New Jersey Department of Education

DOE A to Z: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

Curricular Frameworks » Home

Curricular Framework for Mathematics

Units within the curricular framework for mathematics are designed to be taught in the order in which they are presented in kindergarten through grade twelve.  There is a logical and developmentally-appropriate progression of standards, with strong consideration given to Major, Supporting, and Additional content standards presented because most concepts build upon each other. Within the units the districts have flexibility of what order to present the standards. Major, Supporting and Additional Content standards are color coded for the districts to understand where to prioritize.  The intent of the standards is to integrate the Major, Supporting and Additional standards.  The order in which the standards and mathematical practices are clustered within the units is a suggested integration.

Grade Level Targets and Priority Concepts

Major, Supporting and Additional clusters of mathematics content standards are based on the New Jersey Student Learning Standards. Not all of the content in a given grade is emphasized equally in the standards. Some clusters require greater emphasis than others based on the depth of the ideas, time needed to master or model, and/or their importance to future grade levels. The standards in the framework are color coded as Major (green), Supporting (blue) and Additional (yellow). Suggested Mathematical Practice Standards are listed in each unit to be imbedded regularly in daily math instruction.  It is important to note that the Major standards (green) are purposefully placed in tested grades for ensuring time for formal instruction in those standards.   

Fluency in Grades K-5

The beginning units in kindergarten through grade two are designed with more time spent on foundational mathematical concepts needed for future units to build towards fluency in mathematics. For example, kindergarten Unit 1 begins with "Number Names and Counting Sequence" which is necessary to teach prior to "Foundations with Models for Addition and Subtraction" in Unit 2.  Other units in grades three through five also follow the same logical progression of standards ensuring enough time for formal instruction with the Major Standards while still embedding Supporting and Additional Content Standards as well as Mathematical Practice Standards.  It is also important to note that the fluency requirement for kindergarten through grade five is critical for students to master.

Conversational Considerations in Mathematics

After reviewing the framework and understanding how the standards and skills are organized, schools/districts should download the framework and rename it as their own. Educators should continue collaborative conversations around curriculum and instruction that begin with discussing assessment. Beginning to frame the conversations in this way tightly aligns evidence to student learning.  The framework allows for a place to guide and capture essential components that build towards curriculum.  The framework might be considered pre-work before schools/districts construct or revise their own curricular documents.

Course Overviews