expedited Service Option
Clients may have their filings processed in 8.5 business hours by submitting expedited requests over-the-counter at 33 West State Street, 5th Fl Trenton, NJ 08608-1214.

Clients should indicate that expediting is desired on a request cover sheet.

The fee for expediting is $15.00 per transaction -- i.e., each filing. The expediting fee should be added to the base fee discussed previously. For example, an expedited UCC filing would cost $40.00 -- $25.00 base fee plus $15.00 for expediting.

RETURN TO TOP OF PAGE


Delivering Non-Expedited Requests

Non-expedited or regular requests may be mailed to:

NJ Division of Revenue
PO Box 303
Trenton, NJ 08646

ATTN: UCC Section

*Requests should include the client's return address.

RETURN TO TOP OF PAGE

Return Options

There are two return options for completed work:


Regular mail

 

The Division returns all mail-in requests to the address supplied by the client.

Over-the-counter

 

If requested by the client, the Division of Revenue will leave completed work at the counter area (5th floor, 33 West State Street). As part of the over-the-counter return process, the Division will place completed work in courier or express services envelopes (e.g., Federal Express, UPS, etc.) for pickup by these services. Clients must provide completed air bills with their own account numbers to obtain express/courier pickup from 33 West State Street.


Last Updated: Friday, 06/07/13


Revenue: Home | Registrations | Certifications | Tax Filings | NJBGS | Refund Policy | Contact us
Treasury: Home | ServicesPeopleBusinesses | Divisions/AgenciesFormsContact Us
Statewide:
NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 1996 -
This site is maintained by the Division of Revenue and Enterprise Services.

Accessibility Statement Legal Statement Privacy Notice Contact Us Open Public Records Act