Identifying An Abusive Relationship:

Domestic violence is a pattern of abusive behaviors that some individuals use to control their intimate partners. Domestic violence can include physical, sexual and emotional abuse, and other controlling behaviors.


Domestic Violence is a Crime:

The following are defined as criminal acts of domestic violence committed against a victim, who is 18 years of age or older or an emancipated minor*, by an adult:

  • Assault
  • Harassment
  • Burglary
  • Homicide
  • Criminal Mischief
  • Kidnapping
  • Criminal Restraint
  • Lewdness
  • Criminal Trespass
  • Sexual Assault
  • Criminal Sexual Contact
  • Stalking
  • False Imprisonment
  • Terrorist Threats

* Emancipated minor means a person who is under 18 years of age but who has been married, has entered military service, has a child or is pregnant, or has been declared by a court or administrative agency to be emancipated.

Help Is Available:

Each county in New Jersey offers programs that offer a variety of services for victims of domestic violence.  Click here to view New Jersey's Domestic Violence Programs by County.


NJ Domestic Violence Hotline
Toll Free: 1 (800) 572-SAFE (7233)
Provides a statewide 24-hour, seven day a week domestic violence hotline to serve domestic violence victims and others seeking information about domestic violence. The Hotline provides bilingual service and is accessible to the hearing impaired.


NJ Coalition for Battered Women
Phone: (609) 584-8107
Web: www.njcbw.org 
This is a private, non-profit coalition of domestic violence county programs that provide services for battered women in New Jersey.


New Jersey Coalition Against Sexual Assault (NJCASA)
Hotline: 1 (800) 601-7200
Phone: (609) 631-4450
Web: www.njcasa.org
NJCASA is the collective voice for victims of sexual violence, their loved ones and rape crisis centers across NJ. Its member centers represent each of NJ’s 21 counties.


State Office of Victim-Witness Advocacy
Phone: (609) 896-8855
Web: http://www.njvw.org/index.html
As a crime victim or a witness of a crime, you have certain rights in the criminal
justice system. There are many services available to you so that your participation in the criminal justice system will be less stressful and more informed. This is accomplished through the State and County Offices of Victim-Witness Advocacy. In each of the 21 county prosecutors' offices there is a County Office of Victim-Witness Advocacy.


Shelter Housing Exit (SHE) Program
Phone: (609) 633-6266
Web: http://www.nj.gov/dca/divisions/dhcr/offices/she.html 
Provides housing assistance to victims of domestic violence with children, who are receiving shelter or transitional housing services from domestic violence programs across the state. Security deposits and up to two months rent are available to help victims of domestic violence leave shelters. The program also provides long-term assistance, in the form of security deposits and up to six months of housing assistance payments, to help those families who need assistance into the future. Referrals for the SHE program must come through the victim’s local domestic violence shelter. Each county of New Jersey offers programs that have a variety of services for victims of domestic violence.


State of New Jersey Address Confidentiality Program Act
Toll Free: 1 (877) 218-9133
 
The New Jersey Address Confidentiality Program (ACP) provides assistance to individuals who, as a result of domestic violence, have relocated for their safety. The Address Confidentiality Program provides eligible victims of domestic violence with a substitute mailing address, which has no connection to their actual location. This substitute mailing address may be used when creating new records and/or updating records with state or local government agencies. The ACP will forward program participant's first class mail FREE OF CHARGE. The use of a substitute address will limit access to information about the location of individuals participating in the program.


Adult Protective Services (APS)
Phone: 1 (800) 792-8820
If you or someone you know is a 18 years of age or older vulnerable adult, living in the community and is subject to abuse, neglect and/or exploitation, a county APS program may be the place to turn! Vulnerable adults are people who are at risk for harm because they cannot adequately protect themselves. They may be frail, mentally or physically disabled, or alone and isolated, with no family or other social support. There is an APS program in each of the 21 counties that is monitored and evaluated by state staff. Complainants may be clients, caregivers, family members, agencies or any interested or involved individuals. Calls may be made to the particular county APS office, or to the Public Awareness, Information, Assistance and Outreach Unit Toll Free number:                    1 (800) 792-8820.