Environmental Health

Licensing and Reporting

QUALIFICATIONS FOR CAMP LICENSE

To qualify as a youth camp under New Jersey Youth Camp Standards, a program must meet the following criteria. Camp is subject to licensure requirements only if it meets ALL of the following criteria:

  • Accommodate five (5) or more children that are under 18 years of age. Youth Camp license is only applicable to children under 18 years of age

  • Operate for three (3) or more hours during a period or portion of at least two (2) days or more during the same week

  • Include at least one high-risk activity during the operation period

An activity is considered high-risk if it exposes a camper to a serious injury because of the inherent nature of the activity and always requires a high degree of adult supervision.

 

PROGRAMS NOT SUBJECT TO YOUTH CAMP REGULATION

The following programs are not subject to licensure by the youth camp safety project: 

Licensed child care centers are exempt from the regulation.  License child care centers, in some cases, may choose to dual license.  Dual licensees are centers that apply and are licensed by both the Department of Children & Families – Office of Childcare Licensing (OOL) and the Department of Health- Youth Camp Safety Project.   OOL child care licensees are required by OOL to register as a youth camp if the facility operates an on-site swimming pool. 

Organized school recreational sports teams are exempt from the regulation.  This includes all school sports, or any local or regional sports teams such as cheerleading, travel soccer, indoor soccer, travel basketball, etc.  

 

CAMP LICENSE APPLICATIONS
  1. Youth Camp Application Form CB-11 (including instructions) [PDF]
  2. Single-Sport Camp Application Form CB-14 (including instructions) [PDF] (What's the difference?)
  3. Pay Online with check or credit card (Your confirmation number is required to complete the application)

  4. Submit the completed pdf application as an email attachment to youthcamps@doh.nj.gov 

 

ANNUAL ACCIDENT REPORT

The Annual Accident Report Form is designed to inform the State Department of Health about all accidents and injuries which occur at an individual camp site over the season.  The data is collected and used to drive decision making about licensed activities including to develop awareness material for dissemination, and to educate during the policy making processes.  Failure of a youth camp to submit the information will result in a penalty carrying a fine of up to $1000.00.  Every camp operating in New Jersey is REQUIRED to submit the Annual Accident Report form immediately after the last day of camp but no later than September 15th. (N.J.A.C. 8:25-5.1(F))

 

SINGLE-SPORT CAMPS

In a single sport youth camp, campers practice, play and learn to understand the rules of one sport taught by the camp.

Single Sport Youth Camps may register multiple locations under the same camp identification (Camp ID) number.

Single Sport Youth Camps are licensed, regulated and inspected in the same manner as other camps.

 

LICENSE AT A GLANCE

  1. LICENSE NUMBER
    This number changes every year. It is used to verify that your camp is actively licensed for the stated season. Your license number is used for validation only and is not to be referenced on forms or documentation. Use your CAMP ID on all forms and documents.

  2. SEASON
    The summer season for which your license number is valid.

  3. THE NAME OF YOUR CAMP
    as it is recordred in the Department's database.

  4. DATE OF ISSUANCE
    The date your license was issued for the stated season year.

  5. YOUR CAMP ID NUMBER
    This number never changes and indicates the licensed camp. Always reference your camp ID number wherever proof of licensure is requested.

  6. THE TYPE OF CAMP
    that is licensed for the stated season.

  7. THE ADDRESS WHERE CAMP TAKES PLACE
    as it is recorded in the Department's database. if a license has more than one location registered, the number of registered locations will appear here. You will not receive a list of all registered addresses.

  8. YOUR MAILING ADDRESS
    as it is recorded in the Department's database.

 

 

SEARCH FOR ACTIVE CAMPS

Search the most up-to-date listing of all active youth camps. This dynamic listing of camps is updated as applications are entered. Searches may be conducted by county or by name of the camp.

 

CHECK THE STATUS OF YOUR LICENSE

For information about the status of your NJCCIS application, please contact the New Jersey Department of Children and Families, Department of Human Services. The New Jersey Department of Health Youth Camp Project does not have access to NJCCIS application information and cannot assist with NJCCIS-related inquiries. Please visit the NJCCIS website or call 1-800-332-6512.

To check the status of your New Jersey Department of Health Application for Certificate of Approval to Operate a Youth Camp form CB-11 and CB-14:

  • Please allow 4 weeks for application processing. Expedited service is not available.

  • Search for your camp in the online listing of current active permits.

  • Check your junk email for a message from our department. If there is an issue with your application, we will email you a message from an email address ending with @doh.nj.gov requesting further information or corrections.

  • Request a status update using our online contact form or email youthcamps@doh.nj.gov with the following information:
    • Your camp ID number and/or the name of the camp
    • The approximate date the application was submitted
    • The method of submission (email or mail)
    • The email address the application was submitted from (if applicable)

 

Last Reviewed: 8/11/2021