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Announcement 

All Initial Business License Applicants 

The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission, Business Licensing Services Bureau (BLS) does not 

accept up-front license and registration payments (excluding application fees) with the submission 

of an initial business license application for the following license privileges: 

New and Used Car Dealers

Special Category Registration and Plates

Auto Body Shops

Driving Schools

Inspection and Emission Repair Facilities

A notification requesting payment of the license and registration fees along with proof of insurance 

and bond requirements will be sent after preliminary approval of all licensing requirements and a 

site inspection, where applicable. The wall license and license plates, if applicable, will be mailed 

to the licensed location once your payment is processed.   

Your compliance with this policy is greatly appreciated. For further information on the 

initial licensing process, call 609-292-6500 x5014.  

Note: Applicants for Auto Body and Private Inspection Facilities licenses must submit a $20.00 

application fee with their initial license application.   



August 1, 2016

NOTICE TO ALL LICENSED NEW JERSEY MOTOR VEHICLE CONVERTERS REGARDING 
CONVERTER DEFINITION AND PLATE POLICY  

The MVC has adopted the following industry standard definition of a “vehicle converter” as well as 
criteria for determining the number of “converter plates” (as defined under N.J.S.A. 39:3-18) for which 
a vehicle conversion company is eligible.  

Industry Standard Definition for a Vehicle Converter: 
“A company whose primary business is to assemble, install, or affix a body, cab, or special 
equipment to the chassis or substantially add or subtract from a previously assembled or 
manufactured motor vehicle.” Note: Accessorizing a vehicle by definition is not a conversion.

License Plate Criteria: 
Converter plates can be placed on any vehicles owned or controlled by the converter, but only if 
such vehicles are operated for shop, demonstration or delivery purposes.

Beginning on September 1, 2016, a vehicle converter must show proof of ownership or control of at 
least one vehicle over the previous twelve months as defined above in order to qualify for a set of 
“converter plates”.

A vehicle conversion company holding “converter plates” and whose business does not show proof 
of ownership or control of a sufficient number of qualifying converted vehicles must contact the
MVC’s Business Licensing Services (BLS) unit for assistance. Failure to comply with this request 
may result in the proposed suspension of your converter plate registrations. 

If you have any questions, please contact Business Licensing Services at (609) 292-6500 x-5014. 
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Enclosed is copy of the applicable law, application and supplemental forms 
necessary to apply for Converter plates and registrations. 

Each applicant for Converter plates and registrations must establish and maintain a 
permanent place of business in New Jersey. Said business must display an exterior 
sign, which reflects the business name and the facility must conform with all 
municipal requirements. 

 certificate of insurance must be submitted which reflects liability insurance 
coverage in the minimum amounts of $100,000/$250,000 bodily injury and $25,000 
property damage and the total number of plates that the policy will cover. The 
certificate holder must read as follows:

NJ Motor Vehicle Commission 
Business Licensing Services Bureau 
P.O. Box 171 
Trenton, NJ 08666-0171 

f you have any questions, please call (609) 292-6500 ext.5014.

Sincerely,

Business Licensing Services Bureau 

(Rev. 1 /1 )

Business Licensing Services Bureau 
P.O. Box 171
Trenton, NJ 08666-0171
609-292-6500 ext. 5014
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FOR OFFICE USE ONLY

 License No.  

Reg. No.  

 EIN # 

 Approved by 

Date 

Email 

 The undersigned hereby applies for the license(s) checked in Part 3 and submits the following certified statement: 

1. 

Name of Business (if corporation, corporate name) Business Phone 

2. Please Check
 Trade Name 

Corporation Partnership Proprietorship 

Business Address Other __________________________________________ 

 City Zip Code County 

All applicants please provide the following information and attach copies 

of proof thereof: 

A. NJ Sales Tax Identification Number _______________________________

B. NJ Unemployment Registration Number _____________________________

C. Federal Employer Identification Number _____________________________

 
 

 

4. Complete the following for proprietor, partners or corporate officers: 

Name Title Home Address Telephone Number 

5. Have the owners, partners or officers ever been arrested, charged or convicted of a criminal or disorderly person offense in this or any other state?

Yes If yes, explain: ___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

No   ______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

6.  Has any current or prospective partner, officer, director, other controlling person, or employee of the applicant previously held a license issued under the
authority of the Commission or any other state, which license was suspended or revoked and never reinstated? 

