Governor Chris Christie • Lt.Governor Kim Guadagno  
The Official Web Site For The State of New Jersey - Department of Treasury
Global Navigation
FAQs Departments/ Agencies Services A to Z NJ Home Page
Disclaimer

How to Apply for a Current Year (2013) Property Tax Reimbursement (Senior Freeze)

Eligibility requirements, including income limits, and benefits available
under this program are subject to change by the State Budget.

Form PTR-1
Residents who were not eligible to apply for the 2012 reimbursement can apply for a 2013 reimbursement by completing and filing Form PTR-1. A copy of the 2012 and 2013 property tax bills and proof of payment must be submitted with the application. Mobile home owners must enclose documentation of annual site fees due and paid. To be eligible for the 2013 reimbursement an applicant must have been 65 years of age or older as of December 31, 2012, or receiving Federal Social Security disability benefits as of December 31, 2012, and December 31, 2013. Applicants 65 years of age or older must submit proof of age such as a copy of their birth certificate, driverís license, or church records. Applicants who are not 65 years of age or older but are receiving Federal Social Security disability benefits must submit a copy of the Social Security Award Letter indicating that the applicant was receiving benefits. An applicant does not qualify if receiving benefits on behalf of someone else. Applicants who satisfy all the 2013 Eligibility Requirements must file the 2013 Property Tax Reimbursement Application (Form PTR-1) on or before June 2, 2014.

Form PTR-2
Personalized applications (Form PTR-2) for a 2013 reimbursement are mailed to individuals who applied and were eligible for a 2012 reimbursement. This form is preprinted with some of the information provided on an applicant's base year application to make filing easier. These filers will only have to provide their 2013 income and property tax information. Eligible applicants must file the 2013 Property Tax Reimbursement Application (Form PTR-2) on or before June 2, 2014.


Verification Forms

Applicants who cannot locate their property tax bills or proof of the amount of property taxes (or mobile home site fees) paid may submit with the reimbursement application a verification form which has been completed and verified by their tax collector or the owner or manager of their mobile home park. Applicants filing Form PTR-1 will use the verification Form PTR-1A (homeowners) or PTR-1B (mobile home owners). Applicants filing Form PTR-2 will use the verification Form PTR-2A or PTR-2B.

Applications
Verification Forms for Property Taxes/Mobile Home Park Site Fees

Eligibility requirements, including income limits, and benefits available
under this program are subject to change by the State Budget.


Last Updated: Tuesday, 02/25/14



Taxation: Home | Site Index | Site Help | Legislature | Judiciary | Revenue | IRS | Other Tax Links
Treasury: Home | ServicesPeopleBusinesses | Divisions/AgenciesForms
Statewide:
NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 1996-
This site is maintained by the Division of Revenue and Enterprise Services.


Accessibility Statement Legal Statement Privacy Notice Contact Us Open Public Records Act