New Jersey Department of Education

Information on
Novel Coronavirus

Coronavirus is still active in NJ. Wear a mask. Keep a 6ft. distance in public

NJ Poison Control Center and 211 provide COVID-19 information: Call: 2-1-1; Call (24/7); 1-800-962-1253; Text: NJCOVID to 898-211; More Information: covid19.nj.gov
COVID19 Alert NJDownload COVID Alert NJ app for free today.
Visit covid19.nj.gov/app

Council Membership

State law (NJSA 18A:46-2), provides that the Commissioner of Education shall appoint and work with a council of no more than fifteen members. The members of the Council work in collaboration with the director of the Office of Special Education. In addition, there are several resource representatives from various state agencies. Appointments to the council are made in accordance with guidelines established in P.L. 94-142 and the reauthorized IDEA amendments. Members are appointed for a minimum of two-year terms that can be renewed for a maximum of three terms. Each appointment to the council must be confirmed by the State Board of Education.

Dr. Paul F. Barbato – Chair
Director of Special Services
Dumont Public Schools
25 Depew Street
Dumont, NJ 07628
201-387-3086
ebarbato@dumontnj.org

Debora Esposito – Vice-Chair
Project Co-director: START Engaging Parents of Students with Disabilities in Schools
Statewide Parent Advocacy Network
35 Halsey St 4th Floor
Newark, NJ 07102
973-642-8100
desposito@spanadvocacy.org

Mark Brugger
Associated Director of Marketing & Development
Boys & Girls Clubs of Mercer County
1040 Spruce Street
Lawrence, NJ 08648
609-695-6060
bruggermd@comcast.net

Barbara Gantwerk
Coordinator of Special Projects
New Jersey Principals and Supervisors Association/Foundation for Educational Administration
12 Centre Drive
Monroe Township, NJ 08831
609-860-1200
bgantwerk@njpsa.org

Vikas Jain
Director of Consulting
Cognizant Technology Solutions
500 Frank Burr Blvd.
Teaneck, NJ 07666
925-984-9023
vickyjain@msn.com

Dr. Viviana Litovsky
Director
Westbridge Academy
60 West Street
Bloomfield, NJ 07003
973-429-8110, ext. 147
vivlit@westbridgeacademy.org

Andrea Moore
Learning Disability Teacher-Consultant
Sharp and Forest Elementary Schools
Camden City School District
1033 Cambridge Street
Camden, NJ 08105
AndreaMoore@camden.k12.nj.us

Lonjete Nias
Supervisor of Special Services
Neptune City Board of Education
210 West Sylvania Avenue
Neptune City, NJ 07753
ltgar@aim.com

Kristy Ritvalsky
Parent Member
Inclusion Facilitator
Coalition for Inclusive Education (CIE)
60 Park Place, Suite 208
Newark, NJ 07102
732-613-0400
kristy@njcie.org

Dr. Christopher Shamburg
Parent Member
Professor and Coordinator of the Ed.D. in Educational Technology Leadership
New Jersey City University
2039 Kennedy Blvd.
Jersey City, NJ 07305
201-200-3078
cshamburg@njcu.edu

Lynda Shanahan
Parent member
Special Education Teacher
Pennsauken High School
800 Hylton Road
Pennsauken Township, NJ 08110
856-662-8500
lynda.shanahan@gmail.com

Susan Vandermark
Parent Member
Special Education Teacher
Riverbank Charter School of Excellence
1300 Hornberger Avenue
Roebling, NJ 08554
609-499-4321
vandermark@riverbank.charter.k12.nj.us

Kerri Walsifer
Parent Member
Director of Special Services
Tinton Falls School District
658 Tinton Falls Avenue
Tinton Falls, NJ 07724
732-460-2411
kwalsifer@tfschools.org

Dr. Patricia White
Parent Member
Retired Assistant Professor of Medicine at New York Medical College
973-879-2373
patwhiteflatley@comcast.net

 

Resouce Representatives

Donna M. Holzschuh
CST Manager
New Jersey Juvenile Justice Commission
1001 Spruce Street, Suite 202
Trenton, NJ 08629
609-943-3132
donna.holzschuh@jjc.nj.gov

Dawn Mergen
Quality Assurance Specialist
Family Health Services
New Jersey Department of Health
PO Box 364
Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0364
Phone: (609) 777-7778
Fax: (609) 292-3580
dawn.mergen@doh.nj.gov

Kelley Michalowski
Director 
Office of Education 
New Jersey Department of Children and Families
PO Box 710
Trenton, NJ 08625-0710
609-583-3165
kelley.michalowski@dcf.state.nj.us

Eva Scott
Director of Blindness Education
New Jersey Commission for the Blind and Visually Impaired
153 Halsey Street
PO Box 47017
Newark, NJ 07101
973-648-4300 
eva.scott@dhs.state.nj.us

John Tkacz
Program Planning and Development Specialist 
Division of Vocational Rehabilitation Services
NJ Department of Labor and Workforce Development
PO Box 398
Trenton, NJ 08625-0398
609-292-5987 
john.tkacz@dol.nj.gov

 


Back
to top