text only siteskip to main contentskip to main navigation
 
State of New Jersey, Civil Service Commission
Governor Phil Murphy • Lt.Governor Sheila Oliver
 
 

Cost: $1,049

Length: 42 hours, one day per week for seven weeks.

Time: 8:30am - 4:00pm

Pre-Requisite: None

Includes Course Material:

  • Printed instructional NJ STEP Student Guide
  • Harvard Business Review's 10 Must Reads on Leadership - Paperback collection of best-selling articles on Leadership
  • Gung Ho! Written by New York Times bestseller co-authors Ken Blanchard and Sheldon Bowles - Inspiring story that outlines techniques to boost employee enthusiasm and performance.

Important Information:
Attendance on day one is required. If you are unable to do so, please notify your agency's training coordinator and the Registration Team 10 days prior to the class start date.

2018 Fall Schedule

Bergen Community College
Monday, October 22, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Monday, November 19, 2018
Monday, November 26, 2018
Monday, December 3, 2018
Monday, December 10, 2018

 

Mercer County Community College
Friday, September 14, 2018
Friday, September 21, 2018
Friday, September 28, 2018
Friday, October 5, 2018
Friday, October 19, 2018
Friday, October 26, 2018
Friday, November 2, 2018

 

Rowan College at Burlington County
Tuesday, October 2, 2018
Tuesday, October 9, 2018
Tuesday, October 16, 2018
Tuesday, October 23, 2018
Tuesday, October 30, 2018
Tuesday, November 13, 2018
Tuesday, November 20, 2018

 
 
Course Description

The NJSTEP Program (Supervisory Training Empowering Performance) provides the framework for participants to develop the skills and competencies needed to be successful in a wide range of public sector supervisory positions. The program has been developed in partnership with the New Jersey Community College Consortium. It is designed to provide supervisors with skills that will build and enhance their fundamental understanding of the roles, tasks and practices of effective supervision and has been organized around 3 main principles:

1) Managing Yourself

Leadership
Making the Transition from Co-Worker to Supervisor
Communication 1- Verbal
Communication 2 Writing

2) Managing Others

Performance Management
Motivation
Managing Change and Resistance
Addressing Workplace Conflicts

3) Managing the Work

Planning and Organizing
Team Effectiveness
Problem Solving and Decision Making
Cultural Competence

It consists of a series of well-planned, educational modules that teach core leadership concepts through interactive activities and classroom exercises. Students meet one day a week for seven weeks and have an opportunity to interact with colleagues from other government agencies.

 

 

 
 
Registration Information

Please complete the HR-1 Training Authorization Form to request classroom training. Your direct supervisor, departmental training coordinator and fiscal officer must approve the form. HR-1's received without proper approval will be returned to the Department's Training Coordinator.

You are not scheduled for the requested classroom training until you receive an official email confirmation from CLIP.

Fax your form to 609-777-2336. For any questions, please call the Registration Team at 609-777-2225.

 

Training Authorization Form

 
 
OPRA - Open Public Records Act NJ Home Logo
Department: CSC Home  |  Job Seekers  |  Current Employees  |  Appointing Authorities and Employers  |  About Us
Statewide: NJHome  |  Services A to Z  |  Departments/Agencies  |  FAQs
 
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 1996 - 2011