AgEducation Home
AgEducation Bulletin Board
New Jersey FFA Association
Classroom / Lab Instruction
Career Planning / SAE
Professional Development
Calendar of Events
News and Information
Topics A-Z
NJ FFA State Association Calendar of Events
Day Time Event
 

 dates/locations are subject to change

*If a deadline falls on the weekend or a state holiday, the deadline is extended to the next business day.

Member of the Month applications must be submitted (online version ONLY) by 2:00 pm on the day of the state meeting.

September 2019
Day Time Event
Sunday, September 1

September Member of the Month Applications due

Monday, September 9
4:00 pm
State Association Monthly Meeting, NJ Dept. of Agriculture
369 South Warren & Market Street, Trenton, 1st floor Auditorium
Friday, September 13 - Saturday, September 14
Eastern Regional FFA Career Development Events
Eastern States Exposition, West Springfield, MA
Sunday, September 15
Participant List for Leadership Experience and Development (LEAD) Conference due
Chapter Officer Leadership Training, Leadership and Opportunities Conference, and State Greenhand Conference (6.000b)  
Friday, September 20
Registration for Fall Food, Agriculture & Natural Resources Education Teachers Conference due
Monday, September 23
4:00 pm
State FFA Executive Board Work Session, NJ Dept. of Agriculture
369 South Warren & Market Street, Trenton, 1st floor Auditorium
Friday, September 27
Fall Food, Agriculture & Natural Resources Education Teachers Conference
Rutgers EcoComplex, 1200 Florence- Columbus Rd. Bordentown, NJ 08505-4200
 
New Jersey Association of Agricultural Educators Meeting (following Ag Ed Conference)
Monday, September 30
Star State Award Applications Due
(Greenhand and Chapter)
 
Program Affiliation Contracts Due
October 2019
Day Time Event
Tuesday, October 1
October Member of the Month Applications due (5.001)
 
Chapter Officer List due
(REQUIRED TO RETAIN A CHAPTER'S CHARTER)
Friday, October 4 - Saturday, October 5
Leadership Experience and Development Conference
Chapter Officer Leadership Training, Leadership and Opportunities Conference & State Greenhand Conference, Location: The Hotel ML, 915 Route 73, Mt. Laurel, NJ 08054
Monday, October 7
4:00 pm
State FFA Association Monthly Meeting, NJ Dept. of Agriculture
369 South Warren & Market Street, Trenton, 1st floor Auditorium
Tuesday, October 8
6:00 pm
State FFA Foundation Meeting, NJ Dept. of Agriculture
369 South Warren & Market Street, Trenton, 1st floor Board Room
Wednesday, October 9
6:00 pm
State Alumni Meeting, NJ Dept. of Agriculture
369 South Warren & Market Street, Trenton, 1st floor Board Room
Tuesday, October 15
Participant Lists for Fall Career Development Events due (www.judgingcard.com)
Monday, October 21
4:00 pm
State FFA Executive Board Work Session, NJ Dept. of Agriculture
369 South Warren & Market Street, Trenton, 1st floor Auditorium
Wednesday, October 30 - Saturday, November 2
92nd National FFA Convention & Expo and National FFA Career Development Events Indianapolis, IN
November 2019
Day Time Event
Friday, November 1
Membership Roster Due
(REQUIRED TO RETAIN A CHAPTER'S CHARTER)
 
Alumni & Supporters Roster, Affiliation Agreement & Payment Due
 
November Member of the Month Application due
 
Participant Lists for 212° Conference due
Monday, November 4
4:00 pm
State FFA Association Monthly Meeting, NJ Dept. of Agriculture
369 South Warren & Market Street, Trenton, 1st floor Auditorium
Tuesday, November 12
7:00 pm
New Jersey Association of Agricultural Educators Meeting
Online Meeting
Friday, November 15 - Saturday, November 16
Checkpoint #2 for State Officers
Rutgers EcoComplex, 1200 Florence- Columbus Road, Bordentown, NJ 08505-4200
Monday, November 18
4:00 pm
State FFA Executive Board Work Session, NJ Dept. of Agriculture
369 South Warren & Market Street, Trenton, 1st floor Auditorium
Thursday, November 21
9:30 am - 1:30 pm
Fall Career Development Events, School of Environmental and Biological Sciences
  1. Land Judging
  2. Milk Quality and Products
  3. Turf Management
  4. Fruits and Vegetables Identification
December 2019
Day Time Event
Sunday, December 1
December Member of the Month Application due
 
