Governor Chris Christie • Lt. Governor Kim Guadagno  
The Official Web Site For The State of New Jersey - Department of Treasury
Global Navigation
FAQs Departments/ Agencies Services A to Z NJ Home Page
Disclaimer


Property Tax Reimbursement (Senior Freeze)
2015 Eligibility Requirements

The amount appropriated in the State Budget for property tax relief programs, may affect
eligibility requirements, including income amounts, and benefits available under this program

You may be eligible for a 2015 reimbursement if you met all the following requirements:


Age/Disability


  You (or your spouse/civil union partner) were:

  • 65 or older as of December 31, 2014; or
  • Actually receiving Federal Social Security disability benefit payments (not benefit payments received on behalf of someone else) on or before December 31, 2014, and on or before December 31, 2015.

Residency

  You lived in New Jersey continuously since December 31, 2004, or earlier as either a homeowner or a
  renter.


Home Ownership


  Homeowners.
You owned and lived in your current home since December 31, 2011, or earlier (and you still   owned and lived in that home on December 31, 2015).

  Mobile Home Owners.You leased a site in a mobile home park where you placed a manufactured or mobile
  home that you own since December 31, 2011, or earlier (and you still lived at that site on December 31,
  2015).


Property Taxes/
Site Fees


  Homeowners.
You paid the full amount of the property taxes due on your home:

  • For 2014 by June 1, 2015, and
  • For 2015 by June 1, 2016.

  Mobile Home Owners. You paid the full amount of mobile home park site fees due:

  • For 2014 by December 31, 2014, and
  • For 2015 by December 31, 2015.

Income Limit


  Your total annual income (combined if you were married or in a civil union and lived in the same
  home) was:

  • 2014 — $85,553 or less; and
  • 2015 — $87,007 or less.

To apply for a reimbursement file an application (Form PTR-1 or PTR-2) on or before the extended due date of October 17, 2016. The original due date was June 1, 2016.

Note: The amount appropriated in the State Budget for property tax relief programs affected reimbursement payments for 2014. Applicants were eligible for 2014 reimbursement payments if their income did not exceed $84,289 for 2013 and $70,000 for 2014, provided they met all the other requirements. The proposed appropriation for property tax relief programs would also affect eligibility for 2015 reimbursements.

Eligibility requirements, including income limits, and benefits available
under this programare subject to change by the State Budget.

Last Updated: Monday, 05/23/16



Taxation: Home | Site Index | Site Help | Legislature | Judiciary | Revenue | IRS | Other Tax Links
Treasury: Home | ServicesPeopleBusinesses | Divisions/AgenciesForms
Statewide:
NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 1996-
This site is maintained by the Division of Revenue and Enterprise Services.


Reports Accessibility Statement Legal Statement Privacy Notice Contact Us Open Public Records Act Proposed Rules and Amendments Comment or Petition for new Rule Division/Ageny Statutes and Rules Electronic Notification