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1. WhatisaQualifiedlIncome Trust(QIT)?

A Qualified Income Trust (QIT), also known as a Miller Trust, is a special legal arrangement
for holding a person’s income. A QIT is a written trust agreement for which the trustee
establishes a dedicated bank account. The income deposited into this dedicated bank
account is disregarded when determining financial eligibility for Long Term Services and
Supports. QITs require that a trustee is appointed to manage the monthly deposits and
expenses and account for the funds in the trust. A trustee must be someone other than
the Medicaid applicant/recipient. QIT written agreements have special conditions that
must be met and are subject to the approval of, and monitoring by, the appropriate
Medicaid eligibility determining agency (EDA) and the Division of Medical Assistance and
Health Services (DMAHS). (See question # 6 for a simplified process.)

2. Whoisrequiredto establishaQIT inorder to become

Medicaid income eligible?

Individuals with monthly income above the Medicaid Only institutional income limit
($2,250 in 2018) must establish a QIT if they meet an institutional level of care and are
trying to obtain Medicaid eligibility for long-term services and supports.

3. WhatdoesaQITdo?

When an individual’'s gross monthly income is above the Medicaid institutional income
limit ($2,250 per month in 2018), some or all of the income can be placed in a QIT bank
account in the month received, and then that portion of the income is not counted when
determining financial eligibility for Medicaid long-term services and supports benefits (see
question # 10 for more clarification). Individuals must meet all other requirements to
be eligible for the Medicaid Only program including, but not limited to, the following:
being Aged, Blind or Disabled; have countable resources less than the institutional
limit ($2,000); citizenship and residency requirements; and they must need an
institutional level of care determined by a clinical assessment.
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When did New Jersey begin using Qualified Income Trusts (QITs)?

New Jersey received authority from the federal government to begin using QITs on
December 1, 2014. All individuals determined eligible under the Medically Needy program
for long-term care prior to December 1, 2014, absent a change in circumstances, may
continue using the Medically Needy program rules.

What are the special conditions thata QIT must meet?

* A OIT must contain only income of the individual:

e Income must be deposited in the month it is received:
(seequestion #10 for details)

* AQIT cannot contain resources (such as the proceeds from the sale of real or
personal property, or money from a financial account);

* A QIT must be irrevocable;

* AQIT musthave atrustee to manage the administration and expenditures of the
Trust as set forth in federal and state law;

* New Jersey must be the first beneficiary of all remaining funds up to the amount
paid for Medicaid benefits upon the death of the Medicaid recipient;

* Income deposited into the QIT can only be paid in accordance with the post-
eligibility treatment of income rules and used to pay for the individual’s cost
share; and,

A QIT must be funded in the month the applicant is seeking eligibility.

The QITwrittenagreementsoundslikeacomplicatedlegaldocument,

dol needalawyertoestablishit?
DMAHS has posted on its website a QIT template has a fillable format for ease of use
which can then be printed out.

The template is located at the following website link:
http://www.state.nj.us/humanservices/dmahs/clients/mrusts.html

QITs may also be drafted for an individual by a lawyer.

Who do | contact if | have additional questions?
Please contact:

DMAHS Office of Legal and Regulatory Affairs
Beneficiary Administrative Action Unit, QIT Unit
MC 5

PO Box 712

Trenton, NJ 08625

609-588-3075

Please note that questions about Personal Responsibility (PR) forms must be directed to
the County Welfare Agency.
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Where should payments be sent when the QIT terminates?

Please contact the office listed in question 7 to confirm the amount owed and to provide a
final accounting of the QIT. Payments should be made payable to “Treasurer, State of NJ”
and mailed to:

Division of Revenue (NJDMAHS)
Attn: Processing Bureau
Lockbox 656

200 Woolverton Ave., Bldg. 20
Trenton, NJ 08646

Where should monthly cost share payments be mailed for individuals
with PR-3 forms (living in the community at home) and for other
beneficiaries directed to pay their cost share directly to DMAHS

rather than their facility?
Payments should be made payable to “Treasurer, State of NJ” and mailed to:

Division of Revenue (NJ DMAHS)
Attn: Processing Bureau

Lockbox 656

200 Woolverton Ave., Bldg. 20
Trenton, NJ 08646

ESTABLISHING AND FUNDING AQIT

10.

