The Opportunity Zones program was enacted as part of the 2017 federal Tax Cuts and Jobs Act and is designed to drive long-term capital investments into low-income rural and urban communities. The program provides opportunities for private investors to support investments in distressed communities through participation in Opportunity Funds under rules released by the U.S. Department of the Treasury.

Under the federal legislation, eligible Opportunity Zones were census tracts with a poverty rate of 20 percent or a median family income up to 80 percent of the area median. Governor Murphy was authorized to designate up to 25 percent of the state’s eligible low-income census tracts (up to 169 tracts) as Opportunity Zones.

Governor Murphy worked directly with Senator Booker’s office, convened meetings and roundtables with mayors throughout the state to receive feedback and input, and met with the New Jersey Congressional delegation to ensure a fair and transparent selection process. Designated census tracts reflect key economic indicators (e.g. income, unemployment rate, property values) that also take into consideration geographic distribution, access to transit, and the value of existing investments, including those encouraged by state programs and incentives.

169 tracts were nominated on March 20, 2018 and approved by the US Department of the Treasury on April 9, 2018.

Click here for an Excel workbook containing a list of the designated tracts for New Jersey

Click here to view an interactive map of the designated tracts for New Jersey.

Click here to download a large, non-interactive map of the designated tracts for New Jersey.

Designated Opportunity Zones map of NJ


The following municipalities have at least one Opportunity Zone:

  • Atlantic City (Atlantic County)
  • Egg Harbor City (Atlantic County)
  • Egg Harbor Twp (Atlantic County)
  • Pleasantville (Atlantic County)
  • Somers Point (Atlantic County)
  • Cliffside Park (Bergen County)
  • Englewood (Bergen County)
  • Fairview (Bergen County)
  • Garfield (Bergen County)
  • Hackensack (Bergen County)
  • Lodi (Bergen County)
  • South Hackensack (Bergen County)
  • Teterboro (Bergen County)
  • Burlington City (Burlington County)
  • Palmyra (Burlington County)
  • Pemberton Twp (Burlington County)
  • Riverside (Burlington County)
  • Willingboro (Burlington County)
  • Camden City (Camden County)
  • Lindenwold (Camden County)
  • Pennsauken (Camden County)
  • Pine Hill (Camden County)
  • Wildwood (Cape May County)
  • West Wildwood (Cape May County)
  • Lower Twp (Cape May County)
  • Bridgeton (Cumberland County)
  • Vineland (Cumberland County)
  • Millville (Cumberland County)
  • East Orange (Essex County)
  • Irvington (Essex County)
  • Newark (Essex County)
  • Orange (Essex County)
  • Deptford (Gloucester County)
  • Glassboro (Gloucester County)
  • Woodbury (Gloucester County)
  • Bayonne (Hudson County)
  • Kearny (Hudson County)
  • Jersey City (Hudson County)
  • North Bergen (Hudson County)
  • Union City (Hudson County)
  • West New York (Hudson County)
  • Flemington (Hunterdon County)
  • Trenton (Mercer County)
  • Hamilton (Mercer County)
  • Carteret (Middlesex County)
  • Jamesburg (Middlesex County)
  • New Brunswick (Middlesex County)
  • Perth Amboy (Middlesex County)
  • South River (Middlesex County)
  • Asbury Park (Monmouth County)
  • Freehold Borough (Monmouth County)
  • Long Branch (Monmouth County)
  • Neptune City (Monmouth County)
  • Neptune Twp (Monmouth County)
  • Red Bank (Monmouth County)
  • Dover (Morris County)
  • Wharton Borough (Morris County)
  • Berkeley (Ocean County)
  • Lakewood (Ocean County)
  • Manchester (Ocean County)
  • Clifton (Passaic County)
  • Passaic City (Passaic County)
  • Paterson (Passaic County)
  • Prospect Park (Passaic County)
  • Carney’s Point (Salem County)
  • Salem City (Salem County)
  • Bound Brook (Somerset County)
  • North Plainfield (Somerset County)
  • Sussex Borough (Sussex County)
  • Elizabeth (Union County)
  • Hillside (Union County)
  • Plainfield (Union County)
  • Linden (Union County)
  • Rahway (Union County)
  • Phillipsburg (Warren County)