Yes 
Give name and address of person 

No 

 APPLICATION F O  R     B  U  S   I  N  E  S  S LICENSE 

3. Please check appropriate box for applicable license:

 Leasing Company    Driving School  Private Inspection Facility

 Fleet Inspection Facility      New & Used Motor Veh. Dealer       Used Motor Veh. Dealer

 Auto Body (Full)   Auto Body (Limited)  Auto Body (Sublet)

Special Category Registration (Select one from options below)
 

 Auction       Boat Dealer         Converter  Finance Insurer

Leasing        Manufacturer         Non-Conventional         Transporter
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7. Do the owners, principals, partners or officers now hold, or have they ever held, any of the licenses listed in #3 or in any other jurisdiction? 

Yes  If yes, please provide the type of license(s), license number(s) and jurisdiction(s) and dates of licensure: ____________________________ 
 

No   ________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

8. Have the license(s) provided above ever been suspended or revoked in New Jersey or any other jurisdiction?

Yes  If yes, explain: ______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

No   _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

9. Does this business have a subsidiary company or a parent company?

 Yes  If yes, explain: _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

No   _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

10. Have the owners, partners or officers, agents or employees of your organization ever used an alias or been known by any other name?

 Yes  If yes, explain: _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

No   _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

11. Does any stockholder own more than 10% of the corporation's stock?

 Yes  If yes, give name, address and holding: ______________________________________________________________________________________________ 

No   _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

12. 

Place of Incorporation / Formation 

Date of Incorporation/Formation 

Date of authorization to do business in New Jersey

Attach copy of the Certificate of Incorporation/Formation 

which has been filed with the N.J. Secretary of State. 

Foreign Corporations must submit a copy of their 

Authorization to do business in New Jersey as a Foreign 

Corporation in addition to a copy of their corporate or 

formation papers. 

13. Does the location for which you seek a license, or seek to renew a license, comply with all State and local laws, ordinances and regulations
concerning the activities permitted by this license?

Yes 

No 

14. The applicant certifies all information contained herein is true and agrees that any untruthful representation and any violation of the applicable
statutes and regulations promulgated by the Commission shall be reasonable and proper grounds for license suspension or revocation and
may subject the applicant to administrative, civil or criminal penalty. He/She further agrees to notify the Commission immediately of any change
in the status of the business or of any other information which would change the answers and statements in this application or supplement
thereto.

15. I am, and will continue to be, in compliance with all State and local laws, regulations and ordinances regarding the operation of this business.

16. The individual(s) signing this application certifies that they have read the applicable statutes and are thoroughly familiar with the details
provided and potential penalties.

I, the undersigned, hereby certify that I am the __________of the above business named ____________________________________________________ 

 President, Owner, Officer, Member 

and that the information I have submitted is true. I am aware that if any of the statements are willfully false, I am subject to penalty. 

______________________________________________________________________  ______________________________________________________________________________ 

Print Name of Applicant Signature and Title of Applicant 

I, the undersigned, hereby certify that I am Secretary/Member/Partner of the above Corporation and have witnessed the signature of   ______________________________________________________ 

who is _________________________________________of said corporation. 
 President, Owner, Officer, Member 

_________________________________________________________________________________ 

Signature of Secretary/Member/Partner 
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APPLICANT’S INFORMATION 

PLEASE PRINT 

BUSINESS NAME BUSINESS PHONE NUMBER 

1. APPLICANT FULL NAME (Including Middle and Suffix, if any)

2. STREET ADDRESS 

3. CITY 4. STATE 5. ZIP CODE 6. COUNTY

7. HOW LONG HAVE YOU LIVED AT THE ABOVE ADDRESS? 8. HOME PHONE NUMBER

9. LIST ALL THE CITIES, STATES AND FOREIGN COUNTRIES WHERE YOU HAVE LIVED, OVER THE LAST 20 YEARS AND HOW LONG YOU LIVED IN EACH.

10. DATE OF BIRTH (MONTH, DAY, YEAR) 11. PLACE OF BIRTH (CITY, STATE OR FOREIGN COUNTRY) 12. SEX 

13. HEIGHT 14. WEIGHT 15. COLOR OF EYES 16. DRIVER LICENSE NUMBER

17. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER* __________________________________________________

*You must disclose your Social Security number to the NJMVC.  Failure to do so may result in denial/non-renewal of licensure.

Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 54:50-25 et seq. of the New Jersey taxation law and N.J.S.A. 2A:17-56.7 et seq. of the New Jersey Child Support Program 
Improvement Act, the licensing agency to which this form is submitted is required to obtain your Social Security number.  Pursuant to these authorities, 
the licensing agency is also obligated to provide your Social Security number to:  

a. the Director of Taxation to assist in the administration and enforcement of any tax law, including for the purpose of reviewing compliance with
State tax law, updating, and correcting tax records; and

b. the Probation Division or any other agency responsible for child support enforcement, upon request

18. HAVE YOU EVER BEEN CONVICTED OF A CRIME ARISING OUT OF FRAUD OR MISREPRESENTATION? 

 NO  YES   IF YES,  ATTACH EXPLANATION DESCRIBING NATURE OF OFFENSE, DATE, CITY AND STATE WHERE OFFENSE  OCCURRED,  IDENTIFY 

COURT OR ADMINISTRATIVE TRIBUNAL BEFORE THE CASE TRIED, DATE AND SENTENCE 

I CERTIFY THAT THE INFORMATION PROVIDED HEREIN AND ATTACHMENTS, IF ANY, ARE TRUE. I AM AWARE THAT IF ANY 

OF THE STATEMENTS ARE WILLFULLY FALSE, I AM SUBJECT TO ADMINISTRATIVE, CIVIL AND/OR CRIMINAL PENALTY. 

SIGNATURE: _____________________________________________  DATE: ___________________________ 
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CHILD SUPPORT CERTIFICATION FORM 

______________________________________________________________________________________________ 
Business Name 

____________________________________________ ________________________________ 
Applicant’s Name (Print)  Date of Birth 

____________________________________________ 
Social Security Number 

*You must disclose your social security number to the NJMVC. Failure to do so may result in denial/non-
renewal of licensure.

Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 54:50-25 et seq.  of the New Jersey taxation law and N.J.S.A. 2A:17-56.7a et seq. of 
the New Jersey Child Support Program Improvement Act, the licensing agency to which this form is submitted 
is required to obtain your Social Security number. Pursuant to these authorities, the licensing agency is also 
obligated to provide your Social Security number to:  

a. The Director of Taxation to assist in the administration and enforcement of any tax law, including
for the purpose of reviewing compliance with State tax law, updating, and correcting tax records;

and 

b. The Probation Division or any other agency responsible for child support enforcement, upon
request.

Under the provisions of N.J.S.A. 2A:17-56.7a et seq., responses to the questions listed below are required. 
Intentional misstatements may result in administrative action including, but not limited to, denial of licensure, 
immediate suspension or revocation of the license, or criminal prosecution. 

1. Do you have a child support obligation?     

2. If yes, does the amounts in arrears equal or exceed the amount of child support
payable for six months?

3. Are you subject to a child-support warrant?

I certify that the foregoing responses made by me are true and I am aware that if any of the foregoing 
statements are willfully false, I am subject to penalty.  

___________________________________________________ _________________________ 
Signature   Date 

Yes No 

Yes No 

Yes No 



BUSINESS HOURS 

Name of Business___________________________________   License No. ___________________________ 
Address_________________________________________________________________________________ 
Days Open for Business Business Hours 

Monday From To
Tuesday From To
Wednesday From To 
Thursday From To 
Friday From To 
Saturday From To 

Signature of Proprietor, artner fficer _______________________________________________ 
Date____________________________

BLC- A (R

Business Licensing Services Bureau 
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39:3-18. General registration; "D" or temporary plates; fees 

A manufacturer of motor vehicles, motor-drawn vehicles, motor vehicle bodies, motorized 
bicycles, or motorcycles doing business in this State may, with regard to motor or motor-drawn 
vehicles, motorized bicycles, or motorcycles owned or controlled by him, obtain general 
registration and registration plates therefor of the style and kind provided for in this subtitle, with 
the letter “D” stated thereon. Such plates can be placed on any vehicle or cycle owned or 
controlled by such manufacturer, but only if it is operated only for shop, demonstration or 
delivery purposes.  

A bona fide converter of commercial motor vehicles, motor-drawn vehicles or motor vehicle 
chassis doing business in this State may, with regard to motor or motor-drawn vehicles owned or 
controlled by him, obtain general registration and registration plates therefor of the style and kind 
provided for in this subtitle, with the letter “D” stated thereon. Such plates can be placed on any 
vehicles owned or controlled by such converter, but only if such vehicles are operated for shop, 
demonstration or delivery purposes. 

A bona fide dealer in motor vehicles, motor-drawn vehicles or motorcycles doing business in this 
State and having a license to do business as such issued by the director may, with regard to motor 
or motor-drawn vehicles or cycles owned by him, obtain general registration and registration 
plates therefor of the style and kind provided for in this subtitle, with the letter “D” stated 
thereon. Such plates shall only be placed on any vehicle or cycle owned by such dealer; and 
provided, such vehicle is not used for hire. Any person who shall be convicted of a violation of 
this paragraph shall be subject to a fine not, exceeding $100.00.  

