Governor Chris Christie • Lt. Governor Kim Guadagno  
The Official Web Site For The State of New Jersey - Department of Treasury
Global Navigation
FAQs Departments/ Agencies Services A to Z NJ Home Page
Disclaimer
Website Survey


NOTICE TO QUALIFIED BUSINESSES LOCATED IN URBAN ENTERPRISE ZONES
EXPIRATION OF URBAN ENTERPRISE ZONES

Effective December 31, 2016 at 11:59 p.m.

On December 31, 2016, at 11:59 p.m., five Urban Enterprise Zones (UEZ) will expire. Your UEZ-qualified business will be immediately affected if located in one of these five zones.

The zones are:

  • Bridgeton
  • Camden
  • Newark
  • Plainfield
  • Trenton

Beginning January 1, 2017, your business can no longer collect Sales Tax at a reduced rate. Your business must collect and remit Sales Tax at the full effective Sales Tax rate of 6.875%.

Your business will receive an ST-2, Sales Tax Certificate of Authority, which will replace your UZ-2, Urban Enterprise Zone Certificate of Authority. Your UZ-2 expires December 31, 2016, at 11:59 p.m.

Your business is no longer eligible for any UEZ incentives or benefits including:

  • Collecting Sales and Use Tax at half the Sales Tax rate
  • UEZ Sales Tax exemptions certificates
  • UEZ Corporation Business Tax Employees Credit/Investment Tax Credit and Credit Carry Forward
  • Sales and Use Tax exemption for natural gas and electricity purchased by certain manufacturers

Sales Tax Exemption for Purchases

Your business cannot use the Urban Enterprise Zone Exemption Certificate (Form UZ-5) or the Contractor’s Exemption Certificate (Form UZ-4) on or after January 1, 2017. These certificates will no longer be valid for Sales Tax exemptions on purchases of tangible personal property and services used or consumed exclusively by the qualified businesses at their UEZ location.

Your business must pay the full amount of Sales Tax on all taxable purchases unless you issue the seller a non-UEZ exemption certificate (e.g. Form ST-3 for resale, Form ST-4 for exempt use, ST-5 for exempt organization).

For a complete listing of Sales Tax exemption certificates, review Tax Topic Bulletin S&U-6, Sales Tax Exemption Administration.

Filing Sales and Use Tax Returns

Your business must file the December 2016 monthly Urban Enterprise Zone Return (UZ-50) by January 20, 2017. This is the final UZ-50 return you will file.

Your business will be required to file a New Jersey Sales and Use Tax Quarterly Return (ST-50) every quarter. The first quarterly return covers all sales from January 2017 through March 2017 and is due on April 20, 2017.

You may be required to file an ST-51, Monthly Remittance, if

  • You collected more than $30,000 in Sales Tax in 2016 and
  • The amount of Sales Tax collected for the month is greater than $500

For more information about filing and paying your Sales and Use Tax, visit Sales and Use Tax Filing Information.

Refunds - UEZ Purchases

You may file a refund claim if your business paid Sales and Use Tax in error when making a UEZ-related purchase before December 31 at 11:59 p.m. Refund claims for UEZ-related purchases must be filed within one year of when the tax is paid using Form A-3730-UEZ.

Contact Information

We understand that you may have questions or concerns. Here is how to reach us:

Non-tax questions?

Tax questions?

Last Updated: Thursday, 11/17/16



Taxation: Home | Site Index | Site Help | Legislature | Judiciary | Revenue | IRS | Other Tax Links | Glossary
Treasury: Home | ServicesPeopleBusinesses | Divisions/AgenciesForms
Statewide:
NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 1996-
This site is maintained by the Division of Revenue and Enterprise Services.


Reports Accessibility Statement Legal Statement Privacy Notice Contact Us Open Public Records Act Proposed Rules and Amendments Comment or Petition for new Rule Division/Ageny Statutes and Rules Electronic Notification