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	SALESPERSON

“EDUCATION WAIVER” APPLICATION

	

	TO:
	
	Applicants for Waiver of the Education Requirement for Licensure as NJ Real Estate Salesperson

	
	
	
	

	FROM:
	
	New Jersey Real Estate Commission (NJREC), Education Section

	
	
	
	

	SUBJECT:
	
	SALESPERSON EDUCATION WAIVER CRITERIA

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	The law which establishes the requirement for licensure as a New Jersey real estate salesperson provides: “...As a prerequisite to admission to an examination, every individual applicant for licensure as a real estate salesperson shall give evidence of satisfactory completion of 75 hours in the aggregate of such courses of education in real estate subjects at a school licensed by the Commission as the Commission shall by regulation prescribe.  At least three hours of that course of study shall be on the subjects of ethics and ethical conduct in the profession of a real estate salesperson.”  N.J.S.A. 45:15-10.1.

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	N.J.S.A. 45:15-10.2 and N.J.S.A. 11:5-2.1(e) provide for the waiving of this requirement in the following cases:

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	1.)
	Salesperson who have earned a college degree from any accredited institution of higher education, provided that:

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	
	i.
	The total number of college level classroom hours devoted to real estate and related subjects was 75-hours, or more, and such courses were completed within three (3) years of making application; or

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	
	ii.
	The applicant received a bachelor or associate degree in real estate regardless of how long prior to their application for a waiver they received that degree: or

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	
	iii.
	The applicant satisfactorily completed 75 classroom hours, or more, of course work in real estate, or related subjects, at least 45 hours of which consisted of instruction on real estate conducted as part of a post-graduate program and that such post-graduate studies were completed within three (3) years of making application.

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	2.)
	Salesperson who hold or held a real estate license issued by another State, provided that:

	
	i.
	The applicant has satisfactorily completed a prelicensure course of real estate education at a proprietary school, college or university in that State;

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	
	ii.
	The prelicensure course was sanctioned by the real estate licensing authority of that State;

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	
	iii.
	The total number of classroom hours included in the course was a minimum of 75;

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	
	iv.
	The applicant qualified for licensure in that State by examination; and

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	
	v.
	The applicant was actively license in that State within three (3) years of applying for the waiver

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	3.)
	Brokers who have held a real estate broker’s license issued by another State and who were actively engaged in the real estate brokerage business within three years immediately preceding the date of application;

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	4.)
	A NJ real estate broker who previously held a license and whose last license expired more than two (2) years ago, but less than five (5) years prior to application.

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	5.)
	Attorneys-at-law admitted to practice in NJ or in any other State, at the time of making application;

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	6.)
	In addition, if you are an honorably discharged disabled veteran and a citizen of NJ and have completed at least 75-hours of study in real estate at an accredited college or university for credit, you will qualify for both an initial and renewal license fee waiver.  See N.J.S.A. 45:15-11 and N.J.S.A. 11:5-2.1(a).

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	
	ALL APPLICANTS APPLYING FOR A REAL ESTATE LICENSE, WHETHER AS A BROKER, BROKER-SALESPERSON OR SALESPERSON, SHALL BE A MINIMUM OF 18 YEARS OF AGE & HAVE A HIGH SCHOOL DIPLOMA OR EQUIVALENT.
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	“PERSONAL INFORMATION”

FOR SALESPERSON

EDUCATION WAIVER APPLICATION


	

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	
	APPLICATION FEE
	ONLY PAYMENT TYPES ACCEPTED
	CASH RECEIPT NO.
	RECEIPT DATE
	

	
	$25.00

(NON-REFUNDABLE)
	 FORMCHECKBOX 
  Business Check
	 FORMCHECKBOX 
  Cashier’s Check
	     
	  
	  
	  
	

	
	
	 FORMCHECKBOX 
  Certified Check
	 FORMCHECKBOX 
  Money Order
	
	mm
	dd
	yy
	

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	
	- DO NOT WRITE ABOVE THIS LINE - FOR AUTHORIZED NJREC USE ONLY -
	

	
	
	

	
	· TESTING APPOINTMENTS - All applicants are required to provide the following information to enable authorized NJREC personnel to upload key information into the testing vendor’s database. All areas must be completed and signed in order to process application.
· WAIVER APPLICATION - PLEASE TYPE (preferred) OR PRINT ALL INFORMATION LEGIBLY.  
· All incomplete, illegible or missing documentation will be returned unprocessed.
· 
	

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	
	1.
	LEGAL NAME:
	     
	

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	(Mr. Mrs. Ms.)  (First, M.I., Last) (Sr. Jr.)
	