11.

12.

What types of income are allowed to be deposited ina QIT?

Income such as, but not limited to, an individual’s own Social Security income or pension
income is deposited into the QIT in the month that it is received. An individual can direct
all or some of their income to the QIT but all of the income from any source (e.g. the entire
monthly amount of a pension check or the entire Social Security benefit check) must be
deposited into the QIT. For example, an individual with a monthly Social Security income
of $874 and a monthly pension of $1,500 would be over the income limit (total income of
$2,374 is greater than the 2018 income cap of $2,250). The individual may deposit either
the entire Social Security income or the entire monthly pension amount, or both, into a
QIT account. Whatever amount that is deposited into the QIT is the amount that is
disregarded in counting an individual’'s income to determine eligibility.

My spouse and | always share a bank account to pay our monthly bills.
CanweputbothofourincomesintheQITinordertopayourbills?

The spouse’s funds cannot be placed in the QIT. Any money the spouse has or receives
can be deposited into the spouse’s own account in order to be used to pay monthly bills.

What types ofdepositsare notallowedinaQIT?
QITs are solely for income received by the Medicaid beneficiary in the month it is
received. Income is considered a resource in the month after it is received. Resources
cannot be deposited into a QIT. Resources include things like cash, funds from the sale
of real or personal property, savings, or investment account. Deposits from a spouse’s
or any other person’s income or resources are not allowed.
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13.

14.

15.

16.

17.

18.

19.

Who can establish a QIT on behalf of the beneficiary
(serve asthe settlororgrantor)?

e The beneficiary

* The beneficiary’s legal guardian, or

* The beneficiary’s Power of Attorney agent.

Howdo | opena QIT bank account?

A QIT bank account is set up at a bank. The DMAHS website provides guidance to the
individuals going to the bank and a bank memo to provide to the bank officer. You can
bring the memo to the bank to help establish these accounts. Identification is required
as is the copy of the Guardian or Power of Attorney document, if appropriate. The
bank letter website link can be found at:
http://www.state.nj.us/humanservices/dmahs/clients/mtrusts.html.

IfaQIT isestablished and the Medicaid application takes awhile to
approve, should the Trust be funded during the period after the

application is made?
In order to be financially eligible in any month, the individual must fund a QIT in that
month. If you apply in June and want to be eligible in July, the individual's July income

must be deposited in the QIT by July 31St,

How do we prove to the EDA that the QIT bank account

hasbeenfunded?

The individual or their representative would need to show a bank deposit slip or
documentation from the bank showing that the monthly income was deposited into the
QIT bank account for proof of funding.

Is the income that is required to be deposited in the QIT required to be
directdeposited or canthe funds be deposited viaapersonal check
fromtheaccountcurrentlyreceiving theincome?

The income does not have to be directly deposited into the QIT bank account, but it must

be deposited in the same month it is received by the beneficiary in order for it not to be
counted for income eligibility in that month.

Canincome be redirected to the facility rather than the trust each

month if this is where the income will end up anyway?

No, the income over $2,250 must be deposited in the QIT bank account each month and
then the cost share is paid to the facility. Only income deposited in the QIT bank account
can be disregarded for Medicaid eligibility. If the income is never deposited into the QIT
account, the individual will be ineligible for benefits due to excess income.

Can income from a resident of a nursing home that would
need to be deposited into a QIT account be deposited in the

facility’s Resident Fund Management account instead?
No, income deposited into a Resident Fund Management account is considered income
and will count towards eligibility.
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20.

21.

22.

23.

On the QIT Trust template, who is the distributee(s) in the section
under “Termination” for any remaining trust property after payment

tothe DMAHS?

On the QIT Trust template, in the section under “Termination,” if the Medicaid recipient is
competent when the QIT is being established, they may name a distributee(s) for any
funds left in the QIT after DMAHS is paid in full. Otherwise, after death and payment to
DMAHS, the account would be subject to probate law.

