text only siteskip to main contentskip to main navigation
 
State of New Jersey, Civil Service Commission
Governor Phil Murphy • Lt.Governor Sheila Oliver
 
 

Scheduled Date:
Email CLIPTraining.Support@csc.nj.gov or contact the Registration Team at 609-777-2225 to be added to the waitlist.

Location:
Middlesex County College
2600 Woodbridge Avenue
Edison, NJ 08818

Cost per Person: $159

Pre- Requisite: None

Length: 6 hours

Time: 8:30am - 4:00pm

Learning Objectives

The focus of this one-day course is to provide guidance for HR Professionals in the NJ Merit System to learn ways to guide and preserve your employees, who are your main resource. The goal of this class is not how to “remove” a problem employee. You will learn how a schedule of infractions and penalties, progressive discipline, and sound documentation will reduce employee appeals and grievances, and help you to better manage your employees.


Learning objectives:   

  • Define the terms discipline, grievance, and appeal
  • Identify employee behaviors which may be addressed through disciplinary action
  • Identify which actions are appealable and which actions meet criteria for grievance
  • Distinguish the difference between self and social discipline in the work environment
  • Identify the specific “building blocks” which form progressive discipline
  • Name and explain the seven tests for just cause (with the use of notes)
  • Distinguish the “facts” and “inferences” in an exercise
  • Name and explain McGregor’s “Hot Stove Rules” analogy for discipline
  • Identify the items that a hearing officer considers when reviewing an appeal
  • Recognize the steps, process, timelines, and documentation necessary for appeals of minor disciplinary action, major disciplinary action and grievances
 
 
Registration

Please complete the HR-1 Training Authorization Form to request classroom training. Your direct supervisor, departmental training coordinator and fiscal officer must approve the form. HR-1's received without proper approval will be returned to the Department's Training Coordinator.

You are not scheduled for the requested classroom training until you receive an official email confirmation from CLIP.

Fax your form to 609-777-2336. For any questions, please call the Registration Team at 609-777-2225.

 

Training Authorization Form

 
 
OPRA - Open Public Records Act NJ Home Logo
Department: CSC Home  |  Job Seekers  |  Current Employees  |  Appointing Authorities and Employers  |  About Us
Statewide: NJHome  |  Services A to Z  |  Departments/Agencies  |  FAQs
 
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 1996 - 2011