Governor Chris Christie • Lt.Governor Kim Guadagno  
The Official Web Site For The State of New Jersey - Department of Treasury
Global Navigation
FAQs Departments/ Agencies Services A to Z NJ Home Page
Disclaimer
Division of Taxation
FILE LEGAL NAME CHANGES

Court ordered name changes must be filed with the Division of Revenue within 45 days of the name change. The original certified copy of the court ordered decree with raised seal must be submitted with a filing fee of $50.00.

The original decree will be returned to you. Should you require a certified copy of the filing, an additional fee of $25.00 is required.

Send your letter with the court ordered decree and payment to:

Regular Mail   Over-the-Counter or Courier Service submissions:
Division of Revenue and Enterprise Services
Judgment Name Change Unit
PO Box 453
Trenton, NJ 08646
  State of NJ-Division of Revenue and Enterprise Services
33 West State Street, 5th Fl.
Trenton, NJ 08608

Previously Filed Legal Name Changes:

To request a Certified copy of Judgment Legal Name change previously filed with the State of New Jersey, submit your request in writing and mail to the PO Box address listed above. Include the following information:

  • Old Name
  • New Name
  • County (Superior Court) in which the Judgment occurred
  • Date of Judgement (or close approximation)
  • If available, the court docket number

The fee for a certified copy of a previously filed judgment is $25.00. Please make check payable to "Treasurer-State of New Jersey". Please include a self-addressed envelope with your request.

Judgments filed prior to 1948:

Legal name changes filed before 1948 are archived. Submit your request in writing, including the informaiton:

Mail to:
Catherine Medich
New Jersey State Archives
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307

  • Old Name
  • New Name
  • County (Superior Court) in which the Judgment occurred
  • Date of Judgement (or close approximation)
  • If available, the court docket number

The fee for archival search/copy is $5.00. If a State Seal is required (certified copy), two separate checks must be submitted; one in the amount of $5.00 and one in the amount of $25.00. Check(s) made payable to: "New Jersey General Treasury".


Last Updated: Tuesday, 11/18/14


Revenue: Home | Registrations | Certifications | Tax Filings | NJBGS | Refund Policy | Contact us
Treasury: Home | ServicesPeopleBusinesses | Divisions/AgenciesFormsContact Us
Statewide:
NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 1996 -
This site is maintained by the Division of Revenue and Enterprise Services.

Reports Accessibility Statement Legal Statement Privacy Notice Contact Us Open Public Records Act Proposed Rules and Amendments Comment or Petition for new Rule Division/Ageny Statutes and Rules Electronic Notification