Program of Activities due via AET & Chapter Constitution due
(REQUIRED TO RETAIN CHAPTER CHARTERS)
Monday, December 2
4:00 pm
State FFA Association Monthly Meeting, NJ Dept. of Agriculture
369 South Warren & Market Street, Trenton, 1st floor Auditorium
Wednesday, December 4 - Saturday, December 7
National Association of Agricultural Educators Convention/ACTE Convention
Anaheim, CA
Saturday, December 7
8:30 am - 6:30 pm
212° Conference
Rutgers University, Cook Campus Student Center
Wednesday, December 11
6:00 pm
State Alumni Meeting, NJ Dept. of Agriculture
369 South Warren & Market Street, Trenton, 1st floor Board Room
Monday, December 16
4:00 pm
State FFA Executive Board Work Session, NJ Dept. of Agriculture
369 South Warren & Market Street, Trenton, 1st floor Auditorium
January 2020
Day Time Event
Wednesday, January 1

January Member of the Month Application due (5.001)

Tuesday, January 14
6:00 pm
State FFA Foundation Meeting
Location TBA
 
Tuesday, January 14
7:00 pm
New Jersey Association of Agricultural Educators Meeting
Location TBA
Wednesday, January 15
Participant Lists for State Officer Candidate School due (9.004a)
Friday, January 17
State Officer Banquet Speech Workshop
Rutgers EcoComplex, 1200 Florence-Columbus Road, Bordentown, NJ 08505-4200
Monday, January 20
4:00 pm
State FFA Executive Board Work Session
Location TBA
Saturday, January 25
9:00 am - 3:30 pm
State Officer Candidates’ School
Stone Bridge Middle School, 1252 Yardville-Allentown Road, Allentown, NJ 08501
February 2020
Day Time Event
Saturday, February 1
February Member of the Month Application due (5.001)
 
Participant List for Advocacy and Legislative Leadership Day Event due (2.001a)
 
Chapter Nominations for Honorary State Degree and Distinguished Service Award due to State Office (Honorary – 14.019 and Distinguished – 14.018)
Monday, February 3
4:00 pm
State FFA Association Monthly Meeting, NJ Dept. of Agriculture
Location TBA
Tuesday, February 4 - Thursday, Feburary 6
New Jersey Agricultural Convention & Trade Show and Annual State Agricultural Convention
Harrah’s Waterfront Conference Center, Atlantic City, NJ
Wednesday, Wednesday 5
1:30 pm
New Jersey Food, Agriculture & Natural Resources Education Council Meeting
(at State Ag Convention) Harrah’s Waterfront, Atlantic City, NJ
Wednesday, February 12
6:00 pm
State Alumni Meeting, NJ Dept. of Agriculture
Location TBA
Saturday, Feburary 15
Participant List for NJ FFA Horticultural Exposition and Floral Design CDE due (13.003a)
(NO ENTRIES WILL BE ACCEPTED WITHOUT PARTICIPANT LISTS)
Monday, February 17
4:00 pm
State FFA Executive Board Work Session
Location TBA
Thursday, February 20 - Sunday, February 23
State Officer Fuel-Up Conference State Convention Planning
North Wildwood, NJ
Saturday, February 22 - Saturday, February 29
National FFA Week – Chapter promotion of FFA
Thursday, February 27
Advocacy and Legislative Leadership Day Event
The College of New Jersey, 2000 Pennington Road, Ewing, NJ 08618
March 2020
Day Time Event
March 1
March Member of the Month application due (5.001)
 
Participant List for Online Farm & Agribusiness Management, Forestry, & Meat Evaluation CDEs due (www.judgingcard.com)
 
Landscape Design Plans (13.004) due
 
Participant List for Horse Evaluation CDE due
Monday, March 2
4:00 pm
State FFA Association Monthly Meeting
Location TBA
Friday, March 6 (Tentative)
9:30 am - 3:00 pm
New Jersey Youth Institute – The World Food Prize
Rutgers University
Tuesday, March 10
7:00 pm
New Jersey Association of Agricultural Educators Meeting
Online Meeting
Friday, March 13
10:00 am
Floral Design Career Development Event
Mercer County Community College, 1200 Old Trenton Road, West Windsor, NJ 08550
Friday, March 13 - Saturday, March 14
NJ FFA Horticultural Expo             
Mercer County Community College, 1200 Old Trenton Road, West Windsor, NJ 08550
Sunday, March 15
Nominating Committee Application Due (14.004)
 
