Governor Phil Murphy • Lt.Governor Sheila Oliver
NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs  
State of New Jersey-Department of Environmental Protection-Bureau of Climate Resilience Design and Engineering
State of New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection
DEP Home | About DEP | Index by Topic | Programs/Units | DEP Online 

Easement Acquisition Program

In New Jersey’s efforts to “rebuild” Governor Christie signed Executive Order No. 140 which tasked DEP along with the Office of Attorney General (OAG) to acquire easements for beach erosion, shore damage reduction and flood control projects in partnership with the U.S. Army Corp of Engineers and NJDEP as part of the State’s post-Superstorm Sandy reconstruction efforts.

In this partnership DEP is the non-federal sponsor tasked with obtaining all necessary real estate for these projects.   DEP and the OAG are working with New Jersey’s coastal municipalities to acquire all easements.  Easements are being obtained voluntarily from those property owners supporting the State’s efforts. Prior to construction of protective beaches and/or dunes in the various project areas, the State will acquire outstanding easements in accordance with New Jersey law, and any just compensation due to the property owner will be determined in accordance with the State’s Eminent Domain Act. NJDEP Bureau of Coastal Engineering works directly with the U.S. Army Corp. of Engineers during the construction of these projects.  Further information can be found on this website. The following is a list of the U.S. Army Corp of Engineers projects and the various municipalities that acquisition of easements is occurring. 

Note: For project details click the project name hyperlink to access the U.S. Army Corp of Engineers page.

Raritan Bay to Sandy Hook Bay, Port Monmouth:

  • Middletown Township

Sandy Hook to Barnegat Inlet, Section I – Sea Bright to Ocean Township:

  • City of Long Branch (Elberon section)
  • Borough of Deal
  • Borough of Allenhurst
  • Village of Loch Arbour

Manasquan Inlet to Barnegat Inlet:

Ocean County

  • Borough of Point Pleasant Beach
  • Borough of Bay Head
  • Borough of Mantoloking
  • Township of Brick
  • Township of Toms River
  • Borough of Lavallette
  • Borough of Seaside Heights
  • Borough of Seaside Park
  • Township of Berkeley

Barnegat Inlet to Little Egg Inlet, Long Beach Island:

Ocean County

Brigantine Inlet to Great Egg Harbor Inlet, Absecon Island:

Atlantic County      

Great Egg Harbor Inlet to Townsends Inlet:

Cape May County

Delaware Bay Coastline, Delaware and New Jersey, Oakwood Beach:

Salem County