
New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection 

Division of Sustainable Waste Management

 RECYCLED CONTENT WAIVER REQUEST FORM

To apply for a waiver from the postconsumer recycled content requirements of New Jersey's Recycled Content 
Law (N.J.S.A. 13:1E-99.135-157), the Facility Contact, as identified in the manufacturer’s registration, must 
complete, and submit this form. Only manufacturers that have registered with the New Jersey Department of 
Environmental Protection are eligible to submit a waiver application. If the manufacturer has not yet registered, 
please visit Manufacturer Registration. Applications received from unregistered manufacturers will be denied. 

Please note that the manufacturer will be billed a $1,000 waiver application fee upon receipt of this application 
unless the manufacturer generated less than $5,000,000 in gross revenue. 
Disclaimer: The waiver request form has been developed as a fillable PDF file. In order to properly complete 

the form, the file must be opened in Adobe Acrobat Reader with a version of XI or higher. Adobe Acrobat 

Reader is a free software available for download at https://get.adobe.com/reader/. 

SECTION A. CONTACT INFORMATION 

Please provide the following information. The contact information provided must match the information 

provided for the Facility Contact in the manufacturer's registration.

Manufacturer Name:    _____________________________________________________________ 

Manufacturer Website: _____________________________________________________________ 

Federal Tax ID: ________________ Facility ID (assigned at registration): ________________ 

First Name of Contact: __________________ Last Name of Contact: __________________ 

Phone Number: ________________________ Ext.: ___________   

Mailing Address: _________________________________________________________________ 

Municipality: ______________________      State: _________ Zip Code: __________________ 

Email Address: ___________________________________________________________________ 

SECTION B. REGULATED CONTAINER AND PACKAGING PRODUCT CHECKLIST 

Please select all categories of regulated containers or packaging products for which the manufacturer 

is applying a waiver:

Rigid Plastic Containers 

Plastic Beverage Containers 

Glass Containers 

Paper Carryout Bags 

Plastic Carryout Bags 

Plastic Trash Bags 

https://get.adobe.com/reader/
https://www.nj.gov/dep/dshw/recycle_content_law.html


SECTION C. IDENTIFICATION OF BRANDS AND PRODUCTS REQUESTING A WAIVER 

Please upload a list of all regulated containers and packaging products for which the manufacturer is 
applying for a waiver here. Each regulated container and packaging product included on this list must 
match a product described on the Regulated Containers and Packaging Products Spreadsheet that 
was submitted with the manufacturer's registration. If this waiver application applies to all regulated 
containers and packaging products listed on that spreadsheet, you may upload a copy of the 
spreadsheet here in lieu of the required list.

Attachment Upload 

SECTION D. REASON FOR WAIVER APPLICATION
Please specify the reason(s) why you are applying for a waiver from the post-consumer recycled 
content requirements for the regulated containers and packaging products identified in Section C 
above. 

Select all that may apply:

The manufacturer must remain in compliance with applicable rules and regulations  
adopted by the United States Food and Drug Administration or any other State or Federal 
law, rule or regulation.

It is not technologically feasible for the manufacturer to achieve the post-consumer 
recycled content requirements.

Inadequate availability of recycled material or substantial disruption in the supply of 
recycled material.

SECTION E. DOCUMENTATION UPLOAD

Please upload documentation demonstrating that the manufacturer cannot comply with the applicable 

postconsumer recycled content requirements in accordance with N.J.S.A 13:1E-99.145. Multiple files 

may be uploaded, if necessary, but each file will need to be uploaded separately using the Attachment 

Upload button below until all files have been uploaded.

Before uploading documentation, please make sure the type of documentation is indicated 

somewhere within the file (e.g., certified third-party expert, federal or state agency, etc.).

If the waiver is due to a conflicting state or federal law, rule, or regulation, a copy of the 
applicable law, rule, or regulation that precludes compliance with the postconsumer 
recycled content requirements must be provided along with the appropriate citation for 
that law, rule, or regulation.

Attachment Upload 

Certified third-party experts may consist of external labs, certification entities, 
universities, or equivalent accredited organizations. Use of internal experts, such as 
labs owned, operated, or affiliated with the manufacturer, will not be accepted.



SECTION F: CERTIFICATION

This certification shall be signed by the Facility Contact in accordance with N.J.S.A. 13:1E-99.135-

157.  

I certify under penalty of law that I have personally examined and am familiar with the information 

submitted in this document and all attachments thereto, and that, based on my inquiry of those 

individuals immediately responsible for obtaining the information, I believe that the information is true, 

accurate, and complete. I am aware that there are significant penalties for willfully submitting false 

information, including the possibility of fines and enforcement action by the New Jersey Department 

of Environmental Protection.  

Signature: _____________________________________      Date: _______________________ 

Name/Title: _____________________________________________________________________ 

SECTION G: SUBMISSION

Once complete, please save and submit to recycledcontent@dep.nj.gov with “Waiver Request Form 
Submission – [INSERT MANUFACTURER NAME]” in the subject line.

Upon receipt of this waiver application, the DEP will review the manufacturer’s registration to determine if 
the manufacturer is exempt from the waiver application fee. If not exempt, the manufacturer will be billed 
$1,000. This waiver application will not be reviewed until payment is received.

Please note that the DEP may require submission of an alternative compliance plan as part of this 
application. The manufacturer will be notified if an alternative compliance plan is required upon receipt of 
a complete waiver application, including any applicable fee.
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