Governor Chris Christie • Lt.Governor Kim Guadagno  
The Official Web Site For The State of New Jersey - Department of Treasury
Global Navigation
FAQs Departments/ Agencies Services A to Z NJ Home Page
Disclaimer


NJ Tax E-News
July 2009 - Archived E-News Mailings


Date Areas of Interest Subject
07/28/09 Property Tax Relief Programs

NJ Tax E-News  07/28/09

The Division of Taxation is now in the process of mailing 2008 homestead rebate applications to homeowners who were under age 65 and not disabled on December 31, 2008. This is the second of two mailings for the program this year; applications were mailed in May to homeowners who could be identified as being senior citizens (age 65 or older) or disabled on December 31, 2008. The current mailing of application packets will be staggered over the next two weeks. The deadline for filing these applications is September 1, 2009.

The homestead rebate application delivery dates by county are:

Cape May, Union - July 27

Gloucester, Mercer, Middlesex, Passaic - July 28

Morris, Ocean - July 31

Bergen, Burlington, Cumberland, Warren - August 3

Camden, Hudson, Hunterdon, Salem, Somerset - August 4

Atlantic, Essex, Monmouth, Sussex - August 7

Because this year's Budget limits eligibility for nonsenior/nondisabled homeowners to those with New Jersey gross income of $75,000 or less, many homeowners will not receive applications this year.

With very few exceptions, homeowner rebate applications must be filed by phone or over the Internet. Homeowners who receive a packet should read it carefully, and if they meet the eligibility requirements, complete the worksheet in the packet prior to filing. Nonsenior/nondisabled homeowners with gross income over $75,000 who receive an application are not eligible and do not need to file.

Some senior and disabled homeowners may receive an application packet in this mailing, even though they have already filed for the 2008 homestead rebate. Homeowners who have already filed their applications online or by phone and received a confirmation number, or who have completed and mailed in a paper application, should not file again.

The homeowner rebate automated telephone filing system
(1-877-658-2972) and Internet filing application on the Division of Taxation Web site will be available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week during the filing period. Homeowners who have questions or need help filing their applications can call the Homestead Rebate Hotline at
1-888-238-1233. Representatives are available from 8:30 a.m. until 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday, except holidays.



Archived E-News Mailings

Last Updated: Thursday, 08/21/14




Taxation: Home | Site Index | Site Help | Legislature | Judiciary | Revenue | IRS | Other Tax Links
Treasury: Home | ServicesPeopleBusinesses | Divisions/AgenciesForms
Statewide:
NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 1996-
This site is maintained by the Division of Revenue and Enterprise Services.


Reports Accessibility Statement Legal Statement Privacy Notice Contact Us Open Public Records Act Proposed Rules and Amendments Comment or Petition for new Rule Division/Ageny Statutes and Rules Electronic Notification