skip to main contentskip to main navigation
 
State of New Jersey Deapartment of Human Services title graphic  
 
Division of Disability Services
New Jersey Helps
NJ 211 Community Resource Website
New Jersey Housing Resource Center
New Jersey Mental Health Cares Hotline
NJ Family Care
Register Ready
Visit www.socialsecurity.gov
Visit nj.db101.org

NJ WorkAbility offers people with disabilities who are working, and whose income would otherwise make them ineligible for Medicaid, the opportunity to receive full Medicaid coverage.

 

UPDATED 2019 NEW JERSEY WORKABILITY GUIDELINES

Eligibility Criteria

  • Age 16-64
  • Working full or part-time with proof of employment
  • Determined as disabled by the Social Security Administration OR the Disability Review Team at the Division of Medical Assistance & Health Services
  • Income and asset eligibility as described below 

 Total Earned Income Potential

Includes but is not limited to: wages, self-employment earnings, workers’ compensation, paid sick leave, private or state temporary disability plan benefits or commissions. 

  • If you have no unearned income:
    • Individual gross earned income may not exceed $63,252 per year/ $5,271 per month.
    • An eligible couple’s gross earned income may not exceed $85,332 per year/ $7,111 per month.
  • If you have unearned income (for example, in addition to your wages you also receive alimony), the maximum earned income threshold will vary.

 Unearned Income Threshold

Includes but is not limited to: alimony, Social Security Survivors’ Benefits through a parent or spouse’s work history, unemployment, interest, investments, or trust payments.
Note: Social Security Disability and Railroad Retirement System benefits an individual receives through his/her own SSA work history are disregarded.

  • An individual’s unearned income may not exceed $1,041 per month.
  • An eligible couple’s unearned income may not exceed $1,410 per month.

 Asset Threshold:

Assets do not include primary home, a car used for work or medical transportation, or 401K/IRA retirement accounts.

  • $20,000 for an eligible individual
  • $30,000 for an eligible couple

 Important Note: Portions of both earned and unearned income are not counted when determining eligibility for Workability.  Please apply for a full eligibility determination using the NJ FamilyCare Aged, Blind, Disabled Programs Application.

 
 
TO APPLY

For more information and to apply, please visit:

The NJ FamilyCare Aged, Blind, Disabled Programs

 
 
RELATED LINKS

Updated 2019 NJ WorkAbility Guidelines

Disability Benefits 101

 

 
 
 
OPRA - Open Public Records Act NJ Home Logo
Department: DHS Home  |  DHS Services A to Z  |  Consumers & Clients - Individuals and Families  |  Important Resources  |  Divisions & Offices  |  Commissioner & Key Staff  |  Disaster & Emergency Help & Information  |  Press Releases, Public and Legislative Affairs, & Publications  |  Providers & Stakeholders: Contracts, Legal Notices, Licensing, MedComms  |  Get Involved with DHS!  |  Notice of Non-Discrimination  |  Taglines for Language Services
Statewide: NJHome  |  Services A to Z  |  Departments/Agencies  |  FAQs
 
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 1996 - 2008