ORDER NO.E19- £ }

STATE OF NEW JERSEY
DEPARTMENT OF BANKING AND INSURANCE

IN THE MATTER OF:

Proceedings by the Commissioner of Banking

and Insurance, State of New Jersey, to fine,

suspend, and/or revoke the public adjuster

license of Kenneth M. Choseed, Reference
_No. 9469187

CONSENT ORDER

|
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TO: Kenneth M. Choseed

¢/o Ronald DeSimone, Esq.

900 North Kings Highway

Suite 307

Cherry Hill, NJ 080834

THIS MATTER having been opened by the Commissioner of Banking and Insurance
(“Commissioner™), State of New Jersey, upon issuance of Order to Show Cause No. E18-88
(*OTSC”) alleging that Kenneth M. Choseed (“Respondent”), may have violated various
provisions of the insurance laws of the State of New Jersey; and

WHEREAS, Respondent at all relevant times was and is licensed as a public adjuster
pursuant to N.J.S.A, 17:22B-5; and

WHEREAS, Respondent is subject to the New Jersey Public Adjusters’ Licensing Act,
N.J.S.A. 17:22B-1 to -20 (“Public Adjusters’ Act”) and the regulations promulgated thereunder,
NJ.A.C. 11:1-37.1 to -37.19; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22B-14a(1) and N.J.A.C. 11:1-37.14(a)l, the

Commissioner may suspend or revoke a public adjuster’s license if, after notice and opportunity

for a hearing, the Commissioner determines that a licensee has violated any provision of the

I



insurance laws, including any rules promulgated by the Commissioner, or violate any law in the
course of his dealing as an adjuster; and;

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 11:1-37.13(a), no individual, firm, partnership,
association or corporation licensed under the Public Adjusters’ Act have have any right to
compensation from any insured for or on account of services rendered to an insured as a public
adjuster unless the right to compensation is based upon a written contract or memorandum between
the adjuster and the insured that specifies or clearly defines the services to be rendered and the
amount or extent of the compensation; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 11:1-37.13(b)5, the written memorandum or contract
between a licensed public adjuster and an insured shall prominently include a section which
specifies: (i) the procedures to be followed by the insured if he seeks to cancel the contract,
including any requirement of written notice; (ii) the rights and obligations of the parties if the
contract is cancelled at any time; and (iii) the costs to the insured or the formula for the calculation
of costs to the insured for services rendered in whole or in part; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22B-17 and N.J.A.C. 11:1-37.14(b), any person
violating any provision of the Public Adjusters’ Act or the regulations promulgated thereunder
shall, in addition to any other sanctions provided by law, be liable for a civil penalty of not more
than $2,500.00 for the first offense and not more than $5,000.00 for the second and each
subsequent offense; and

WHEREAS, on August 20, 2018, the Commissioner issued the OTSC alleging violations
of the Public Adjusters’ Act as set forth below:

IT APPEARING, that on April 25, 2016, MV entered into a public

adjuster contract with Respondent for a water loss claim in Mays
Landing, N.J.; and



IT FURTHER APPEARING, that the claim was adjusted by
Farmers Mutual Fire Insurance; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that the contract failed to include: (i)
the procedures to be followed by the insured if he or she seeks to
cancel the contract, including any requirement for a written notice;
(ii) the rights and obligations of the parties if the contract is
cancelled at any time; and (iii) the costs to the insured or the formula
for the calculation of costs to the insured for services rendered in
whole or in part, as required by N.J.A.C. 11:1-37.13(b)(5)i-iii; and

IT FURTHER APPEARING, that, by failing to include the
aforementioned provisions in the contract, Respondent violated

N.J.S.A 17:22B-14a{l) . . . ; 11:1-37.13(b)5i-iii, 11:1-37.14(a)l:
and N.JA.C. 11:1-37.14(a)(1) ... ; and

WHEREAS, Respondent admits and agrees to take responsibility for the violations
described in the OTSC; and

WHEREAS, Respondent waives the right to a hearing on the above violations and agrees
to the payment of a $2,500.00 civil penalty for the violations described in the OTSC; and

WHEREAS, it appearing that this matter should be resolved upon the consent of the parties
without resort to a formal hearing; and j

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS on this G,? day of A/:)m / 2019,

ORDERED AND AGREED, that Respondent shatl pay a fine in the amount of $2,500.00
to the Department; and

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED AND AGREED that the fine shall be paid by certified check.

cashier’s check, or money order made payable to the “State of New Jersey, General Treasury,”

and shall be paid upon the execution of this Consent Order by Respondent; and



ITIS FURTHER ORDERED AND AGREED that the signed Consent Order together with
the payment of $2,500.00 shall be remitted to:

Brian R. Fitzgerald, Deputy Attorney General
State of New Jersey, Division of Law

R.J. Hughes Justice Complex

25 Market Street, Second Floor West Wing
P.O.Box 117

Trenton, New Jersey 08625

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED AND AGREED, that the provisions of this Consent Order
represent a final agency decision and constitute final resolution of the violations contained in the
OTSC.

Marlene Caride
Commissioner

Consented to as to Form, Content and Entry:

Date: ‘_\5/ ép // q L M&é /()/Lg{z, mwb{

Ronald DeSimone, Esq.
Counsel for Respondent

GURBIR S. GREWAL

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF NEW JERSEY
Attorney for the New Jersey

Department of Banking and Insurance

Date: _f__f’ / : / / ?
/ / By: Brian R. Fitzgerald

Deputy Attorney General
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