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Announcement 

All Initial Business License Applicants 
 

The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission, Business Licensing Services Bureau (BLS) is pleased to 
announce that beginning December 1, 2016; BLS will discontinue the practice of requiring an up-front license 
and registration payment (excluding application fees) with the submission of an initial business license 
application for the following license privileges:   

 New and Used Car Dealers 
 Special Category Registration and Plates (Auction, Boat Dealer, Converter, Financing, Insurer, Leasing,                                              
        Manufacturer, Non-Conventional and Transporter) 
 Auto Body Shops (Full, Limited and Sublet Services) 
 Driving Schools   
 Inspection and Emission Repair Facilities 
 
This change will bring greater efficiency, recording and accounting for all initial application funds and reduce 
the risk of lost payments. 
  
A notification requesting payment of the license and registration fees along with proof of insurance and bond 
requirements (if applicable) will be sent after preliminary approval of all licensing requirements and a site 
inspection, where applicable. The wall license and license plates, if applicable, will be mailed to the licensed 
location once your payment is processed.   

Your compliance with this policy is greatly appreciated. For further information on the initial licensing process, 
call 609 292-6500 x5014.  

Note: Applicants for Auto Body and Private Inspection Facilities licenses must submit a $20.00 application fee with 
their initial license application.   
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Enclosed are the application and supplemental forms necessary to apply for an auto body limited initial license.    
If you are engaged in the business of performing auto-body repair and/or auto-body painting service         
you must be licensed. 
 
If you commence auto-body work without a license, you will be in violation of New Jersey Auto-Body 
Repair Facility Act, N.J.S.A. 39:13-1 et seq., which states, “No person may engage in the business of           
an auto-body repair facility unless it is so licensed by the Commission”.  Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 39:13-6     
the Chief Administrator of the New Jersey Motor vehicle Commission has the power and authority to 
issue an order to cease and desist from operating an auto-body repair facility without a license to do         
so. The Chief administrator may also impose upon an auto-body repair facility operating without a   
license a civil penalty of up to $5000.00 for the first offense and up to $20,000.00 for the second and 
each subsequence offense. 
 
In accordance with recently adopted regulations, each applicant for an auto-body limited license shall have    
and established place of business at the time such license is issued. An established place of business must have  
an exterior sign, a suitable office and be in conformance with the requirements of the municipality in which it       
is located. It is imperative that the municipal or zoning board clerk complete the enclosed approval 
certificate form.  However, we will accept a photocopy of a certificate of occupancy in lieu of the completed 
approval certificate.  
 
Insurance coverage requirements for damage to property and liability arising from bodily injury: 

(a)  Garage liability or equivalent commercial general liability insurance in the minimum amount        
       of $300,000 or a letter of credit in the amount of $300,000; and 
(b)  Garage keepers’ liability insurance in a minimum amount of $50,000 or a letter of credit in      
       the amount of $50,000; and 
(c)  Workers Compensation insurance or a statement advising no employees. 

      
       During the licensing process, all correspondence between the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission  
      and the applicant, will be mailed to the applicant’s business address. 
 
       The fee for the license is $350.00 plus an additional non-refundable application fee of $20.00.  A                             
      notification requesting payment of the license will be sent after preliminary approval of all licensing     
      requirements and a site inspection, where applicable. Please return the completed application to this  
      office with all required documents.  If you have any questions, please call (609) 292-6500 ext. 5014  
      or e-mail us at mvcblsprocessing@mvc.nj.gov 
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         AUTO-BODY (LIMITED) INITIAL APPLICATION CHECKLIST  
 
 
        In order to ensure prompt processing of your Auto-Body (Limited) Application, please submit all documents  
        listed below: 
 

1. License fee ($350.00).  Non-refundable processing fee ($20.00). Certified checks/money order payable to 

                        the NJMVC. 

2. License application and municipal approval. 

3. Supplemental application for each owner, partner(s), officer(s) or member(s). 

4. Child support certification for each owner, partner(s), officer(s) or member(s). 

5.  Fingerprint request notification form. 

6. Copy of driver license for each applicant. (Non-resident only) 

7. Color photograph   of each applicant. (Non-resident only) 

8. Copy of your Corporate Certificate (Inc.) or formation papers for LLC, Partnerships and sole Proprietors. 

9. Copy of property deed or lease. 

10. Business Hours Form (Enclosed). 

11. Federal Tax Identification Number. (Attach copy of certificate). 

12. NJ Sales Tax Identification Number. (Attach copy of certificate). 

13. Workers’ compensation insurance or a statement advising no employees. Please note that if employees are hired 
after the license has been issued, you must submit workers’ compensation insurance at that time. 