The QIT template that is posted on the DMAHS website indicates that
bank fees are an allowable expense up to $20 per month. Is this
expense going to be included on the Personal Responsibility (PR) form

andisitforall living arrangements.

The State allows for bank fees up to $20 per month for all living arrangements: nursing
facility, assisted living, and living at home. It is considered part of the Personal Needs
Allowance or Maintenance Needs Allowance on the PR form (see question #31 for more
details). The actual bank fee amount is required information to include in any QIT
document. PR forms outline all allowable post-eligibility expenses and now include the
monthly bank fee.

Who is the Grantor on the QIT template document?
The Grantor is the individual who is establishing the Trust, (see question # 13). This may

be the actual Medicaid applicant/recipient, or their Power of Attorney or Guardian on their
behalf.

Are paymentsfromlong-termcareinsurance policies counted

as income for Medicaid eligibility?

Long-term care insurance payments made directly to a facility are not counted as income
for Medicaid eligibility; however, if payments are made directly to the Medicaid
applicant/recipient, they are counted as income for Medicaid eligibility. In all cases, long-
term care insurance payments are included in the post-eligibility treatment of income as
part of the cost share to reduce the amount that DMAHS pays for an individual’s care.

TRUSTEE INFORMATION

24.

Who can be atrustee and what are their responsibilities?
New Jersey law governs who can be a trustee. See N.J.S.A. 3B:11-4 et seq.

A trustee is responsible for ensuring that the monthly deposits and expenditures are
made in accordance with the provisions of the trust agreement. The trustee is responsible
for providing information to the EDA as requested and for annual eligibility renewal. This
includes making timely monthly deposits and disbursements, and an accounting (annual
or upon death of the Medicaid beneficiary) of the deposits into the QIT, the disbursements
(consistent with the Medicaid beneficiary’s PR form, see question #29), and the amount
on hand. The trustee is also responsible for providing information to DMAHS for its
annual review of the QIT and for any other monitoring activities.

Page5o0f12



25.

26.

If a new trustee is required, the previous trustee is responsible to provide a full accounting to
the EDA of the QIT bank account during the period in which they were responsible for the
trust.

Will the trustee commission be a priority disbursement on the

Personal Responsibility Form (PR-1, PR-2 or PR-3)?

The trustee commission is paid after_all post-eligibility expenses are paid out including
cost share, as per federal regulations. These commissions are only available if the
individual has a high enough income to have funds available in the QIT at the end of each
month.

What is the procedure for closing out a QIT?

Upon the death of a Medicaid beneficiary, the QIT balance as of the day of death is
payable to DMAHS. The trustee should notify the County Welfare Agency of the
beneficiary’s demise, and the Trustee should send to DMAHS a copy of all bank
statements from opening of account through present day (or since the last accounting
was provided to DMAHS). Please be sure to include a statement showing balance on
date of death as well as the current balance to:

DMAHS Office of Legal and Regulatory Affairs
Beneficiary Administrative Action Unit, QIT Unit
MC 5

PO Box 712

Trenton, NJ 08625

The QIT unit will process bank statements and advise of the amount of claims and
amount due from QIT account. DMAHS Estate Recovery unit may also make a recovery
for amounts paid for the beneficiary from assets outside of the QIT.

COST SHARE/ALLOWABLE EXPENSES

27.

28.

29.

Whatiscostshare?

Cost share is the portion of a Medicaid beneficiary’s income that is required by federal
regulations to be paid monthly, to offset an individual’s cost of care paid by the Medicaid
program. These regulations can be found at 42 CFR 88 435.725 and 435.726.

Wheredo | pay the cost share?

Cost share is paid monthly to the nursing facility or assisted living facility in which an
individual resides OR to the DMAHS, if the individual lives in the community. You will be
given a document described in question #29 with this amount once you are found
eligible.

How do | know the amount of the cost share? What is the Personal
Responsibility (PR) form?