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	
	2.
	SOCIAL SECURITY

NUMBER (ID only):
	 
	 
	 
	▬
	 
	 
	▬
	 
	 
	 
	 
	
	3.
	     
	

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	BIRTH DATE (mm/dd/yy)
	

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	
	4.
	RESIDENTIAL

MAILING

ADDRESS:
	     
	     
	

	
	
	
	(Number and Street)
	(Apt./Suite)
	

	
	
	
	     
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	
	
	     
	(P.O. Box)
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	     
	     
	     
	

	
	
	(County)
	(City)
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	(State)
	(Zip Code + 4)
	

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	
	5.
	BUSINESS

MAILING

ADDRESS:
	     
	     
	

	
	
	
	(Number and Street)
	(Apt./Suite)
	

	
	
	
	     
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	
	
	     
	(P.O. Box)
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	     
	     
	     
	

	
	
	(County)
	(City)
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	(State)
	(Zip Code + 4)
	

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	
	6.
	TELEPHONE NO.:


	     
	     
	     
	     
	

	
	
	
	(Home including area code)
	(Extension)
	(Work including area code)
	(Extension)
	

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	     
	
	
	

	
	
	
	(Cell Phone including area code)
	
	
	

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	
	7.
	E-MAIL ADDRESS:
	     
	

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	
	APPLICANT AFFIDAVIT


	

	
	I certify the information I provided for this Salesperson Waiver Application is completely correct.

I understand that any falsification of information may result in denial of licensure.
	

	

	     
	     
	     

	PRINT (Applicant’s Name)


	SIGNATURE (Applicant’s Name)
	Date (mm/dd/yy)
	

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	SALESPERSON “EDUCATION WAIVER” APPLICATION (-continued-)

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	
	I AM APPLYING FOR A NEW JERSEY SALESPERSON EDUCATION WAIVER BASED ON AT LEAST ONE OF THE FOLLOWING ACCEPTANCE CRITERIA:
	

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	
	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	A.
	I am a citizen of New Jersey and an honorably discharged disabled veteran and have completed a minimum of 75-hours of study in real estate at an accredited college or university for credit.
	

	
	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	Attach the following most current document(s) with the waiver:

1.) USA military Honorable Discharge papers (DD-214), 

2.) USA military Certificate(s) of Disability (Veteran’s hospital) listing all disabilities and associated total percentage(s) of each disability,

3.) College/University/Graduate school transcript(s)
	

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	
	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	B.
	I am an attorney-at-law licensed to practice in
	     
	.
	

	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	Attach the following most current document(s) with the waiver:

1.) Certificate of Good Standing issued by the Clerk of the Supreme Court of the State in which you are admitted to practice.  Must be current & received by the NJREC within 30-days.
	

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	
	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	C.
	I am a licensed broker of the State of
	     
	who is actively
	

	
	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	licensed and engaged in real estate on a continuous full-time basis immediately preceding the date of this application.
	

	
	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	
	Attach the following most current document(s) with the waiver:

1.) Certification of Licensure, it is NOT your license. Must be current & received by the NJREC within 30-days.
	

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	
	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	D.
	I hold, or held, a real estate license issued by another State and qualified for that license by examination and I satisfactorily completed a prelicensure course in real estate education at a proprietary school, college or university in that State.  The course consisted of 75 classroom hours, or more, of education and was sanctioned by the real estate licensing authority of that State.  I was actively licensed in that State within three (3) years of applying for the waiver.
	

	
	
	
	Attach the following most current document(s) with the waiver:

2.) Certification of Licensure, it is NOT your license. Must be current & received by the NJREC within 30-days.
	

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	
	IF APPLYING UNDER E, F & G (FORMAL ACCREDITED EDUCATIONAL WAIVER),

(ATTACH A COPY OF YOUR COLLEGE/UNIVERSITY/GRADUATE SCHOOL TRANSCRIPTS)
	

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	
	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	E.
	I have received a bachelor’s or associate’s degree in real estate from an accredited college/ university/ graduate school.
	

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	
	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	F.
	I have earned a college degree from an accredited college or university and the total number of college level classroom hours devoted to real estate, and related subjects was 75-hours or more and such courses were completed within three (3) years of making application.
	

