The Official Web Site For The State of New Jersey - Department of Treasury
Global Navigation
FAQs Departments/ Agencies Services A to Z NJ Home Page
Division of Revenue and Enterprise Services

Important Announcement regarding Credit Card Convenience Fees

Effective July 1, 2015, credit card payments will be subject to a convenience fee for several online legal business filing services offered by the Division of Revenue and Enterprise Services.  These online services include Standing Certificates, Annual Reports and Business Reinstatements, Business Endings, and Amended Certificates of Incorporation.   The services will continue to offer an electronic payment option that does not include a convenience fee.  For additional information regarding these services, please contact DORES’s Business Tax Hotline at 609-292-9292.

All profit and non-profit corporations (domestic and foreign), as well as all limited partnerships, limited liability companies, and limited liability partnerships must submit annual reports and associated processing fees each year following their dates of incorporation/registration. Online filing is now mandatory for all annual report filings. The annual report due date for all businesses will be the last day of the anniversary month of the entity's formation in New Jersey.

The annual fees are: 

$50.00 for profit corporations, LPs, LLPs, and LLCs
$25.00 for non-profits

Information from the annual report is public and forms the core of the State's corporate/ business status reporting system. This information is relied on heavily by the commercial, financial and legal sectors.

You may use the annual report filing to change a registered agent or registered office for the business. The fee of $25.00 for these changes is in addition to the annual report fee. Remember that a registered agent must have a New Jersey address and that the physical location of the registered office must be indicated.

Individuals who may sign the annual report are specifically designated. For corporations, either the registered agent or a corporate officer may sign. Annual reports for other business types may be signed by any authorized representative.

Annual report filing is a prerequisite for maintaining an active business status. In accordance with State law, businesses that fail to file annual reports for two consecutive years will be revoked.

Electronic Filing Mandate

All business entities are subject to the annual report electronic filing mandate. If the business, its officers, directors or registered agent do not have access to the internet that would enable compliance with the electronic filing requirements, an e-file exemption request may be submitted. Notarized statements by both an authorized business representative and the registered agent indicating the lack of internet access are required. Approved exemptions are valid for the current filing year only.

Last Updated: Wednesday, 08/31/16

Revenue: Home | Registrations | Certifications | Tax Filings | NJBGS | Refund Policy | Contact us
Treasury: Home | ServicesPeopleBusinesses | Divisions/AgenciesFormsContact Us
NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 1996 -
This site is maintained by the Division of Revenue and Enterprise Services.

Reports Accessibility Statement Legal Statement Privacy Notice Contact Us Open Public Records Act Proposed Rules and Amendments Comment or Petition for new Rule Division/Ageny Statutes and Rules Electronic Notification