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The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) of the U.S. Department of Health and
Human Services, under authority of federal law, imposes a requirement on state governments to
ensure that nurse aides have the education and clinical skills necessary to care for residents of
long term care facilities. See 42 C.F.R. Part 483. These regulations also require that each
State maintain a nurse aide Registry, which, pursuant to 42 C.F.R, 483.156(c)(1)(iv), must
contain all substantiated findings by the State of resident mistreatment, abuse, neglect, or
misappropriation of resident property by a certified nurse aide.

The Certification Program of the New Jersey State Department of Health (Department) was
notified of the results of an investigation in which there was sufficient information that you
misappropriated the property of vulnerable residents. This occurred while you were employed
as a certified nurse aide at Crest Haven Nursing & Rehabilitation Center, Cape May Court
House, New Jersey.

Specifically, it is alleged you stole in excess of $500 from each of the personal needs accounts
of two residents. Further, on September 13, 2019, you were arrested by the Middle Township
Police Department and charged with two counts of N.J.S.A. 2C:20-2b(2)(a) — Theft. Finally, on
November 21, 2019, you pled guilty to N.J.S.A. 2C-20-3A — Theft by Unlawful Taking and were
sentenced to probation, restitution, and forfeit public employment. Your actions were wiliful and
constitute misappropriation of resident property in accordance with the federal definitions under
42 C.F.R. 483.5.

On November 18, 2019, you were sent a Right to Hearing letter via certified mail and first-class
mail, to the address of record for your nurse aide certification. This notice advised you of the
Department’s intent to place a finding of misappropriation next to your name on the New Jersey
Nurse Aide Registry (Registry), and to revoke your certification. At that time, you were notified
that you had 30 days to request a hearing to contest the charges against you. This office
received no such request within the prescribed time. If you moved, it is your responsibility to
notify the Nurse Aide Registry and the Criminal Background Investigation Unit of your new
address.
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Therefore, in accordance with 42 C.F.R. 483.156(c)(1)(iv), please be advised that a finding of
misappropriation will be placed next to your name on the Registry on January 6, 2020 and will
remain on the Registry permanently. Please also be advised that your certification is revoked.

Please surrender your nurse aide certificate and wallet card to:

Office of Program Compliance-Reporting
120 South Stockton Street, 3rd Floor

PO Box 358
Trenton, NJ 08625-0358

The certificate and the wallet card are no longer valid and the status of your nurse aide
certification is no revoked.

Please be advised that pursuant to N.J.A.C. 8:39-43.1(a)(1), only individuals who maintain a
currently valid nurse aide certificate and are registered in good standing on the Registry are
considered by the Department to be competent to work as a nurse aide in a licensed long term
care facility. A certified nurse aide is no longer registered in good standing if a finding of abuse,
neglect or misappropriation by the certified nurse aide is included on the registry. Therefore, as
long as a finding of misappropriation remains next to your name on the Registry, you are
prohibited from employment as a certified nurse aide in a licensed long term care facility.

In accordance with 42 C.F.R. 483.156 and N.J.A.C. 8:39-43.7, you are entitled to submit a
written statement contesting the findings noted above. This statement will be maintained on the
Registry. If you wish to submit such a written statement, you must do so within 20 days of the
date of this letter. Your letter should reference “Notice of Revocation of Nurse Aide Certificate:
Contested Findings.”

Please forward this statement to the Office of Program Compliance-Reporting along with your
nurse aide certification and your nurse aide wallet card to the address listed above.

Sincerely,
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