Business Licensing Services P.O. Box 171 Trenton, New Jersey 08666-0171 (609) 292-6500 #5014

## NOTICE

## \$25 FEE FOR A FLASHING AMBER LIGHT PERMIT

Beginning February 1, 2009, pursuant to <u>N.J.S.A.</u> 39:3-50(d), a \$25 fee is being collected for the initial issuance and for each subsequent renewal of the permit for <u>each vehicle</u> for which the applicant seeks to use such a light.

This fee will apply to owners or lessees of the following types of vehicles (except vehicles registered by a New Jersey government agency): (i) tow trucks bearing commercial registration; (ii) service vehicles bearing commercial registration; (iii) snow-removal and/or sanding vehicles bearing commercial registration; (iv) contractor or subcontractor vehicles working under the authority of any government entity bearing passenger registration; (vi) security services vehicles bearing commercial registration; (vii) public utility company employee vehicles bearing passenger registration.

Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:24-4.1, et seq, employees of the New Jersey Department of Transportation, New Jersey Highway Authority, South Jersey Transportation Authority and rural route letter carriers of the United States Postal Service are also eligible for flashing amber light permits to be used on a vehicle owned or leased by them while in the performance of their duties. These permits are not subject to a fee. Applications for these permits must be submitted by the aforementioned government agencies.

Each applicant for a flashing amber light permit must follow the requirements set forth in the law and regulations (N.J.S.A. 39:3-50(d), N.J.S.A. 39:3-54.24 and N.J.A.C. 13:24-4.1, et seq.) applicable to the use of the flashing amber light including, but not limited to the following:

- 1. An application fee of \$25 must be paid by the applicant to the Motor Vehicle Commission for each vehicle for which the applicant seeks the initial issuance of the amber warning light permit and for each subsequent renewal of the permit.
- 2. The permit must be in the possession of the operator at all times when the flashing amber light is displayed on the vehicle and must be exhibited upon the request of any law enforcement official or authorized representative of the Commission. Any government employee authorized to use an amber light on a passenger vehicle must also present their government identification along with the permit.
- 3. The flashing amber light permit is valid for four years from the date of issuance, unless cancelled or revoked, and is non-transferable. Termination of the type of employment or service for which the permit is issued, or the sale, transfer, disposal or termination of the lease of the vehicle for which the permit was issued, automatically and immediately cancels the permit and invalidates the authority for use of such light. The permit is to be surrendered to the Motor Vehicle Commission by the permit holder within 10 business days from the cancellation or revocation.
- 4. A flashing amber light utilized on a vehicle must be mounted so that at least one such light is clearly visible from every direction when the vehicle is being used for the type of employment or service for which the permit was issued. Alternately flashing or strobe headlights are prohibited and must not be incorporated into the housing of any lighting permitted.
- 5. Any person authorized to display an amber warning light who willfully uses the light or displays the public utility company sign in violation of the provisions of this act will be liable to a penalty of not more than \$100 and his or her permit to display the light may be cancelled, suspended, or revoked by the chief administrator.

Please direct all questions related to this Notice to the Business Licensing Services Bureau, at (609) 292-6500 #5014.