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Summary of Public Comments and Agency Responses:

The Commission received comments from the New Jersey Association of Realtors

(NJAR)

COMMENT: NJAR expressed concern that the proposed amendment to N.J.A.C. 11:5-

2.6 will lead to an increased cost for an individual wishing to obtain a real estate license

as part of the background check to obtain a finger-print scan through a State-contracted

vendor.



RESPONSE: The proposed rule conforms the regulations to current State law and
procedure. Pursuant to P.L. 2003, c. 199, which became effective December 24, 2003,
the manner of collection and payment for criminal history record background checks was
changed. That Act, which revised N.J.S.A. 45:15-9 as well as numerous other State
statutes concerning criminal history background checks made pursuant to New Jersey
law, amended N.J.S.A. 45:15-9 to provide, in pertinent part:

Any applicant for licensure pursuant to this section and any
officer, director, partner or owner of a controlling interest
of a corporation or partnership filing for licensure pursuant
to this section shall submit to the commission the
applicant's name, address, fingerprints and written consent
for a criminal history record background check to be
performed. The commission is hereby authorized to
exchange fingerprint data with and receive criminal history
record information from the State Bureau of ldentification
in the Division of State Police and the Federal Bureau of
Investigation consistent with applicable State and federal
laws, rules and regulations, for the purposes of facilitating
determinations concerning licensure eligibility. The
applicant shall bear the cost for the criminal history record
background check, including all costs of administering and
processing the check. [N.J.S.A. 45:15-9]

Pursuant to P.L. 2003, c. 199, the State approved a Statewide vendor to be
used by all departments and agencies to procure the digital fingerprints of
applicants for numerous types of professional licenses. The vendor was chosen
through the public bid process. Accordingly, any increase or decrease in the cost
to applicants for real estate licenses of procuring the fingerprint scan and
performing the background check will be as a result of the enactment of P.L.
2003, c. 199 and the State’s bidding process and is not affected by the amendment

to N.J.A.C. 11:5-2.6.



COMMENT: NJAR opposes the fee increase proposed in N.J.A.C. 11:5-3.14 for the
category “multiple broker license,” especially in light of the fact that applicants may be

required to pay higher fees associated with the fingerprint scanning.

RESPONSE: The increase in the multiple broker license fee reflected in the notice of
proposal was an inadvertent typing error. However, while considering the comment, the
Commission noted that the inclusion of the “multiple broker license” as a separate
category in the list of fees is duplicative and confusing and therefore should be deleted
upon adoption.

When a qualified broker applies to become a broker of record for more than one
business entity, the Commission issues multiple broker licenses as long all other
applicable requirements are met. The current fee indicated in N.J.A.C. 11:5-3.14 for
“multiple broker license” is $270.00, consisting of $200.00 for the license fee, $50.00 for
the application fee and $20.00 for the Real Estate Guaranty Fund assessment on
applicants for new broker licensees imposed pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:15-35. As this
amount is the same as the fee for a “broker license” and it is the current practice of the
Commission to charge the prescribed $270.00 fee for each application for a broker
license regardless of whether the broker of record will be licensed as such for more than
one business entity, a separate listing for “multiple broker license” is unnecessary and is

being deleted upon adoption.

COMMENT: NJAR opposes the fee increase proposed in N.J.A.C. 11:5-3.14 for a

“temporary broker license” for the same reasons iterated in the previous comment.



RESPONSE: The $300.00 fee set forth in the proposal reflects the inclusion of all the
fees due for a temporary broker license and does not represent an increase in the fees
currently being charged. N.J.S.A. 45:15-11.3 allows a salesperson to apply for a
temporary broker’s license upon the death or incapacity of the broker of record of a
licensed business entity. The $300.00 fee for a temporary broker license consists of the
$200.00 broker license fee, the $50.00 application fee and the $50.00 change in status fee
to elevate the applying individual’s license from salesperson to temporary broker. The
Real Estate Guaranty Fund assessment on new broker licensees of $20.00 is not
applicable to applications for licensure as a temporary broker. Accordingly, the proposed
fee of $300.00 does not represent any increase in the fee amount, but merely reflects the

correct sum of all of the applicable fees.

Federal Standards Statement

A Federal standards analysis is not required because N.J.A.C. 11:5 is not subject

to any Federal requirements or standards.

Full text of the readopted rules can be found in the New Jersey Administrative Code at
N.J.A.C. 11:5.
Full text of the adopted amendments and new rule follows (deletions from proposal

indicated in brackets with asterisks *[thus]*):

11:5-3.14 Licensing fees



The fees applicable to transactions processed by the Department of Banking and
Insurance Licensing Services Bureau, Real Estate Section are listed in the table below.
Renewal fees are assessed biennially for the renewal of licenses for a two-year term
pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:15-15. All other fees are payable in full regardless of when

during a license term the application to which the fee pertains is submitted.

LICENSE FEES

Initial License Fees (amounts include $50.00 application fee and, where
applicable, Real Estate Guaranty Fund fees of $10.00 for salespersons and $20.00 for
brokers and broker-salespersons. See N.J.S.A. 45:15-35. Amounts do not include the

processing fee for fingerprint scanning payable directly to the State-contracted vendor):

License Fee
Corporations, partnerships and other business entities $270.00
Broker of record $270.00
Sole proprietor broker $270.00
Broker-salesperson $ 270.00
Salesperson $ 160.00
Branch office $ 150.00
Temporary broker license $300.00
*[Multiple broker license]* *[$300.00]*

Renewal Fees:
(No change from proposal.)
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