Seven Municipalities Receive COAH Certification
18 Towns Now Certified Under COAH's Revised Third Round Rules

TRENTON - Seven more municipalities today received substantive certification under the Council on Affordable Housing's (COAH) revised third round rules. The action came during today's COAH Board meeting. The municipalities are: Beverly City, Frelinghuysen Township, Maplewood Township, Pennsauken Township, Plainsboro Township, Springfield Township, and Upper Pittsgrove Township.

"We have seen record participation during the third round, with over 350 municipalities signaling their intent to participate in the COAH process," said Department of Community Affairs Commissioner and COAH Board Chairman Joseph Doria. "These seven municipalities are to be commended for showing a commitment to providing their fair share of affordable housing."

These seven municipalities join Eastampton Township, Frenchtown Borough, Harding Township, Hardyston Township, Lawrence Township (Mercer County), Millville City, North Hanover Township, Pennsville Township, Pine Hill Township, Rocky Hill Borough, and West Amwell Township as the first 18 towns in the state to receive certification under the third round rules.

Substantive certification is COAH's determination that a municipal fair share plan presents a realistic opportunity for the production of affordable housing to address the town's portion of the affordable housing need. The substantive certifications granted to these nine municipalities are valid until December 30, 2018 and provide protection from builder's remedy lawsuits.

COAH, an affiliate of the New Jersey Department of Community Affairs, facilitates the production of sound, affordable housing for low and moderate income households by providing the most effective process to municipalities, housing providers, nonprofit and for profit developers to address a constitutional obligation within the framework of sound, comprehensive planning.