Governor Phil Murphy • Lt.Governor Sheila Oliver
NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs  
State of New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection
State of New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection
DEP Home | About DEP | Index by Topic | Programs/Units | DEP Online 
news releases

May 13, 2010

Contact: Lawrence Ragonese (609) 292-2994
Lawrence Hajna (609) 984-1795


(10/P41) TRENTON - Commissioner Bob Martin today appointed the members of a new state DEP Science Advisory Board to help guide the department, providing an independent and highly qualified voice to ensure accurate science is the guiding principal in making decisions on key environmental issues.

The 16-member board is filled with some of the best and brightest scientists from New Jersey and elsewhere, who have been chosen from a large group of highly qualified candidates who have volunteered their services and expertise to the state.

In addition, several dozen persons were named today to four new standing scientific committees that will supplement the work of the Science Advisory Board: Ecological Processes, Public Health, Water Quality and Quantity, and Climate and Atmospheric Sciences.

“The Science Advisory Board is a critical component to Gov. Chris Christie’s vision that decisions at the DEP will be driven by science, data and facts,’’ said Commissioner Martin. “The people chosen for this board are some of the top minds in the state, experts who can take a thorough look at specific environmental issues and offer solid advice to guide me and the department.’’

The Science Advisory Board and four standing committees will be made up of science experts, with a high percentage coming from the academic community. Included are Rutgers University, Seton Hall University, Clarkson University, Drexel University, Kean University, Montclair State University, Monmouth University, New Jersey Institute of Technology, Rider University, Stevens Institute of Technology, University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey and William Paterson University.

The advisory board will complement work already being done by a top group of dedicated DEP scientists, providing an independent voice and peer review on scientific and technical matters. Issues related to global warming, clean air and water, contaminated soils, wind power and preservation of natural areas, will be among the many topics they will tackle.

An administrative order was signed on May 28, 2009, by Acting DEP Commissioner Mark N. Mauriello to establish the Science Advisory Board with the DEP Office of Science.

“The previous administration recognized the need for additional scientific expertise and we agree with them,’’ said Commissioner Martin.

A total of 109 applications for the Science Advisory Board were received by an Aug. 7, 2009 deadline. From that group, all of the persons appointed to the board have advanced degrees and extensive training, expertise and experience in scientific and technological fields related to all aspects of environmental protection.

Commissioner Martin named Judith Weis of Rutgers University, Newark, as chairwoman of the board. A professor of biological sciences, with a Ph.D. and Master’s Degree in biology, her research focuses on estuarine ecology and ecotoxicology. The other members of the advisory board, including their field of expertise and current affiliations, include:

  • Clinton Andrews, Ph.D., P.E.: Rutgers University, urban planning.
  • Raymond Ferrara, Ph.D.: Omni Environmental, environmental engineering.
  • John Gannon, Ph.D.: DuPont, microbiology.
  • Paul Lioy, Ph.D.: Environmental and Health Sciences Institute, environmental science.
  • Robert Laumbach, M.P.H., M.D.: UMDNJ, medical doctor.
  • Michael Gallo, Ph.D.: UMDNJ-Robert Wood Johnson Medical School, toxicology, pathology.
  • Nancy Rothman, Ph.D.: New Environmental Horizons Inc., physical organic chemistry.
  • Peter Lederman, Ph.D. and P.E.: Peter & Associates, chemical engineering and P.E.
  • Robert J. Lippencott, Ph.D.: TRC Environmental, environmental science.
  • Jonathan Husch, Ph.D.: Rider University, geology.
  • John Dyksen, M.S., P.E.: United Water Co., environmental engineering.
  • Mark G. Robson, Ph.D., M.P.H.: Rutgers University, environmental and occupational health/agricultural and plant science.
  • David A. Vaccari, Ph.D., P.E.: Stevens Institute of Technology, environmental science, chemical engineering.
  • Emile D. DeVito, Ph.D.: New Jersey Conservation Foundation, conservation biology.
  • Anthony J. Broccoli, Ph.D., M.S.: Rutgers University, atmospheric and environmental science.

A complete list of Science Advisory Board members and members of the four standing committees, and their qualifications, is available at the NJDEP website:



News Releases: DEP News Home | Archives
Department: NJDEP Home | About DEP | Index by Topic | Programs/Units | DEP Online
Statewide: NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs

Copyright © State of New Jersey, 1996-2019

Last Updated: May 13, 2010