
New Jersey Notary Public Program 

Frequently Asked Questions 

What is a Notary Public in New Jersey? 

A Notary Public is a public officer of the State of New Jersey who serves as an impartial witness to 
the signing of documents and to the acknowledgement of signatures on documents. A Notary Public 

may also administer oaths and affirmations. 

A1423: A notary public who is not licensed as an attorney-at-law shall not use or advertise the title 
of lawyer or attorney-at-law. A notary who advertises his services must provide a statement “I am 
not an attorney licensed to practice law and may not give legal advice about immigration or any 

other legal matter or accept fees for legal advice”. 

1. Who is eligible to become a Notary Public in New Jersey? 
A resident of New Jersey; or 
A resident of an adjoining state that regularly works in New Jersey or maintains an office here. 
A resident who is 18 years of age or older. 
 
A person who has been convicted of a crime under the laws of any state or the United States, for an 
offense involving dishonesty, or a crime of the first or second degree, may only be appointed by the 
State Treasurer with approval from the Attorney General of New Jersey. 
 

2. How do I apply to become a Notary Public in New Jersey? 
You must file an application with the New Jersey Division of Revenue and Enterprise Services 
(DORES) and pay the filing fee of $25 (plus a convenience fee of $5 if filing online). Your 
application must be endorsed by a State Legislator before being submitted to DORES. Applications 
filed online will be endorsed electronically by State Legislators. Paper applications must be 
submitted to a State Legislator for endorsement before filing with DORES. The Notary Public 
Online Application System (NPAFS) and paper applications are available from DORES’ website at: 
www.nj.gov/treasury/revenue/. 
 

3. What information do I need to file an online application? 
Besides entering your personal information, you will need a credit card or electronic check 
information to submit your application. If you are not a New Jersey resident, you will need to 
upload an electronic copy of a business affidavit to attest that you are employed in New Jersey. 
 
Applicants with a criminal conviction will need to upload certified copy of the judgment(s) of 
convictions and certificate showing completion of a rehabilitative program(s). Acceptable file 
format for uploads include JPG, PDF and PNG, with 3 MB as the maximum file size limit per file. 
 

4. What are the payment options when filing an online application? 



Acceptable forms of payment are MasterCard, Visa, Discover, American Express as well as debit 
cards that can be processed as a credit card. In addition, there is an eCheck option for payment. 
 
 

5. How will I know the status of my application after I file it? 
If you filed your application online using NPAFS, you can expect to receive one or more e-mails 
that will provide the status of your application. In addition, you can check the status of your 
application at any time from here by using your Payment Confirmation Number. This number can 
be found in the e-mail we sent to you after receiving your application. 
 
If you filed your application by paper, you may contact our Notary Public Unit to find out the status 
of your application. See question #12 for contact information. 
 

6. What additional steps are required to become a Notary Public in New Jersey? 
After DORES accepts and processes your application, you will be mailed the Notary Public 
Commission Packet. To be commissioned as a Notary Public in New Jersey, you must take your 
Commission Packet to your County Clerk Office’s within 90 days to swear to the Notary Public 
Oath of Office. Please be aware that you must pay an additional fee of $15 to your County Clerk for 
the recording of your Oath of Office. 
 

7. What if I am unable to take my Oath of Office within 90 days from the date my commission? 
Your commission is void and you will need to file a new application and pay another filing fee. 
 

8. Do I need to keep a journal of my notary actions? 
No. However, it is recommended that you do so. 
 

9. What is the time period of my Notary Public Commission? 
Notary Publics in New Jersey are commissioned for a period of 5 years. Commissions may be 
renewed for additional 5 year periods. We will mail you a reminder notice before your commission 
expires providing information about the renewal application process. 
 

10. May a Notary Public charge for administering an oath or affirmation or by taking an 
acknowledgment or proof or execution? 
Yes. 
 
Notary Publics in New Jersey may charge the following fees: 
 

Administering an oath/affirmation    $2.50/ea. 
Executing a jurat      $2.50/ea. 
Taking proof of a deed (proof of execution)  $2.50/ea. 
Taking an acknowledgment     $2.50/ea. 



11. When filing my application online, why do I have to select a County? 
Selecting a County provides you with information about the location(s) of County Offices where 
you may take your Oath of Office. You may only take your oath after you have filed your 
application and received your Notary Public Commission Packet. Below are the links to all the 

County Offices in New Jersey – 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

12. Who to contact for filing support? 
 
For questions about filing an application online using NPAFS, please contact the 
New Jersey e-Government Services Help Desk at: 

Phone:  609-586-2600 
E-Mail:  Contact Us 

 
For general questions about the New Jersey Notary Public Program, please contact DORES’s 
Notary Public Unit at:                                                                        

Phone:  609-292-0642 

E-mail: http://www.nj.gov/treasury/revenue/digitaldirector.shtml 

 

Atlantic  http://atlanticcountyclerk.org/  

Bergen  http://www.bergencountyclerk.org/  

Burlington  http://www.co.burlington.nj.us/countyclerk  

Camden  http://www.camdencounty.com/clerk 

Cape May  http://www.capemaycountygov.net/cit-e-access/webpage.cfm?tid=5&tpid=417  

Cumberland  http://www.co.cumberland.nj.us/content/173/2133/2190.aspx  

Essex  http://www.essexclerk.com/  

Gloucester  http://www.co.gloucester.nj.us/depts/c/cclerk/  

Hudson  http://www.hudsoncountyclerk.org/  

Hunterdon  http://www.co.hunterdon.nj.us/countyclerk.htm  

Mercer  http://nj.gov/counties/mercer/officials/clerk/  

Middlesex  http://www.co.middlesex.nj.us/countyclerk/  

Monmouth  http://www.co.monmouth.nj.us/page.aspx?ID=125  

Morris  http://www.morriscountyclerk.org/  

Ocean  http://www.oceancountyclerk.com/  

Passaic  http://www.passaiccountynj.org/index.aspx?NID=131  

Salem  http://salemcountyclerk.org/  

Somerset  http://www.co.somerset.nj.us/clerk/  

Sussex  http://www.sussexcountyclerk.com/  

Union  http://ucnj.org/government/county-clerk/  

Warren  http://www.co.warren.nj.us/CountyClerk/Index.html  


