The Official Web Site For The State of New Jersey - Department of Treasury
Global Navigation
FAQs Departments/ Agencies Services A to Z NJ Home Page

Withholding Rate Tables

Legislation enacted in 2004 (P.L. 2004, c.40) increased the New Jersey gross income tax rates on income over $500,000. The increase was retroactive to January 1, 2004. Because of the increase in tax rates, new withholding rates were required.

Recent Legislation (P.L. 2009, c. 69) increases the New Jersey gross income tax rates for all taxpayers with gross income over $400,000. The increase applies to the entire 2009 tax year and new withholding rates are required effective October 1, 2009. On January 1, 2010, the withholding rate will revert back to the prior rate.

Last Updated: Wednesday, 08/20/14

Taxation: Home | Legislature | Judiciary | Revenue | IRS
Treasury: Home | ServicesPeopleBusinesses | Divisions/AgenciesForms
NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 1996-
This site is maintained by the Division of Revenue and Enterprise Services.

Reports Accessibility Statement Legal Statement Privacy Notice Contact Us Open Public Records Act Proposed Rules and Amendments Comment or Petition for new Rule Division/Ageny Statutes and Rules Electronic Notification