State and American Degree Applications are due (State Degree – 14.007
 
Proficiency Award Applications Due – available on www.ffa.org
 
Participant List for Spring Career Development Events due (www.judgingcard.com)
Monday, March 16
State FFA Executive Board Work Session
Webinar
Tuesday, March 24
4:00 pm
Proficiency, American & State Degree Selection Committee
Location TBA
Wednesday, March 25
Farm & Agribusiness Management, Forestry & Meat Evaluation CDEs
Administered Online
April 2020
Day Time Event
Wednesday, April 1
Applications are due for the following awards presented at the convention:
The following applications can also be found on the New Jersey FFA Website
  1. State FFA Scholarship Applications (14.008)  
  2. Advisor of the Year Application (14.009)
  3. National Chapter Award Application Form I and Form II available on www.ffa.org or www.theaet.com
  4. Superior Chapter Application (National Chapter Award Form I)
  5. Most Improved Chapter Application (15.014)
  6. Member of the Year Application (5.001)
  7. FFA Week Application (15.013)
  8. Essay Event (14.024)
  9. WLC Scholarship Application (14.022)
  10. Blue Jackets Bright Futures Application (14.010)     
  11. 8,000 Hour Challenge/Outstanding Service Project Award (14.026)
  12. National Convention Scholarship Application Due (14.021)
  13. State Talent Application (14.027)
  14. Hall of States (14.030)
  15. Ag Awareness Application (14.020)
Honorary American Degree for Teachers due to the State Office
 
Participant List for Dairy Evaluation CDE due (12.007b & 12.008b)
 
April Member of the Month Application due (5.001)
 
Agriscience Fair Participant List, Application, and Written Report due (16.001b)
Only National Agriscience Fair participant list, application and report will be accepted!
 
Participant List for State FFA Food Science & Technology, Agronomy, Livestock Evaluation & Poultry Evaluation Career Development Events (www.judgingcard.com)
 
Monday, April 6
4:00 pm
State FFA Association Monthly Meeting
Location TBA    
Sunday, April 5
State Horse Evaluation Career Development Event
Lord Stirling Stables, 256 S Maple Ave, Bedminster, NJ
Wednesday, April 8
Delegates, Courtesy Corps and Members names pre-registered for State Convention/Career Development Events due for 91st State FFA Convention. Advisor Assurance Forms are due with Convention Participant List. Participant List for the events listed below are due and included on the participant list form.
  1. 3-5 and 6-8 minute Public Speaking (15.003) Uploaded Manuscript due April 8th
  2. Demonstration (14.006) Uploaded Outline due April 8th
  3. Charles Drawbaugh Parliamentary Procedure Contest (12.009)                             
  4. Creed (12.015)
  5. Extemporaneous Public Speaking (12.017)
  6. Portable Exhibit (14.005)
  7. Employment Skills (14.017) Uploaded Resume/Cover Letter/Application/Job Description due April 8th
  8. Agricultural Issues Forum- Uploaded Portfolio due April 8th
  9. Official Ceremonies (15.015)     
  10. FFA Quiz Bowl (15.016)
  11. Artwork Competition (15.018)
  12. Teach Agriculture Event (14.029) Uploaded Lesson Plan due April 8th
  13. Marketing Plan CDE (12.022) Uploaded Portfolio due April 8th

 

 

