Governor Chris Christie • Lt.Governor Kim Guadagno  
The Official Web Site For The State of New Jersey - Department of Treasury
Global Navigation
FAQs Departments/ Agencies Services A to Z NJ Home Page
Disclaimer


Homestead Rebate Application Information


If you are required to file a New Jersey income tax return, you must complete your homestead rebate application and file it at the same time you file your New Jersey income tax return (generally April 15). Complete and file Form HR-1040 if you are using Form NJ-1040 to file your return. Otherwise, complete the homestead rebate application section of Form NJ-1040EZ, or the homestead rebate application portion of a return you file electronically using NJ WebFile, NJ TeleFile, or approved tax preparation software. If you are not required to file a New Jersey income tax return, use Form HR-1040, which is a separate form, to apply for your homestead rebate. You may also file your homestead rebate application through NJ WebFile, provided you file by October 15.

If you are filing only Form HR-1040 because you do not have to file a New Jersey return, use the peel-off label from the front of your income tax return instruction booklet to complete the name and address section of the homestead rebate application. If you have no label, print or type the required information. Be sure to enter your social security number(s) in the space provided.

If you are filing both a Form NJ-1040 income tax return and a Form HR-1040 Homestead Rebate Application, place the peel-off label, if available, on your income tax return. Unless you have moved recently and the address on the peel-off label is incorrect, enter only your name and social security number on Form HR-1040.

If you or your spouse were at least 65 years of age or blind or disabled at the end of the tax year and you are filing both an income tax return and a homestead rebate application, be sure to claim your exemptions for age or disability on both your income tax return and your homestead rebate application. If you or your spouse were at least 65 years of age or blind or disabled at the end of the tax year, and you are filing only Form HR-1040 to apply for a homestead rebate, fill in the appropriate oval at Line 7 to claim the exemption. Fill in only one oval. If you or your spouse were 65 or older and also blind or disabled, fill in only the "Age 65 or older" oval at Line 7. If you fail to claim your exemptions for age or disability, your rebate amount may be reduced.

The first time you file a homestead rebate application and indicate that you or your spouse are age 65 or older or blind or disabled, you must submit proof of age, disability, or blindness. For acceptable documentation refer to the homestead rebate application section of the resident income tax return instruction booklet, Form NJ-1040-P.
-->

Last Updated: Monday, 09/27/10



Taxation: Home | Site Index | Site Help | Legislature | Judiciary | Revenue | IRS | Other Tax Links
Treasury: Home | ServicesPeopleBusinesses | Divisions/AgenciesForms
Statewide:
NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 1996-
This site is maintained by the Division of Revenue and Enterprise Services.


Accessibility Statement Legal Statement Privacy Notice Contact Us Open Public Records Act