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	
	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	G.
	I satisfactorily completed 75-hours, or more, of classroom course work in real estate or related subjects at an accredited college or university. At least 45-hours of coursework which consisted of instruction on real estate conducted as part of a post-graduate program which post entries were completed within three (3) years of making this waiver application.
	

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	
	EXPIRED BROKER LICENSE
	

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	
	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	H.
	I previously held a license as a New Jersey real estate broker where the license expired more than two (2), but less than five (5) years prior to making this waiver application.
	

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	
	ALL APPLICANTS APPLYING FOR A REAL ESTATE LICENSE, WHETHER AS A BROKER, BROKER-SALESPERSON OR SALESPERSON, SHALL BE A MINIMUM OF 18 YEARS OF AGE & HAVE A HIGH SCHOOL DIPLOMA OR EQUIVALENT.
	

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	
	I HEREBY CERTIFY THAT THE INFORMATION CONTAINED IN THIS WAIVER APPLICATION AND RELEVANT ATTACHMENTS ARE COMPLETELY TRUE AND CORRECT AND THE NJREC MAY RELY ON ITS TRUTHFULNESS IN CONSIDERING THIS APPLICATION.  I FURTHER CERTIFY I AM AT LEAST 18 YEARS OF AGE AND HAVE A LEGITIMATE HIGH SCHOOL DIPLOMA OR HIGH SCHOOL EQUIVALENCY.
	

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	
	
	     
	
	
	
	
	     
	
	

	
	
	Date (mm/dd/yy)
	
	
	
	
	PRINT NAME OF APPLICANT
	
	

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	SIGNATURE OF NAME OF APPLICANT
	
	

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	
	TO EXPEDITE THE PROCESSING OF YOUR NJ SALESPERSON EDUCATION WAIVER APPLICATION
	

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	
	Prior to submission of your NJ salesperson education waiver application, please remember to comply with the following NJREC requirements:

A. Complete the NJ Salesperson education waiver application in entirety.
NOTE:  Any incomplete, incorrect, illegible or missing documentation and/or information can halt processing and/or potentially result in the return of the application package minus the non-refundable $25.00 application fee.

B. All completed applications must have your full legal name (First, Middle Initial, Last Name), both printed and signed, and the date (mm/dd/yyyy) completed.

C. Obtain a valid “original” Certificate of Licensure (COL), or License History (For Broker to Salesperson) from the Real Estate Commission of the jurisdiction you are applying from.  Do not have your Real Estate Commission send the COL to the NJREC.  The “original” COL must be part of your NJ salesperson’s waiver application package submission.  Your real estate license is not an acceptable substitute for an official COL 
NOTE: The Real Estate Commission’s COL cannot exceed 30 days, otherwise a new COL will be required.  30 calendar days is identified as the period of time from date of issue to receipt by the NJREC Education Bureau.

D. Completion of additional hours may be required to meet the New Jersey salesperson 75-hour licensing requirement.  If so, you must obtain, and submit, a valid and “original” school completion certificate(s), or transcript(s). 
The only acceptable alternative(s) to meet the minimal 75-hour requirement are as follows:

aa.) NJREC approved 15-hour “refresher” course available at most NJREC approved real estate

        schools;

bb.) Certificates, or transcripts, of additional Broker only pre-licensure course hours.

        NOTE: Courses hours completed in NJ must be physically taken at an approved NJREC real

                     Estate school.  HOWEVER, on-line course hours will be accepted only if the Real Estate
                     Commission of the non- New Jersey jurisdiction, in which you hold your real estate
                     license, approves of on-line real estate broker only pre-licensure courses.
E. Include the $25.00 salesperson waiver non-refundable application fee.  Details as follows:

· Only “ACCEPTABLE” payment types: Business check, bank cashier or certified check or money order.

· Make acceptable payment types payable to: “STATE TREASURER OF NEW JERSEY”

· “UNACCEPTABLE” payment types: personal checks, cash, credit cards

F. Submit all “original” documentation, namely your NJ Salesperson education waiver application,
COL, $25.00 application fee, and any related documents, as a complete package, NOT as
individual pieces, to:
    NEW JERSEY REAL ESTATE COMMISSION

20 West State Street

P.O. Box 328

Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0328

Attn: Stephen Thompson, NJREC Education Bureau, 7th floor
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