DRB Government
Map of county & municipal boundaries in the Delaware River Basin. Graphic by DRBC. 
Map of county & municipal boundaries in the
Delaware River Basin

The Delaware River Basin Commission was formed in 1961 by compact among the four basin states (New York, Delaware, Pennsylvania, and New Jersey) and the federal government. 

The DRBC was created so the river system could be managed collectively by the five members, without regard to political boundaries.

When the DRBC was created, some 43 state agencies, 14 interstate agencies, and 19 federal agencies exercised a multiplicity of splintered powers and duties within the watershed, which stretches 330 miles from the Delaware River's headwaters near Hancock, N.Y., to the mouth of the Delaware Bay.

In addition to parts of four states, the basin also includes all or portions of 42 counties, 868 municipalities and multiple government entities and jurisdictions.


Federal Representation/Government Links


Basin State Representation/Government Links


DRB County & Municipality Information


Christina Basin Clean Water Partnership

Delaware River and Bay Authority

Delaware River Basin Source Water Collaborative

Delaware River Joint Toll Bridge Commission

Delaware River Port Authority

Delaware Valley Regional Planning Commission

Mid-Atlantic Regional Association Coastal Ocean Observing System

Partnership for the Delaware Estuary

Schuylkill Action Network

Upper Delaware Council

Urban Waters Federal Partnership for the Delaware River (Camden, Chester, Philadelphia, and Wilmington)


American Water Resources Association

American Water Works Association

Association of Clean Water Administrators

Great Lakes Commission

Interstate Commission on the Potomac River Basin

Interstate Council on Water Policy

Interstate Environmental Commission

New England Interstate Water Pollution Control Commission

Ohio River Valley Water Sanitation Commission 

Susquehanna River Basin Commission


Additional Resources for Integrated Water Resource Management