Governor Chris Christie • Lt.Governor Kim Guadagno  
The Official Web Site For The State of New Jersey - Department of Treasury
Global Navigation
FAQs Departments/ Agencies Services A to Z NJ Home Page
Disclaimer
Division of Taxation
STANDING CERTIFICATES

Standing certificates attest to the legal status of business entities such as corporations, and limited liability companies operating in New Jersey. These certificates are certified under the seal of the State Treasurer and serve as legal documents.

There are three types of standing certificates: short form standing, long form standing with officers and directors and long form standing with charter documents. The information provided on each document is designated in the Public Records Guide. All three types of standing certificates may now be obtained online. The ability to validate a certificate online is also available.

Fees:
Corporate and Limited Partnership standing certificates
     (Includes short and long form standings)
$  25.00
Short form standing certificate of LLCs and LLPs $  50.00 *
Long form standing certificate of LLCs and LLPs $ 100.00 *

Expedited service providing processing within 8.5 business hours is available for these certifications received by FAX, in person, or by Courier Service. The fee for this optional service is $15.00 per transaction for corporations, non-profits and LPs, and $25.00 per filing for LLCs and LLPs. This fee is in addition to the charge for the standing certificate.

Standing certificates not ordered online will be forwarded by 1st class mail unless other delivery arrangements have been made.

(*)  Same business day service is available for a fee of $50.00 for items marked with an asterisk.

Service Options:
 
  Online         
  Regular Mail   NJ Division of Revenue
  Certification and Status Unit
  PO Box 450
  Trenton, NJ 08646
  Over-the-Counter

  NJ Division of Revenue
  Certification and Status Unit
  33 West State Street, 5th Fl.
  Trenton, NJ 08608

  FAX Orders

   609.984.6855

For regular mail, OTC and FAX orders, provide the name and 10-digit business ID of the business entity for which the certificate is being produced, along with the type of certificate (short form, long form/officers-directors or long-form/charter documents) and return instructions. Providing a self-addressed, stamped envelope will speed processing. Insure you enclose the fee payment as per the fee schedule listed above. Make checks payable to the Treasurer, State of New Jersey. Provide account information for credit card payments -- card type (VISA, MASTER CARD, DISCOVER or AMEX), card number, expiration date, and account holder name and address.

You may browse the names/10-digit IDs of business entities online free of charge.

Last Updated: Thursday, 05/09/13


Revenue: Home | Registrations | Certifications | Tax Filings | NJBGS | Refund Policy | Contact us
Treasury: Home | ServicesPeopleBusinesses | Divisions/AgenciesFormsContact Us
Statewide:
NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 1996 -
This site is maintained by the Division of Revenue and Enterprise Services.

Reports Accessibility Statement Legal Statement Privacy Notice Contact Us Open Public Records Act Proposed Rules and Amendments Comment or Petition for new Rule Division/Ageny Statutes and Rules Electronic Notification