A bona fide dealer in motorized bicycles, as defined in R.S. 39:1-1, who has an established place 
of business in this State, may, with regard; to motorized bicycles owned by him, obtain general 
registration and registration plates therefor of the style and kind provided for in this subtitle, with 
the letter “D” stated thereon. The plates can be placed on a motorized bicycle by the dealer, but 
only if the motorized bicycle is operated only for shop, demonstration, or delivery purposes. 

Any person engaged in the business of financing the purchase of motor or motor-drawn vehicles 
or motorized bicycles or lending money thereon may, with regard to motor or motor-drawn 
vehicles or motorized bicycles owned or controlled by him, obtain general registration and 
registration plates therefor of the style and kind provided for in this subtitle, with the word 
“temporary” stated thereon. Such plates can be placed on any such vehicle only when it is being 
transported from the place where it has been kept by the purchaser or borrower to the place where 
it is to be kept by the repossess or, when the repossessor desires to operate it for the purpose of 
demonstration for sale. 

Any corporation engaged in the business of insuring motor vehicles, motorized bicycles, or 
motor-drawn vehicles against theft may, with regard to vehicles owned or controlled by it, obtain 
general registration and registration plates therefor of the style and kind provided for in this 
subtitle, with the word “temporary” stated thereon. Such plates can be placed on any such vehicle, 
if ownership or control thereof has been obtained by virtue of the terms of an insurance against 
theft contract made by such corporation, and only "when the vehicle is to be transported for 
delivery to the owner thereof from the place where it has been abandoned by or seized from a 
thief. 

Any person, partnership or corporation engaged in the business of transporting motor or motor-
drawn vehicles or motorized bicycles from the place of manufacture for delivery to dealers may, 
with regard to such vehicles, obtain general registration and registration plates therefor of the 
kind and style provided for in this subtitle, with the word “temporary” stated thereon, but only if 
the director is satisfied as to the financial responsibility of such person, partnership or corporation 
to meet any claim for damages arising out of any automobile accident and satisfactory evidence 
of such responsibility ;has been filed with him. 



Any person engaged in the business of renting or leasing motor vehicles, motorized bicycles, or 
motor-drawn vehicles may, with regard to said motor vehicles, motorized bicycles, or motor-
drawn vehicles owned by him, obtain general registration and registration plates therefor, 
provided for in this subtitle, with the word “temporary” stated thereon. Said registration plates 
may be placed on any motor vehicle, motorized bicycle, or motor-drawn vehicle owned by such 
person while said vehicle is not individually registered and not in use as a rented or leased 
vehicle.  

A bona fide dealer in “nonconventional” type motor vehicles, as defined in R.S. 39:10-2, who has 
an established place of business in this State, may, with regard to “nonconventional” type motor 
vehicles owned by him, obtain general registration and registration plates therefor of the style and 
kind provided for in this subtitle, with the letter “D” stated thereon. Such plates can be placed on 
any “nonconventional” type motor vehicle by such dealer, but only if such "nonconventional" 
type motor vehicle is operated only for shop, demonstration or delivery purposes.  

Any person, partnership or corporation engaged in the business of conducting a wholesale 
automobile auction block in this State for duly licensed dealers only, at least once each week, 
may, with regard to vehicles controlled by it, obtain general registration and registration plates 
therefor of the style and kind provided for in this subtitle, with the word "temporary" stated 
thereon. Such plates can be placed on any vehicle controlled by the auction block, which is to be 
transported from the place where stored by the owner to the auction block. Such plates may not 
be displayed on a vehicle sold at the auction block for delivery to the purchaser. Application for 
such plates shall be approved only if the director is satisfied as to the financial responsibility of 
such person, partnership or corporation to

 



Special Category Registration Certification – Allowable Use of Business Location

I understand that, in accordance with N.J.A.C. 13:21-15.2 (h), a special category business location 
must comply with all zoning, planning use and environmental laws and ordinances and that all 
activities permitted by the license will be permitted therein.  

I hereby certify that the location(s) for which I seek a license complies with all State and local laws, 
ordinances and regulations concerning the activities permitted by the dealer license.

I certify that the foregoing statements made by me are true. I am aware that if any of the foregoing 
statements are willfully false, I am subject to penalty.

Name of Business: ______________________________________________________________

___________________________ ________________________ ___________
Dealer Owner/ Principal Name  Signature Date

Business Licensing Services Bureau 
P.O. Box 170 
Trenton, NJ 08666-0170
(609) 292 6500 ext. 5014
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