Skip to main content
  • COVID-19 Information
COVID-19 is still active. Wear a mask. Social distance. Stay up to date on vaccine information. Visit: covid19.nj.gov
COVID19 Alert NJDownload free COVID Alert app.
Visit covid19.nj.gov/app
Department of State, Division of Elections

New Jersey Voter Information Portal

The Hon. Tahesha Way, Secretary of State
Voting Questions? Call 1-877-NJ-VOTER (1-877-658-6837)
Student Voter Registration & Voting

Student Voter Registration & Voting

Take part in High School Voter Registration Week, April 25-29!
Calling all 17 and 18 year olds.

 

Democracy is not a spectator sport. It requires continual work to protect it and keep it strong. And the best way to protect and strengthen our democracy is to participate in it!

You are entering a new phase of your lives where you will have even more influence in what happens in your local community, the state and the country. As a citizen, your active civic participation as a voter is essential in that process. And the first step in that process is to register to vote. As a 17 year old in New Jersey, you can register to vote now and your voter registration will become active on your 18th birthday. If you are 18 register now so you can participate in the Primary Election on June 7th.

Register to vote online or by downloading a printable postage paid form for your county.

Ask students to sign up to attend the student focused How To Be An Informed New Jersey Voter webinar after school on April 26th.

Want a convenient way to vote whether you’re at home or away at school? After you register you can apply for a Vote-By-Mail ballot.

 

To register in New Jersey, you must be:

  • A United States citizen
  • At least 17 years old, though you may not vote until you have reached the age of 18
  • A resident of the county for 30 days before the election
  • You are not serving a sentence of Incarceration as a result of a conviction of an indictable offense under the laws of this or another state or of the United States.

You are not eligible to register to vote if:

  • You are serving a sentence of Incarceration as a result of a conviction of an indictable offense under the laws of this or another state or of the United States.

If you are in college, you have the option to register from your college address or your parent's address. There are good reasons for registering and voting at either residence, but keep in mind, the final choice is yours.

The registration deadline to vote is 21 days prior to Election Day

You will receive a sample ballot about 1 week before the election that will indicate where your polling place is or you can use our
polling place locator.

 

Page Last Updated: 04/19/22

 

 


Back
to top