Governor Chris Christie • Lt. Governor Kim Guadagno  
The Official Web Site For The State of New Jersey - Department of Treasury
Global Navigation
FAQs Departments/ Agencies Services A to Z NJ Home Page
Disclaimer

Property Tax Reimbursement (Senior Freeze)
2015 Requirements for Resuming Eligibility
After a Change of Principal Residence

Filing deadline for 2015 Senior Freeze (PTR) Applications extended to October 17, 2016

You may be eligible for a 2015 reimbursement if you met all the following requirements:


Previous Eligibility


  If you moved to the home for which you are filing a 2015 application between:

  January 1, 2012, and December 31, 2012, you must have applied and been eligible for a 2011
  reimbursement.

  January 1, 2013, and December 31, 2013, you must have applied and been eligible for a 2012
  reimbursement.


Age/Disability

 
 You (or your spouse/civil union partner) were:

  • 65 or older as of December 31, 2014; or
  • Actually receiving Federal Social Security disability benefit payments (not benefit payments received on behalf of someone else) on or before December 31, 2014, and on or before December 31, 2015.


Residency

 
 You lived in New Jersey continuously since December 31, 2004, or earlier as either a homeowner or a renter.

Current Home Ownership


  Homeowners.
You owned and lived in your current home since December 31, 2013, or earlier (and you still
  owned and lived in that home on December 31, 2015).

  Mobile Home Owners. You leased a site in a mobile home park where you placed a manufactured or mobile
  home that you own since December 31, 2013, or earlier (and you still lived at that site on December 31, 2015).


Property Taxes/
Site Fees

 
 Homeowners.
You paid the full amount of the property taxes due on your home:

  • For 2014 by June 1, 2015, and
  • For 2015 by June 1, 2016.

  Mobile Home Owners. You paid the full amount of mobile home park site fees due:

  • For 2014 by December 31, 2014, and
  • For 2015 by December 31, 2015.

Income Limit
  
Your total annual income (combined if you were married or in a civil union and lived in the same home) was:
  • 2014 — $85,553 or less; and
  • 2015 — $87,007 or less.

To apply for a reimbursement you must file Form PTR-1 and enclose Form PTR-1C, Verification of Change of Principal Residence.
Form PTR-1C is not available on this website. Call the Property Tax Reimbursement Hotline (1-800-882-6597) or visit a regional office to obtain a copy of this form, or if you have questions about your eligibility for the 2015 reimbursement.

Note: The amount appropriated in the State Budget for property tax relief programs affected reimbursement payments for 2014. Applicants were eligible for 2014 reimbursement payments if their income did not exceed $84,289 for 2013 and $70,000 for 2014, provided they met all the other requirements. The proposed appropriation for property tax relief programs would also affect eligibility for 2015 reimbursements.

Last Updated: Monday, 05/23/16



Taxation: Home | Site Index | Site Help | Legislature | Judiciary | Revenue | IRS | Other Tax Links
Treasury: Home | ServicesPeopleBusinesses | Divisions/AgenciesForms
Statewide:
NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 1996-
This site is maintained by the Division of Revenue and Enterprise Services.


Reports Accessibility Statement Legal Statement Privacy Notice Contact Us Open Public Records Act Proposed Rules and Amendments Comment or Petition for new Rule Division/Ageny Statutes and Rules Electronic Notification