Governor Chris Christie • Lt. Governor Kim Guadagno  
The Official Web Site For The State of New Jersey - Department of Treasury
Global Navigation
FAQs Departments/ Agencies Services A to Z NJ Home Page
Disclaimer


NJ Income Tax – Estimated Payments

Whether you are a resident or a nonresident of New Jersey, you must make estimated payments if you expect your New Jersey Income Tax liability for the year to be more than $400 after subtracting any anticipated withholdings, deductions and credits. However, if you expect your tax liability for the year to be $400 or less, you are not required to make estimated payments.

The Declaration of Estimated Tax Booklet includes four payment vouchers, instructions, and a worksheet to help you calculate your estimated tax and determine the amount of your quarterly payments. The voucher is called Form NJ-1040-ES.

The declarations of estimated tax must be filed on or before the 15th day of April, June, September, and January. If a due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the payment is due on the next business day. Payments must be filed timely in four equal installments. To ensure that your account is credited properly, the Social Security Number you enter first on the vouchers and checks should be the same one you enter first on your New Jersey Income Tax return.

Payments of estimated tax can also be made electronically by e-check or credit card (Fees Apply*). If you pay by e-check or credit card, you do not need to file an estimated tax voucher. (NOTE: E-check payments made using an account that is funded from a financial institution outside the United States will not be accepted.) *The fee is added to your actual payment.

Failure to make timely estimated payments will result in interest charges on all underpayments. There are some exceptions to the imposition of interest charges. For more information on estimated payments, see Tax Topic Bulletin GIT-8, Estimating Income Taxes.

You can verify the amounts of previously made estimated tax payments and credits online.

Note: If your circumstances change and you no longer need to make estimated payments, you do not have to notify the Division of Taxation. This is true even if you received a Declaration of Estimated Tax Booklet containing Form NJ-1040-ES vouchers, preprinted with your name and address, which you are not going to use.

Sale or Transfer of Real Property in New Jersey
Nonresidents may be required to make estimated tax payments in connection with the sale or transfer of real property in New Jersey.


Last Updated: Monday, 02/06/17



Taxation: Home | Site Index | Site Help | Legislature | Judiciary | Revenue | IRS | Other Tax Links | Glossary
Treasury: Home | ServicesPeopleBusinesses | Divisions/AgenciesForms
Statewide:
NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 1996-
This site is maintained by the Division of Revenue and Enterprise Services.


Reports Accessibility Statement Legal Statement Privacy Notice Contact Us Open Public Records Act Proposed Rules and Amendments Comment or Petition for new Rule Division/Ageny Statutes and Rules Electronic Notification