Wednesday, April 8
5:00 pm
State Alumni Meeting and State Officer Retiring Address Workshop
Location TBA
Thursday, April 9
8:30 am - 4:00 pm
Applications Judged by State Awards Selection Committee
Location TBA
Tuesday, April 14
6:00 pm
State FFA Foundation Meeting
Location TBA
Monday, April 20
4:00 pm
State FFA Executive Board Work Session
Location TBA
Thursday, April 23
9:30 am - 1:30 pm
Spring Career Development Events
Rutgers University, School of Environmental and Biological Sciences
  1. Agricultural Technology and Mechanical Systems
  2. Floriculture
  3. Nursery/Landscape
  4. Ag Sales
  5. Environmental and Natural Resources
  6. Veterinary Science      
Saturday, April TBA
State FFA Dairy Career Development Event
Cedar Lane Farms, Oldwick, NJ
Wednesday, April 29
3:00-6:00 pm
Agriscience Fair
Rutgers EcoComplex 1200 Florence-Columbus Road, Bordentown, NJ 08505-4200
Thursday, April 30
State FFA Food Science & Technology, Agronomy, Livestock Evaluation & Poultry Evaluation Career Development Events
Eastern PA FFA Day, Lebanon, Pennsylvania
May 2020
Day Time Event
Friday, May 1
May Member of the Monrth Application due (5.010)
 
State Officer Applications due (15.001)
Monday, May 4
4:00 pm
State FFA Executive Board Work Session
Location TBA
Monday, May 11
4:00 pm
State FFA Executive Board Work Session
Location TBA
Monday, May 18- Wednesday, May 20

State officer set up and practice for state convention

Wednesday, May 20
1:00 pm
New Jersey Food, Agriculture & Natural Resources Education Council Meeting
(at State FFA Convention) Monmouth University, West Long Branch, NJ
Wednesday, May 20 - Friday, May 22
91st State FFA Convention
Monmouth University, West Long Branch, NJ
*Dates Subject to Change
Participant List required. Events to be held:
  1. 3-5 and 6-8 minute Public Speaking (15.003) Participant List and electronic submission of speech Due April 8th
  2. Demonstration (14.006) Participant List and electronic submission of outline Due April 8th
  3. Charles Drawbaugh Parliamentary Procedure Contest (12.009) Participant List Due April 8th
  4. Creed (12.015) Participant List Due April 8th
  5. Extemporaneous Public Speaking (12.017) Participant List Due April 8th
  6. Portable Exhibit (14.005) Application Due April 8th
  7. Employment Skills (14.017) Participant List and electronic submission of materials Due April 8th
  8. Agricultural Issues Forum- Participant list and electronic submission of Portfolio Due April 8th
  9. Official Ceremonies (15.015) Participant List Due April 8th
  10. Landscape Design (13.004) Participant List due March 1st
  11. FFA Quiz Bowl (15.016)
  12. Art Competition (15.018)
  13. Teach Agriculture Event (14.029) Electronic submission of materials
  14. Hall of States Exhibit Event (14.030)
  15. Marketing Plan (12.022) Participant List and electronic submission of materials Due April 8th
June 2020
Day Time Event
Monday, June 1
Participant List for Summer Career Development Events due (12.003b)
Dairy Handlers & Tractor Driving
 
National Convention State Block Rooms Needed and CDE Declaratopm Forms due
 
June Member of the Month Application due (5.001)
Monday, June 1
4:00 pm
State FFA Association Monthly Meeting
Location TBA
Saturday, June 6
Past State Officer Capstone, sponsored by New Jersey FFA Alumni
Rutgers EcoComplex, 1200 Florence-Columbus Rd. Bordentown, NJ 08505-4200
Saturday, June 6 - Sunday, June 7
State Officer Leadership Training Conference, sponsored by New Jersey FFA Alumni
Rutgers EcoComplex, 1200 Florence-Columbus Rd. Bordentown, NJ 08505-4200
Wednesday, June 10
6:00 pm
State Alumni Meeting
Location TBA
Monday, June 15
4:00 pm
State FFA Executive Board Work Session
Location TBA
Tuesday, June 23
1:00 pm
19th Annual New Jersey FFA Alumni Golf Tournament
Gambler Ridge Golf Course, 121 Burlington Path Road, Cream Ridge, NJ 08514
July 2020
Day Time Event
Monday, July 6
9:00 am
State FFA Association Monthly Meeting
Location TBA
Monday, July 13
4:00 pm
State FFA Executive Board Work Session
Location TBA
Tuesday, July 14
6:00 pm
State FFA Foundation Meeting
Location TBA
Tuesday, July 14
Tractor Driving Event
Burlington County Farm Fair, Burlington County Fairgrounds
Saturday, July 18
Dairy Handlers' Career Development Event
Burlington County Farm Fair, Burlington County Fairgrounds
Sunday, July 19 - Thursday, July 23
State Officer Summit
Washington, D.C.