Order No. A19-109

STATE OF NEW JERSEY
DEPARTMENT OF BANKING AND INSURANCE

IN THE MATTER OF THE OBIECTION )
OF TIMOTHY MARINO TO THE )
BANKING ASSESSMENT ) DECISION AND ORDER
FOR FY 2018 PURSUANT TON.JL.S.A. )
17:1C-33 TO -48 )

This matter comes before the Commissioner of Banking and Insurance (“Commissioner™)
pursuant to N.1.S.A. 17:1-15(e) and 17:1C-33 to -48, and all powers expressed or implied therein.
Background

N.JS.A. 17:1C-33 to -48, provides that the Division of Banking (“Division”) has a
statutory obligation to protect the interests of New Jersey's consumers and to regulate and oversee
the operations of the financial industry it charters, licenses and registers. In order to support the
Division in its supervisory activities, the New Jersey Legislature provided a funding mechanism
whereby the Division assesses the depository institutions and other linancial entities it oversees.
Based on this assessment, the financial burden of the Division is distributed proporticnately among
depository institutions and other financial entities it charters, licenses and registers.

The Department of Banking and Insurance (“Department”) mailed assessments for fiscal
year 2018 (“FY 2018”) dated November 5, 2018 to all entities subject to the assessment. The FY
2018 assessments were based upon the entities’ calendar year 2017 Annual Report Information.
The assessment notice provided that the entity or person assessed had 15 days after the mailing
date to file objections to the assessment with the Commissioner in writing. The assessments that

were sent out indicated the amount due from the entity or person assessed, and that payment was
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due by December 5, 2018. Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:1C-306, the filing of an objection does not
relieve the entity from paying the assessment when due.

Objection_to the Assessment

By letter received by the Department on November 14, 2018, Timothy Marino (“Marino™)
objected to the $850 base amount he was assessed because he stated that he was no longer licensed
as a mortgage broker in New Jersey and did not transactl any business involving his New Jersey
license during 2017, the period for which he was licensed. Marino has not, to date, paid the
assessment. Marino e-mailed the Department on March 7, 2019 (o reiterate that he applied for a
license in 2016 and his application was not approved for six months. He further stated that by the
time his application was approved, he had decided that the he was no longer interested in pursuing
mortgages in New Jersey and that he never engaged in any business using his New Jersey license.
On March 21, 2019, the Department acknowledged receipt of Marino’s objection, gave notice of
a hearing on the objection pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:1C-36, and advised that further documents or
argument could be submitted no later than 30 days from the date of said letter. Marino submitted
no further information or documentation.!

Discussion

Upon review of Marino’s position and arguments in support thereof, as well as the plain
language of, and legislative intent underlying, the applicable statutory provisions, I find that the
assessment properly applies to Marino,

Given the plain language of N.J.S.A. 17:1C-33, the Legislature intended that the Division’s
incurred expenses related to its financial regulation be assessed among the depository institutions

and financial entities that il licenses and registers. The Legislature did not exempt licensees from

! By email dated April 30, 2019, Marino asked the Department to advise “what other steps I need
to complete”. It is unclear if this was in response to the Department’s March 21, 2019 letter.
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the assessment that did not transact business related to their licenses. Here, Marino was licensed
and registered by the Division for the relevant period for which the assessment was based, even
though he never pursued business using his New Jersey license. Further, pursuant (o N.J.S.A.
[7:1C-46 and N.J.A.C. 3:5-4.3, the Commissioner has the authority to determine base assessments
for licensees. As set forth in the assessment notice sent to Marino, he was assessed this base
assessment, and was nol assessed for any business transacted during the relevant period.
Accordingly, the Department recognized that Marino did not transact any business involving his
license when determining his assessment for FY 2018,

For the above reasons, I conclude that the assessment for FY 2018 properly applies to
Marino. The Department properly assessed him the base rate that factored in that Marino had not
completed any transactions involving his New Jersey mortgage license.

Order
YA,

THEREFORE IT IS on this _/{o_ day of ;’-_—& , 2019 ORDERED that Marino’s
objections to payment of his assessment for FY 2018 pursuant to N.I.§.A. 17:1C-33 to -48 are
denied, and that Marino shall pay the amount due in the assessment notice within 15 days of the
date of this Order.

Marede
Marlene Caride
Commissioner
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