DOE A to Z: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

DOE Archives

This information has been preserved for historical purposes. It is not current.

Excellent Educators for New Jersey


Evaluation Instrument Approval Process (RFQ) and Approved Lists

  • Note: Approved Teacher and Principal Practice Evaluation Instrument Lists are posted
Evaluation Information (Presentation, Broadcast Memos, Resources).


New Jersey is currently engaged in comprehensive teacher and principal evaluation system reform.  The program began with a teacher evaluation pilot in the 2011-2012 school year (Cohort 1), and has expanded to include additional teacher evaluation pilots (Cohort 2) as well as principal evaluation pilots in 2012-13.

Based on the recommendations of the New Jersey Educator Effectiveness Task Force Report, released in March 2011, the new evaluation system will provide meaningful, actionable feedback to teachers and school and district leaders as they strive to help all students achieve success. Pilot districts are helping shape the new system from its inception and are providing critical information and guidance to the New Jersey Department of Education as we work toward state-wide implementation in the future.
are as follows:

2012-13 Teacher Evaluation Pilot Participants

Continuing Cohort 1 Districts:

  • Alexandria Township (Hunterdon)
  • Bergenfield (Bergen)
  • Elizabeth (Union)
  • Monroe Township (Middlesex)
  • Ocean City (Cape May)
  • Pemberton Township (Burlington)
  • Red Bank Borough (Monmouth)
  • Secaucus (Hudson)
  • West Deptford Township (Gloucester)
  • Woodstown-Pilesgrove Regional (Salem)

New Cohort 2 Districts:

  • Bordentown Regional (Burlington)
  • Consortium of Collingswood Borough, Audubon, and Merchantville (Camden)
  • Cranford Township (Union)
  • Freehold Borough (Monmouth)
  • Gloucester City (Camden)
  • Haddonfield Borough (Camden)
  • Consortium of Lenape Valley Regional and Stanhope (Sussex)
  • Middlesex County Vocational (Middlesex)
  • Piscataway Township (Middlesex)
  • Rockaway Township  (Morris)
  • Teaneck (Bergen)
  • Woodbury City (Gloucester)

Principal Evaluation Pilot Districts:

  • Consortium of Alexandria Township and North Hunterdon-Voorhees RHS (Hunterdon)
  • Bergenfield  (Bergen)
  • Edison Township (Middlesex)
  • Elizabeth  (Union)
  • Lawrence Township  (Mercer)
  • Monmouth County Vocational  (Monmouth)
  • Morris (Morris)
  • Newark (Essex)
  • North Brunswick Township (Middlesex)
  • Paterson (Passaic)
  • Pemberton Township (Burlington)
  • Rockaway Township (Morris)
  • Spotswood (Middlesex)
  • Stafford Township (Ocean)

For additional information about this initiative, please visit our FAQ page, send an email to, or call 609-777-3788.