NJ Home   Services A to Z   Departments/Agencies FAQs
Great Seal of the State of New Jersey
NJDOT Site Index  |  Search: NJ Home   NJDOT
Great Seal of the State of New Jersey

news release

P.O. Box 600
Trenton, NJ

Contact: Rick Remington

RELEASE: February 1, 2003

Lettiere names Blue Ribbon Commission members


(Trenton) - Acting Transportation Commissioner Jack Lettiere today announced the appointment of seven members to the Blue Ribbon Transportation Commission.

On January 7, at his Transportation Summit, Governor James E. McGreevey issued an executive order creating a commission to study New Jersey’s transportation system and its needs. The commission, chaired by Acting Transportation Jack Lettiere, will make recommendations regarding transportation funding and priorities as the State prepares to renew the Transportation Trust Fund.

“I am charging this distinguished group with the critical task of setting forth a transportation strategy that will guide us over the next decade, ” said McGreevey. “A vital transportation system in New Jersey is essential for the health and well being of our communities, our working families, our economy, and our overall quality of life.”

“The work of the Commission will be paramount in developing a sound transportation policy for New Jersey,” said Acting Transportation Commissioner Jack Lettiere. “ With the expiration of the Transportation Trust Fund next year, it is imperative that we work together to address New Jersey’s long term transportation funding and policy needs.”

The following individuals will serve on the Commission:

Louis J. Gambaccini – Senior Transportation Fellow, Voorhees Transportation Center and former DOT Commissioner.

John P. Sheridan, Jr. - Partner & Co-Chairman of Riker, Danzig, Scherer, Hyland & Perretti and former DOT Commissioner.

Ray Pocino - Vice President - Laborers International Union of North America.

Al Koeppe - President & Chief Operating Officer - PSE&G.

Harry Larrison, Jr. - Freeholder - Monmouth County.

Robert A. Altenkirch - President of New Jersey Institute of Technology.

Barbara Lawrence - Executive Director, NJ Future.

The Commission consists of seven public members appointed by the Governor; the DOT Commissioner will serve as an ex officio member and will chair the panel. The public members will include representatives of the business, labor and environmental communities, as well as individuals with expertise in New Jersey transportation issues.

The Commission will issue a final report containing its findings and recommendations, including any recommendations for legislation that it deems appropriate, within one year.

Go to NJDOT home page Contact Us | Privacy Notice | Legal Statement | Accessibility Statement  Go to State of New Jersey home page
  department: home | about | NJ commuter | in the works | business | engineering | freight, air & water | capital | community | data | links | index
  statewide: NJ Home | about NJ | business | government | state services A to Z | departments

  Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2002-2020
  Department of Transportation
  P.O. Box 600
  Trenton, NJ 08625-0600
OPRA - open public records act

  Last Updated:  May 2, 2007