The Personal Responsibility (PR) form calculates an individual’s income, allowable
deductions and cost share. The PR form is distributed by the EDA to the Medicaid
beneficiary/ Authorized Representative, and the facility where they live within one week
of the determination of eligibility. If they live at home, it will also be sent to DMAHS which
will collect the cost share for this living arrangement. It is the responsibility of the
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30.

31.

Medicaid beneficiary/Authorized Representative to share a copy of the PR form with the QIT
trustee, ifnecessary.

The PR form has three different versions which represent an individual's living
arrangement; a PR-1 is for a Nursing Home; a PR-2 is for an Assisted Living Facility; and a
PR-3 is for home-based/community living. A new form must be created whenever an
individual has a change in circumstances such as an increase or decrease in income, or if
they change their living arrangement. All changes in circumstances must be reported to
the appropriate EDA when they occur, as required in the Rights and Responsibilities
section of the Medicaid application.

When will the expenses and cost share begin to be required payments?

The obligations outlined on the PR form will begin in the first month that eligibility is
established for long-term services and supports.

How is Cost Share determined?

The Post-eligibility Treatment of Income rules outline the specific deductions that are
allowed to be paid out of a Medicaid recipient’'s gross income before their cost share is
calculated. These rules are outlined by the federal government at 42 CFR § § 435.725 and
435.726. The expenses must be deducted in the following order, from the individual's
total gross income (gross income includes income disregarded in determining eligibility):

Step 1. Personal Needs Allowance (PNA) or Maintenance Needs Allowance (MNA)

* For the beneficiary residing at a Nursing Facility (NF):
PNA of $50*
* For the beneficiary residing in an Assisted Living Facility (AL):
MNA —
$111.50* for PNA and
$788.55* for room and board
OR
* For the beneficiary living at home or in the community (not AL):
MNA of $2,250*

This allowance must be spent each month on the individual’s living expenses and for their
sole benefit or it will be considered a resource and count towards the $2,000 resource
limit in the following month.

« AND IFthereis aQIT - a monthly bank fee, up to $20 per month. This fee is
part of the PNA and is only for QIT bank accounts. There is a row on
the PR form to fill in the dollar amount.

Step 2. Community Spouse Allowance
The Community Spouse Allowance = $2,030* minus the spouse’s gross
income plus the following if applicable:

Shelter Allowance = Actual Shelter cost minus $609* Utility
allowance is $514* per month only if utilities are paid

Step 3. Allowance for the maintenance needs of additional dependents
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Step 4. Allowance for maintenance of a home if the individual is returning to their home
within 6 months, this equals $150 per month

Step 5. Allowance for uncovered, state approved medical expenses (for Assisted Living
and individuals living at home) and health insurance premiums. (See question # 33 for
additional information.)

Step 6. Cost Share: Any income remaining after the allowable deductions are made on

the PR form. The trustee will pay the cost share amount directly to the NF, the AL or for
the beneficiary that lives at home, the trustee will pay it directly to DMAHS.

*denotes 2017/2018 standards

Please see Personal Responsibility calculation examples below for each living
arrangement: Nursing Home, Assisted Living and living at home in the community.

EXAMPLE 1: Nursing Home

John meets institutional level of care and needs to live in a nursing home. He establishes a
QIT in the month before he attains Medicaid eligibility. John’s monthly gross income of
$5,100 is from $1,500 a month in Social Security and $3,600 per month in pension. John is
married to Mary, she has a gross income of $800 per month in Social Security and has shelter
costs of $700 a month plus she pays utilities.

As explained in Step 2 - The Community Spouse Maintenance Allowance is calculated as
$2,030* minus Mary’s $800 in income which equals $1,230. Then her excess shelter cost of
$91 is calculated as $700 - $609*. Her utility payments will increase her allowance by
another $514*. Mary’s Community Spouse Maintenance Needs Allowance is $1,835
($1,230 +$91 + $514%).