14. Insurance coverage requirements for damage to property and for liability arising from bodily injury (both 
Full Service and Limited Full Service applicants): 

a. Garage liability or equivalent commercial general liability insurance in a minimum amount of 

$300,000 or a letter of credit in the amount of $300,000; and 

       b. Garage keepers’ liability insurance in a minimum amount of $50,000 or a letter of credit in the amount of $50,000 

Certificate holder must read: NJ Motor Vehicle Commission Auto Body Unit, PO Box 172, Trenton, NJ 08666-0172 

15. Auto-Body Repair No Painting Certificate Form (Enclosed). 

16. Auto-Body Painting Contract Agreement Form (Enclosed). 

17. Photographs of the auto body repair facility showing signs and other advertising media. 

18. Current certificate of inspection from the fire marshal for the building  

19. Evidence of completion from a recognized auto body class; at least one class must be taken within one (1) year 
preceding issuance of the initial license. 

20. Provide signed agreement (sample enclosed) if the below listed services will be performed by a facility other than yourself:         
( ) structural repairs ( ) vehicle four-wheel alignment ( ) air conditioner servicing ( ) mechanical repair as a result of collision 
damage. 
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3. Please Check appropriate box for License: 
 
 Leasing Company          Driving School                              Private Inspection Facility  
 Fleet Inspection Facility      New & Used Motor Veh. Dealer     Used Motor Veh. Dealer 
 Auto Body [Full]          Auto Body  [Limited]                       Auto Body [Sublet] 
      Special Category (Select one from options below)  
           Auction            Boat Dealer         Converter                 Finance         Insurer                  
           Leasing            Manufacturer       Non-Conventional      Transporter 
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FOR OFFICE USE ONLY 
 

License No.     

Reg. No.     

Approved by     

 
 

Date 
 
 

 

Email 

 
 

The undersigned hereby applies for the license(s) checked in Part 3 and submits the following certified statement: 
 
 

Corp Code     
 

1.       
Name of Business (if corporation, corporate name) Business phone 

 
    2. Please Check 

Trade Name 
Corporation Partnership Proprietorship 

 

Street Address  Other      

 
 

City Zip Code County  
 

All applicants please provide the following information and attach copies 
of  proof thereof: 

A. NJ Sales Tax Identification Number    
B. NJ Unemployment Registration Number     

C. Federal Employer Identification Number     

  

 

4. Complete the following for proprietor, partners, or corporate officers:  

Name Title Home Address Telephone Number 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 

 
 

 

 
 

 

 
 

 

 
5. Have the owners, partners, or officers ever been arrested, charged or convicted of a criminal or disorderly persons offense in this or any other state? 

 

Yes if  yes, explain: 
 

No 
 

6 Do you knowingly intend to employ a person who has been convicted of the above, or any other crime or who was previously licensed as any Of the above in 
this or any other state and was subject to license suspension or revocation? 

 

Yes      
Give name and address of person 

No      
 

APPLICATION FOR LICENSE 



7 Do the owners, principals, partners or officers now hold, or have they ever held, any of the licenses listed in #3 or in any other jurisdiction? 
 

Yes If yes, please provide the type of license(s), license number(s) and jurisdiction(s) and dates of licensure: 
 

No   ___________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

8. Have the license(s) provided above ever been suspended or revoked in New Jersey or any other jurisdiction? 
 

Yes If yes, explain: 
 

No 
 

 
9. Have the owners, partners or corporate officers, agents or employees of your organization ever used an alias or been known by any other name? 

 
Yes If yes, explain: 

No 

 
10. Does any stockholder own more than 10% of the corporation's stock? 

 

Yes If yes, give name, address and holding 
 

No 

 
11. 

Place of  Incorporation / Formation 
 
 

Date of Incorporation/Formation 
 
 

Date of authorization to do business in New Jersey 

 
Attach copy of the Certificate of Incorporation/Formation 
which has been filed with the N.J. Secretary of State. Foreign 
Corporations must submit a copy of their Authorization to do 
business in New Jersey as a Foreign Corporation in addition 
to a copy of their corporate/formation papers. 

