DCA Announces Property Tax Relief

TRENTON - The New Jersey Department of Community Affairs today announced fiscal year 2009 Extraordinary Aid awards.

Extraordinary Aid is awarded to municipalities who, because of extreme circumstances, would not be able to provide essential services to the community without a substantial increase in their property tax rate.

To receive Extraordinary Aid, the municipality submits an application to the Division of Local Government Services. The application details the municipality's fiscal posture and includes information about the municipality's efforts to contain costs and share services. The awarding of FY09 funds was delayed due to the implementation of pension deferral legislation.

DCA's Extraordinary Aid program is implemented through the Division of Local Government Services, which works with local governments throughout the state to ensure their fiscal integrity and to support their efforts to comply with state laws and regulations.

For more information on the Extraordinary Aid program, please refer to the Division of Local Government Services' website: http://www.nj.gov/dca/lgs/.

Attached, please find the complete list of towns awarded Extraordinary Aid

Fiscal Year 2009 Extraordinary Aid Awards




Dunellen Borough Middlesex 140,000
Irvington Township Essex 2,000,000
Keansburg Borough Monmouth 100,000
Lake Como Borough Monmouth 700,000
Lawnside Borough Camden 100,000
Perth Amboy City Middlesex 1,700,000
Union Beach Borough Monmouth 250,000
Weehawken Township Hudson 2,000,000
West New York Town Hudson 2,000,000
Total 8,990,000