John’s total gross income = $5,100 is directly deposited into his QIT
The Trustee pays out the following expenses:

Total Gross Income = $5,100.00
Step 1 - PNA - 50.00*
Bank Fee - 17.00
Step 2 - Community Spouse Allowance - 1,835.00
Step 5- Health Insurance Premium - 100.00
Step 6 - Cost Share amount $ 3,098.00

*denotes 2017/2018 standards

EXAMPLE 2: Assisted Living Facility

William meets an institutional level of care and would like to reside in an Assisted Living
facility. He establishes a QIT in the month before he attains Medicaid eligibility. William’s gross
income of $3,000 includes $800 in Social Security and $2,200 in pension. William is married
to Lauren; she has a gross income of $1,500 which includes $900 in Social Security and
$600 in pension. Her shelter costs are $850 per month and she does not pay utilities.

As explained in Step 2 - The Community Spouse Maintenance Allowance is calculated as
$2,030* minus Lauren’s income of $1,500 which equals $530. Then her excess shelter costs
of $241 are calculated as $850 - $609*. There is no utility allowance added. Lauren’s
Community Spouse Maintenance Needs Allowance is set at $771 ($530 + $241).
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32.

William’s total gross income is $3,000 and is directly deposited into the QIT. The trustee pays
out the following expenses from the trust:

Total Gross Income = $3,000.00
Step1- MNA-PNA - 111.50*
Room and Board - 788.55*

Bank Fee - 5.00

Step 2- Community Spouse Allowance - 771.00
Step 5- Health Insurance Premium - 100.00

Uncovered Medical Expenses - 0.00
Step 6 — Cost Share amount $1,223.95

*denotes 2017/2018 standards

EXAMPLE 3: Home Based Setting

Linda meets an institutional level of care but would like to remain living in her home. She
established a QIT in the month before she attained Medicaid eligibility. Linda’s gross income of
$3,050 includes $1,250 in Social Security and $1,800 per month in pension. She is married
to Rick who has a total gross income of $1,902.50. His shelter costs are $700 per month
and he pays utilities.

As explained in Step 2 - The Community Spouse Maintenance Needs Allowance is
calculated as $2,030* minus Rick’s income of $1,902.50 which equals $127.50. Then his
excess shelter costs are calculated as $700 - $609* which equals $91. He also pays
utilities and gets the $514* utility allowance. His total Community Spouse Maintenance
Needs Allowance is $732.50 ($127.50 +$91 + $514%*).

Linda’s total gross income of $3,000 per month is directly deposited into her QIT. The trustee
pays out the following expenses:

Total Gross Income = $3,050.00
Step1 - MNA - 2,250.00*
Bank Fee - 10.00
Step 2 - Community Spouse Allowance - 732.50*
Step5- Health Insurance Premium - 0.00
Uncovered Medical Expenses - 14.50
Step 6 — Cost Share amount $43.00

*denotes 2017/2018 standards

What happens to the income inside and outside of the QIT account?

After an individual meets the monthly income eligibility criteria using a QIT, all monthly
income is thereafter counted both in the QIT bank account and outside of the QIT bank
account. Allincomeisused monthly to meet the obligations set forth on the PR form. At
the end of every month, most QIT bank accounts will have a zero or close to zero
balance. Any individual who has income in excess of what is required to be paid out
according to the PR form will continue to leave their excess income in the QIT account.
If this money is withdrawn for any reason, the amount will be considered income and
may make the individual ineligible. Any excess resources left in a QIT account may be
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required to be spent down at redetermination.

33. Willthere be aprocess forauthorizing uncovered state approved
medicalexpenses?
Yes, these types of expenses usually occur with individuals living in Assisted Living facilities
or for individuals living at home. In order to seek authorization for uncovered state
approved medical expenses, the individual must submit a valid physician’s prescription
and receipts for all items that will need to be purchased on a monthly basis. An example
of these expenses may include, but are not limited to, over-the-counter medications.
These expenses may then be deducted from the individual’'s income as an allowable
expense on the PR form. Please note that the word uncovered is underlined as this
expense category is not to be used to enhance services that are covered by Medicaid such
as personal care assistance or private duty nurses.

34. Can legal fees and administrative fees be used as post-eligibility
deductions for QITs?
No. Legal and administrative fees are not allowable post-eligibility deductions. Bank fees
are addressed in question #21.