12. The applicant certifies all information contained herein is true and agrees that any untruthful representation and any violation of the applicable statutes 
and regulations promulgated by the Commission shall be reasonable and proper grounds for license suspension or revocation and may subject the 
applicant to administrative, civil or criminal penalty. He/She further agrees to notify the Commission immediately of any change in the status of the 
business or of any other information which would change the answers and statements in this application or supplement thereto. 

    
13. The individual(s) signing this application certifies that they have read the applicable statutes and are thoroughly familiar with the details provided 

and potential penalties. 
 

I, the undersigned, hereby certify that I am the  of the above business named      
       President, Owner, Officer, Member 

and that the information  I have submitted is true. I am aware that if any of the statements are willfully false, I am subject to penalty. 
 
 

  

Print Name of Applicant Signature and Title of Applicant 
 

 the undersigned, hereby certify that I am Secretary/Member/Partner of the above Corporation and have witnessed the signature of    
who is  of  said corporation. 

President, Owner, Officer or Member 
 

 

Signature of Secretary/Member/Partner 
 
 
   Rev. 2/2018



 
 

STATE OF NEW JERSEY 
MOTOR VEHICLE COMMISSION 

BUSINESS LICENSING SERVICES BUREAU 
  P.O. BOX 170  

TRENTON, NEW JERSEY 08666-0170 
 

M U N I C I P A L  A P P R O V A L  C E R T I F I C A T E  F O R  B U S I N E S S  L I C E N S E  
     
Applicant Information  
 
Applicant Name: _________________________________________________________  Title ______________________________ 
 
Business Name: ______________________________________________________  Business Phone: ________________________  
 

    Street Address (include suite #) _________________________________________________________________________________ 
            

City ___________________________________________________________________      Zip ______________________________        
 

     

 
Approval Classification of Applicant 

  
  A. Please check appropriate box:       B. Please check appropriate type of license: 
 
   □ Initial     □ Driving School        □ Leasing Dealer   
 

   □ Change of Address    □ Junkyard         □ Moped Dealer       
 

   □ Branch Location         □ Used Motor Vehicle Dealer         □ PIF  
 

   □ Existing Facility Zoning Compliance □ New & Used Motor Vehicle Dealer (Please specify type of vehicle) 
                                                                                           __________________________________________________________     
 

                       □ Auto Body Facility (Check all that apply) 
               _____ Full Service Auto Body 
               _____ Limited Full Service Auto Body 
              _____ Sublet Auto Body (new car dealer) 
               _____ Heavy Duty Vehicle Endorsement  
 

Municipal Zoning Official Certification 
 

I, _______________________________________, Clerk of the Municipality of ___________________________________________, 
  

County of ___________________________________________, State of New Jersey, hereby certify that the municipal governing  
body or zoning commission has approved the location, establishment and maintenance of the above indicated business  
 
located at: _____________________________________________________________________________________________________. 
      (Complete Address)  
Please check appropriate box: 

□ Site was visited by a Zoning Official/ Municipal Representative prior to approval 

□ Site was not visited by a Zoning Official/ Municipal Representative prior to approval 
 
Please specify any stipulations of your zoning approval:  _________________________________________________________ 
 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 

______________________________________ _________       
                              Signature of Municipal Clerk                      Date 

                 Municipal                                                            
      Seal     _________________________________________________________ 
         Print Name 
 

       _________________________________________________________ 
BLS-162 R-8/18                                                                                                   Contact Number      
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 APPLICANT’S  INFORMATION 
PLEASE PRINT 
 
 

BUSINESS NAME 
 
 
 
 
 

BUSINESS PHONE NUMBER 
 

 
 

1. APPLICANT  FULL NAME (Including Middle and Suffix, if any) 
 
 
 
 
 

2. STREET ADDRESS 
 
 
 
 
 

3. CITY 
 
 
 
 

 

4. STATE 
 

 

5. ZIP CODE 
 

 

6. COUNTY 
 

 

7. HOW LONG HAVE YOU LIVED AT THE ABOVE ADDRESS? 
 
 
 
 

 

8. HOME PHONE NUMBER 
 
 
 

 

9. LIST ALL THE CITIES, STATES AND FOREIGN COUNTRIES WHERE YOU HAVE LIVED, OVER THE LAST 20 YEARS AND HOW LONG YOU LIVED IN EACH. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

10. DATE OF BIRTH (MONTH, DAY, YEAR) 
 
 
 
 

 

11. PLACE OF BIRTH (CITY, STATE OR FOREIGN COUNTRY) 
 
 
 

 

12. SEX 
 
 
 
 

 

13. HEIGHT 
 
 

 

14. WEIGHT 
 
 
 

 

15. COLOR OF EYES 
 
 

 

16. Social Security Number* 
 
*You must disclose your Social Security number to the NJMVC.  Failure to do so may result in denial/non-renewal 
of licensure. 
 
Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 54:50-25 et seq. of the New Jersey taxation law and N.J.S.A. 2A:17-56.7 et seq. of the New 
Jersey Child Support Program Improvement Act, the licensing agency to which this form is submitted is required 
to obtain your Social Security number.  Pursuant to these authorities, the licensing agency is also obligated to 
provide your Social Security number to:  
 

a. the Director of Taxation to assist in the administration and enforcement of any tax law, including for 
the purpose of reviewing compliance with State tax law, updating, and correcting tax records; and 
 

b. the Probation Division or any other agency responsible for child support enforcement, upon request  
 

 

17. DRIVER LICENSE NUMBER 

 

18. HAVE YOU EVER BEEN CONVICTED OF A CRIME ARISING OUT OF FRAUD OR MISREPRESENTATION?                                                                                                         

□ NO  □ YES    IF YES,  ATTACH EXPLANATION DESCRIBING NATURE OF OFFENSE, DATE, CITY AND STATE WHERE OFFENSE  OCCURRED,  IDENTIFY COURT OR 
ADMINISTRATIVE TRIBUNAL BEFORE THE CASE TRIED, DATE AND SENTENCE 

 
I CERTIFY THAT THE INFORMATION PROVIDED HEREIN AND ATTACHMENTS, IF ANY, ARE TRUE. I AM AWARE THAT IF ANY OF THE STATEMENTS 
ARE WILLFULLY FALSE, I AM SUBJECT TO ADMINISTRATIVE, CIVIL AND/OR CRIMINAL PENALTY. 
 
SIGNATURE: _______________________________________________________________               DATE: ___________________________ 
 

 
BLC-205B (R08/18) 
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(888) 486-3339 ext. 5014  toll-free in NJ 
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Fingerprint Request Notification 
 

 
 

In accordance to regulatory requirements, it is mandated that all persons identified in 
the initial business application (proprietors, partners, corporate officers, applicants, 
providers, instructors and driving school authorized agents) undergo a live scan 
criminal background check by the state approved vendor. Submission of your initial 
business application authorizes the Commission’s Business Licensing Bureau to 
request and receive criminal background check results. 

 
Upon receipt of this notification, each person identified will be mailed a fingerprint 
application and instructional sheet. Once fingerprinted, the receipt and fingerprint 
application for each person listed must be forwarded to MVC, as proof of 
completion. The processing of your business application will not begin until all 
receipts are received.  
 
Complete the attached Fingerprint Request Notification Form listing each person 
identified in the  business application. If an e-mail address is provided, the 
documents will be e-mailed to those individuals, otherwise it will be mailed.  
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Business Licensing Services Bureau 
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Fingerprint Request Notification Form 
 

 
 

Business Name: _____________________________________ Date: __________ 
 

Clearly PRINT the following information for all persons identified in the initial business application 
( all proprietors, partners, corporate officers, applicants, providers, instructors and driving school 
authorized agents) 

 
 
 

Applicant Full Name: ____________________________________________________________ 
 
Street Address: _________________________________________________________________ 
 
City:____________________________________________ State: ______ Zip: ___________ 
 
Phone Number:   __________________________________   
 
E-Mail Address:  __________________________________ 

_____________________________________ 
   
Applicant Full Name: ____________________________________________________________ 
 
Street Address: _________________________________________________________________ 
 
City:____________________________________________ State: ______ Zip: ___________ 
 
Phone Number:   __________________________________   
 
E-Mail Address:  __________________________________ 

 
 

Applicant Full Name: ____________________________________________________________ 
 
Street Address: _________________________________________________________________ 
 
City:____________________________________________ State: ______ Zip: ___________ 
 
Phone Number:   __________________________________   
 
E-Mail Address:  __________________________________ 

 
 

Copy and submit additional sheets if needed 

New Jersey 
Motor Vehicle Commission 
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CHILD SUPPORT CERTIFICATION FORM 
 

___________________________________________________________________________ 
Business Name 
 
_________________________________________   __________________ 
Applicant’s Name (Print)       Date of Birth 
 
_________________________________________ 
Social Security Number 
 
*You must disclose your social security number to the NJMVC. Failure to do so may result in denial/non-renewal 
of licensure.  
 
Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 54:50-25 et seq.  of the New Jersey taxation law and N.J.S.A. 2A:17-56.7a et seq. of the New 
Jersey Child Support Program Improvement Act, the licensing agency to which this form is submitted is required 
to obtain your Social Security number. Pursuant to these authorities, the licensing agency is also obligated to 
provide your Social Security number to:  
 

a. The Director of Taxation to assist in the administration and enforcement of any tax law, including for the purpose 
of reviewing compliance with State tax law,  updating, and correcting tax records; 
 
and 
 

b. The Probation Division or any other agency responsible for child support enforcement, upon request. 
 
Under the provisions of N.J.S.A. 2A:17-56.7a et seq., responses to the questions listed below are required.  
Intentional misstatements may result in administrative action including, but not limited to, denial of licensure, 
immediate suspension or revocation of the license, or criminal prosecution. 
 
 

1. Do you have a child support obligation?                           
 
 

2. If yes, does the amounts in arrears equal or exceed the amount of child support          
      payable for six months?                   
  
 
 
      3.    Are you subject to a child-support warrant?                  
 
 
I certify that the foregoing responses made by me are true and I am aware that if any of the foregoing statements 
are willfully false, I am subject to penalty.  
 

______________________________________________  __________________ 
Signature         Date 

Business Licensing Services Bureau 
P.O. Box 170 
Trenton, New Jersey 08666-0170 
(609) 292-6500 ext. 5014 

Yes No 

Yes No 

Yes No 

BLS-43 
(R01/18) 



 
 
 

                                         AUTO-BODY BUSINESS HOURS 
                    

  
 
  
 
Business Name: __________________________________________________License No.________________         

    
    Street Address: ____________________________ City __________________________     Zip. ___________           
    

                      
 
 
 
                      Please indicate the days and time your business will be open to the public 
 
 
 
 
MONDAY……………………………………………………………………………. From  _____________   To ______________ 
 

 TUESDAY…………………………………………………………………………… From  _____________   To ______________  
 

WEDNESDAY………………………………………………………………………. From  _____________   To ______________  
 
THURSDAY…………………………………………………………………………. From  _____________   To ______________  
 
FRIDAY……………………………………………………………………………… From  _____________   To ______________  
 
SATURDAY…………………………………………………………………………. From  _____________   To ______________ 
 
 
 
 
I certify that all of the information included herein is true to the best of my knowledge and belief. 
I am aware that, if any of this information is willfully false, I am subject to punishment. 
 
 
 
 

 
Owner’s Name (Print): ________________________________________________ Title: ___________________________ 
 
Owner’s Signature: ___________________________________________________ Date: ___________________________ 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
BLC-86A (R7/18) 
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AUTOBODY PAINTING CONTRACTOR AGREEMENT 
 

 
I, ____________________________________, owner of _____________________________ 
                      (Contractor Name)                (Facility Name)   
 
located at: __________________________________________________, hereby certify that 
                   (Business Address) 
 
I have entered into an agreement with ____________________________________ to provide 
                     (Applicant’s Name) 
 
spray painting services for vehicles damaged as the result of a collision. 
 
I understand that this document will become a part of his/her permanent New Jersey Limited  
 
License record. 

 
Full Service Autobody Repair Facility License NO. ABR ____________________ 

 
 
 
_________________________________  __________________________________ 
Signature Contractor     Signature Licensee 
 
 
 
_________________________________  __________________________________ 
Date       Date 
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                                           AUTOBODY REPAIR NO PAINTING 
                                                                 
                                                            CERTIFICATE 
 
 
_______________________________ 
Facility Name 
 
_______________________________ 
Street Address 
 
______________________________  
City, state and Zip 
 
 
 
I certify that I understand that by issuance of the Limited Auto-body Repair Facility 
License, I am fully aware that N.J.S.A. 39:13 et. seq. prohibits my facility from spray 
painting services. 
 
 
I also understand, that if the statute is violated, the facility’s license privilege, according  
to N.J.A.C.  13:21-21.16 et. Seq., will be subject to a suspension and be imposed a 
fine of up to  $5,000.00  for the first offense and not more than $20,000.00 for each 
subsequent offense. 
  
 
____________________________________ 
Licensee’s Signature 
 
 
____________________________________ 
Date 
 
 
 
 
 
BLS-AB 18 (Rev 5/18)     
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