How High Schools Can Participate in New Jersey High School Voter Registration Week

APRIL 14, 2024 - APRIL 20, 2024



Participation Activities:

- Launch a High School Voter Registration campaign that highlights students' civic rights and responsibilities, including sharing the <u>NJ High School Voter Registration</u> <u>Week video from Lieutenant Governor</u> <u>Tahesha Way</u>
- Designate a specific time/class/day to
 inform 17- & 18-year-old students on how to register to vote and voter resources.
 - Provide the <u>Be An Informed New</u> <u>Jersey Voter presentation</u> to educators to present to students or to the students themselves. Provide time for students to explore the
 - Student Voter Registration and Voting Website
- Distribute the <u>NJ HS Voter Registration</u>
 <u>Week Event Flyer</u> to students and post around the building.
- Have the student council set-up a voter
 registration table during lunch to educate students on the voter registration process.
- Promote NJ High School Voter
 Registration week on your social media pages. Use hashtag #NJStudentsVote

Ways Eligible Students Can Register to Vote:

- Have students scan the QR code on the event flyer to access the <u>Student</u>
 <u>Voter Registration and Voting Website</u>
- Direct students to the state's Online Voter Registration Application
- Print and distribute Paper Voter Registration Forms.

Who is Eligible to Vote:

To register in New Jersey, you must be:

- A United States citizen;
- At least 17 years old, though you will not be able to vote until you have reached the age of 18;
- A resident of the county for 30 days before the election;
- You are not serving a sentence of Incarceration as a result of a conviction of an indictable offense under the laws of this or another state or of the United States. Citizens on parole or probation can register to vote in New Jersey.

Primary Election Day & Key Dates

Here are key deadlines for the upcoming Primary Election:

- April 20: Commencement of mailing of Mail-in Ballots for the Primary Election
- May 14: Deadline to Register to Vote for the Primary Election
- **May 28:** Deadline to apply for a Mail-in Ballot by Mail for Primary Election
- May 29 June 2: In-Person Early Voting Period
- June 3 at 3pm: Deadline to apply for a Mail-in ballot in person at your County Clerk's office
- June 4: Primary Election Day -Polls are open from 6:00am-8:00pm