35. Whatcanthe maintenance needs allowance be usedfor?
The maintenance needs allowance may be used for living expenses for the sole benefit
of the Medicaid recipient.

36. Can a health insurance premium or other payment such as
gasl/electric bill, cable TV bill, etc... be electronically withdrawn
monthly from the QIT bank account?
Only the specific allowable expenses that are outlined on the PR form can be directly with-
drawn from the QIT account. All other deductions are considered a transfer of assets. The
allowable expenses are in order as follows: the Personal Needs or Maintenance Needs
Allowance paid to the Medicaid beneficiary; the Community Spouse Allowance; health
premiums; uncovered medical expenses and the cost share.

TRANSFERPENALTY

37. What will happen if an individual who is applying for long-term

servicesandsupportsincursatransferpenalty?

A penalty period is calculated by taking the total amount of money that has been
transferred for less than fair market value and dividing it by the average daily cost of a
nursing home. The penalty clock begins on the date that the individual is found to be
otherwise eligible. In order to be determined otherwise eligible, the QIT must be
established and funded. During the penalty period, a QIT may or may not be funded. The
month that the penalty ends, the QIT must be funded in order for long-term services and
supports to be coveredby DMAHS.

Individuals who are otherwise eligible and who are in a penalty period will NOT be eligible for
any long-term services and supports which include, but are not limited to, the following:
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* MLTSS Personal Care Assistance

* Private Duty Nursing for Adults

* Nursing Home and Special Care Nursing Facility Services
e Adult Family Care

 Assisted Living Services (ALR, CPCH)

 Assisted Living Program (ALP)

e Traumatic Brain Injury Behavioral Management
» Caregiver/Participant Training

» Chore Services

» Cognitive Therapy

* Community Residential Services

* Community Transition Services

 Home Based Supportive Care

* Home delivered meals

* Medication dispensing device and monitoring

* Non-Medical Transportation

e Occupational Therapy

* Personal Emergency Response System- set up and monitoring
e Physical Therapy

* Residential Modifications

* Respite Services

» Social Adult Day Care

» Speech, Language and Hearing Therapy

e Supported Day Services

* Vehicle Modifications

IMPORTANT REMINDERS FOR TRUSTEES

* In order to ensure continued eligibility, the QIT bank account must be funded every
month according to the QIT document. Benefits will be lost in any month that the QIT
account is not funded properly.

* The expenditures outlined on the Personal Responsibility form must be paid out
monthly. The EDA will look at all bank statements annually to ensure compliance.

* It is the trustee’s responsibility to notify the EDA when there is a change in circumstance.
A change in circumstance may include, but not be limited to: change in living
arrangement (from facility to facility, facility to a home, or home to facility); an
increase or decrease in income; receipt of an inheritance or a lump sum; sale of
property from a plan of liquidation; or a change in trustee.

» Medicaid eligibility is renewed annually, a renewal packet is sent to the beneficiary or
their representative. It is the responsibility of the trustee to submit the QIT bank
statements for every renewal period. If the information is not submitted within the
allotted time period, eligibility may be terminated.

e If a change in income occurs, notify the EDA immediately so that the Personal
Responsibility form may be adjusted.
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« If there is a change in address, notify the EDA immediately to ensure that all mail is
directed to the proper address. Too often, eligibility is lost because of an incorrect

address.

NJ FamilyCare complies with applicable Federal civil rights laws and does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national
origin, sex, age or disability. If you speak any other language, language assistance services are available at no cost to you.

Call 1-800-701-0710(TTY: 1-800-701-0720).

NJ FamilyCare cumple con las leyes federales de derechos civiles correspondientes y no discrimina con base en la raza, el color,
la nacionalidad, el sexo, la edad o la discapacidad. Si usted habla espafiol, tiene a su disposicion los servicios de asistencia con el
idioma sin costo alguno. Llame al 1-800-701-0710 (TTY: 1-800-701-0720).

NJ FamilyCare EFERAMNBKIBALCER , F2RANK, Ke. RELE. 45, FRIBEMBTER . MREWH, BAUARER
BIESHEIBRS . BE 1-800-701-0710 (TTY: 1-800-701-0720 )
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