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I. PURPOSE

The purpose of this information memorandum is to provide assistance in
understanding the federal Davis-Bacon Act and the New Jersey Prevailing Wage
Act as each applies to funding allocated through the Department's Contracts. Any
Department of Children and Families Services Contract in excess of $2,000 for the
construction, alteration, demolition (applies to State funding only), repair or
renovations to any property or premises, may, depending on the funding source
(State, local or federal) and contractual circumstances, be subject to the
requirements of the Davis-Bacon Act and/or the New Jersey Prevailing Wage Act.

The federal Davis-Bacon Act and the State Prevailing Wage Acts are discussed
below:

1.

Davis-Bacon Act - (40 U.S.C. §276a-276a-5)

All contracts or subsequent subcontracts for construction, alteration, renovation,
or repair, including painting and decorating, of a public building or public work,
or building or work, financed by federal funds which meets the $2,000 threshold
are required to pay the federal prevailing wage rate for each class of laborer or
mechanic employed.  Regulations applicable to grant-enabling statutes
incorporating the Act can be found in 29 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR),
Parts 1, 3, 5 and 7. These regulations stipulate that grant funds appropriated
under statutes imposing the Davis-Bacon Act requirements shall not be paid to a
grantee (the Department) until contractors or subcontractors performing work
under the grant certify that they will comply with the Act's requirements. The
Act also applies to any contract or subcontract for similar work on public grants
from a federal agency, or where the federal government acts as guarantors of
mortgages. The only exception is for the transportation of materials and
supplies by persons who are not employed directly at the work site, but are
employed solely to make deliveries to the work site.

Provider Agencies must ensure that contracts or subcontracts for any
construction/alteration projects contain the wage determinations issued and that
the appropriate clauses required by the Davis-Bacon regulations (29 CFR,
section 5.5) are present. It should be made clear in any announcements of
projects or Raps that federal grant funds are being used and that Davis-Bacon
will apply even if the federal government is not a party to the contract or
subcontract. The prevailing wage must be paid regardless of any contractual
relationship that may exist between a contractor or a subcontractor. Although
the Department is not responsible to review sub-contracts for compliance, it has
the right to require a prevailing wage.
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Sanctions for post-certification violations include suspension of payment,
advances, or guarantees of grant funds, and the forced restitution of wages that
should have been paid and the removal of offending contractors or
subcontractors from active employment lists.

Failure to comply can bring penalties that can be severe. The contractor or
subcontractor and their sureties are liable for any excess costs for completing the
work; the Department may withhold accruals to ensure payment of prevailing
wages to the workers; the contract or subcontract may be terminated and/or the
contractor or subcontractor may be debarred for a period of three years.

New Jersey Prevailing Wage Act -(N.J.S.A. 34:11-56.27 et seq.)

Current law requires that workers who are compensated pursuant to a public
works contract must be paid the prevailing wage when a public body is a party
to said contract. If the public body is not a signatory party of the contract, the
Prevailing Wage Act does not apply. The fact that the source of funds for the
contract comes from a public body is immaterial in determining the applicability
of the New Jersey Prevailing Wage Act.

The penalties of paying less than the prevailing wage, where applicable, may
include the termination of a contract or part thereof. The State maintains the
right to proceed or prosecute the contracted work to completion with the
contractor's surety liable for excess costs. The Act also provides for criminal
sanctions including fines and/or imprisonment. In addition, administrative
assessments may be levied by the New Jersey Commissioner of Labor.

Language concerning the Davis-Bacon Act and the New Jersey Prevailing Wage
Act has been included in the Department of Children and Families' Standard
Language Document for Social Service and Training Contracts. When
applicable, all Provider Agency Contracts must contain the federal Davis-Bacon
Contract Provision (See attachment #1) and a State specific clause stating that
the prevailing wage rate, as designated by the New Jersey Commissioner of
Labor, must be paid to all workers employed through any subsequent Contracts
or subcontracts. These notices must be present even if the State or federal
Act does not apply to a given construction/alteration project. General
federal wage determinations are kept up-to-date by modifications published in
the Federal Register. State wage determinations can be obtained by contacting
the NJ Department of Labor, Office of Wage and Hour Compliance, Public
Contracts Unit by calling (609) 292-2259.
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