New Jersey Department of Education

DOE A to Z: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

The New Jersey Department of Education Announces New Jersey's County Teachers of the Year for 2017-18

For Immediate Release
Contact: David Saenz 
Date: September 12, 2017

Trenton, NJ – Today, the New Jersey Department of Education (NJDOE) announced the selection of New Jersey's 21 County Teachers of the Year for the 2017-18 school year. The County Teachers of the Year are recognized for valuable contributions to their local school communities and are given the opportunity to serve as ambassadors of education to officials at the county and state levels.

"I am thrilled to be able to honor our amazing County Teachers of the Year for 2017-18, and express my appreciation for the work they do for their students," said Education Commissioner Kimberley Harrington. "New Jersey has many great teachers, and this award is a tribute to the talent, professionalism, and dedication of these 21 educators to inspire the children they teach. I look forward to learning more from them in the months to come."

In addition to affording opportunities for this group of honored teachers to network with educators throughout the state and county, the NJDOE will count on this group to take valuable resources and materials directly from the Department to local districts. At the same time, the teachers will be invited to serve on state committees and task forces to share their own experiences and points of view at the state level.

County Teachers of the Year are first selected as Teachers of the Year at the school level through the Governor's Educator of the Year program. They then compete for county recognition and are selected by panels representing a cross-section of administrators, teachers, parents, and county education association representatives convened by the Department's Executive County Superintendents.

A state-level panel of educators will select New Jersey's State Teacher of the Year based on a written application, video submission, and interviews with the top finalists. The State Teacher of the Year will be announced at the State Board of Education's October meeting, and he or she will go on to represent New Jersey at the National Teacher of the Year competition.

The NJDOE encourages every school district to take advantage of the Governor's Educator of the Year program as one way to recognize the hard work and dedication of their outstanding teachers. Additional information can be found on the Governor's Educator of the Year webpage.

New Jersey's 2017-18 County Teachers of the Year are as follows:

2017-18 County Teachers of the Year
County First Name Last Name Grade Level Subject Area School School District
Atlantic Kelly Montgomery 6th Mathematics Emma C. Attales Middle School Absecon School District
Bergen Henry Baldwin 10th-12th English & Social Studies Bergenfield High School Bergenfield School District
Burlington Sherrie Wilkins 5th Elementary Alexander Denbo Elementary School Pemberton Township School District
Camden Mimma-Marie Cammarata 9th-12th Italian Sterling High School Sterling School District
Cape May Amy Andersen 10th-12th American Sign Language Ocean City High School Ocean City School District
Cumberland Paul Lonergan 9th-12th Special Education Vineland High School Vineland School District
Essex Mary Walmsley 10th-12th Science Livingston High School Livingston School District
Gloucester Domenick Renzi 1st-5th Basic Skills Mathematics Wedgwood Elementary School Washington Township School District
Hudson Kathleen Terhune 4th Elementary Salvatore R. Calabro Elementary School Hoboken School District
Hunterdon Vincent Angeline 9th-12th Music North Hunterdon High School North Hunterdon Voorhees Regional High School District
Mercer Sharin Rello 4th-6th Music Lawrence Intermediate School Lawrence Township School District
Middlesex Kristy DeFazio 4th Elementary James J. Flynn Elementary School Perth Amboy School District
Monmouth Kristina Phelan Kindergarten-2nd Reading Mahala F. Atchison Elementary School Tinton Falls School District
Morris Diane Phares 9th-12th Art Mount Olive High School Mount Olive Township School District
Ocean Christine Newbury 9th-12th Science & Special Education Manchester Township High School Manchester Township School District
Passaic Nicole Petrosillo 9th-12th English Language Arts West Milford High School West Milford Township High School District
Salem Alison Schulze Kindergarten Elementary William Roper Early Childhood Learning Center Woodstown-Pilesgrove Regional School District
Somerset Michael Skomba 11th-12th Social Studies Somerville High School Somerville School District
Sussex Teresa Muzzo 5th & 8th Special Education Halsted Middle School Newton School District
Union Victoria Sasso 6th English Language Arts Carl H. Kumpf Middle School Clark School District
Warren Diane Kasharian 7th-12th Special Education Great Meadows Middle School Warren County Special Services School District