Back
to top

Information on
Novel Coronavirus

Have general questions about COVID-19?
The NJ Poison Control Center and 211 have partnered with the State to provide information to the public on COVID-19:
Call: 2-1-1; Call (24/7): 1-800-962-1253; Text: NJCOVID to 898-211
Visit covid19.nj.gov or nj.gov/health for additional information

Division of Pensions & Benefits

Welcome to the N.J. Division of Pensions & Benefits

Our mission is to provide quality benefits and services to meet the needs of our clients. Learn More

Active Employees

Active Employees

Active Employees are employees of the State of New Jersey, Local Government, and Local Education.

Retirees

Active Employees

Retired members are retirees of the State of New Jersey, Local Government, and Local Education.

Employers

Active Employees

Employers who participate in the State-administered Retirement Systems and Benefit Programs.


8.13.20 On August 3, 2020, Governor Murphy issued Executive Order No. 172 which waives the 60-day waiting period for enrollment in the State Health Benefits Program (SHBP) for newly hired employees and members returning from retirement, layoff, etc. See the Certifying Officer Letter for further details.

8.11.20 The Police and Firemen's Retirement System of New Jersey (PFRSNJ) has extended the final submission date of the Request for Qualifications and Request for Actuary Firm until August 14, 2020. The period for questions and answers has ended. See the updated Questions and Answers for this RFQ or direct any new questions to the PFRSNJ using the contact information in the document.

8.11.20 The Police and Firemen's Retirement System of New Jersey (PFRSNJ) has issued a Request for Qualifications for State and Federal Government Affairs Services . Please direct any questions to the PFRSNJ using the contact information in the document.

7.30.20 The August 1st pension checks were sent to the post office on Wednesday, July 29th. Please allow up to 10 days for delivery. Because the 1st is a Saturday, those enrolled in direct deposit should receive their funds on Friday, July 31st.

7.29.20 If you are enrolled in Tax$ave, please see the Important Changes to Your Tax$ave FSA Plan in response to the Coronavirus Pandemic, for information regarding changes in the Tax$ave Flexible Spending Account (FSA).

7.29.20 The processing of reimbursement checks for 2019 income-related adjustments to Medicare Part B and/or Part D premiums is resuming. The timeframe for completion is approximately 4 months.

7.17.20 The Police and Firemen’s Retirement System of New Jersey (PFRSNJ) has made Proposed Amendment: N.J.A.C. 17:4 and Proposed New Rules: N.J.A.C. 17:4 available for public review.

7.14.20 The Police and Firemen's Retirement System of New Jersey (PFRSNJ) has issued a Request for Broker Qualifications and Request for Fiduciary Insurance Proposals . Please direct any questions to the PFRSNJ using the contact information in the document.

7.13.20 The PFRSNJ Board of Trustees adopted provisions of the federal CARES Act to permit the suspension of pension loan repayments. PFRS, PERS, TPAF, SPRS, and JRS members who are qualified individuals may request suspension of loan repayments until December 31, 2020. See the Loan Suspension Q&A for qualification criteria and additional information. Forms for active employees or retirees are available on our Forms and Publications page.

7.8.20 Judicial Retirement System Experience Study for 2018 is now posted.

7.7.20 The Police and Firemen's Retirement System of New Jersey (PFRSNJ) has extended the final submission date of the Request for Auditor Qualifications and Request for Independent Audit for Fiscal Years 2021 Through 2025 until August 14, 2020. The period for questions and answers is extended until August 7, 2020. See current Questions and Answers for this RFQ or direct any new questions to the PFRSNJ using the contact information in the document.

6.24.20 The NJDPB is temporarily modifying the Return to Employment Regulation. The effective date of the Temporary Rule Modification is May 6, 2020, and will cease upon the end of the COVID-19 State of Emergency declared under Executive Order 103.

6.9.20 The GASB 68 Notices for 2020 are now posted for all retirement systems.

6.9.20 The GASB 74 and 75 Reports for the Local Government Retired Fund are now posted

5.12.20 Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act updates for Designated Service Providers of Alternate Benefits Program (ABP) and Additional Contributions Tax-Sheltered Program (ACTS) and the Defined Contribution Retirement Program (DCRP) and Deferred Compensation Program (DCP)

5.11.20 The GASB 67 Notices for 2019 are now posted.

5.11.20 The Pension System Actuarial Valuation Reports for 2019 are now posted.

4.17.20 Please see our COVID-19 Resource Page designed for SHBP and SEHBP Members to address the COVID-19 outbreak.

3.31.20 The FY 2019 Comprehensive Audited Financial Report is now available.

Planning for retirement? See our Online Guide to Retirement

Need to change your name or address? Report a death? Add a family member to your benefits? See the Life Events tab to learn more.

MBOS Snapshot:

The Member Benefits Online System (MBOS) gives registered users internet access to pension and health benefit account information and online applications. Some options include:

  • Retrieving your Personal Benefits Statement
  • Designating a Beneficiary
  • Getting a Pension Loan
  • Applying for Withdrawal
  • Applying for Retirement
  • Retrieving your letters and statements

You may log on or register using the "Access my MBOS Account" section located at the top of every page.

Need to change your name or address? Report a death? Add a family member to your benefits? See the Life Events below to learn more.

Name Change

Active members and retirees can complete an Affidavit of Name Change form and submit it to the NJDPB along with required documentation.

Active Employees

  • It is your responsibility to add a dependent to your health plan coverage within 60 days of the qualifying event. You also must submit proof of dependency documentation along with your application to your employer. If you miss the deadline, you will have to wait until the annual open enrollment period to add your dependent to your plan. There may be a change in the amount deducted from your pay due to your coverage-level change.
  • Employees can easily review and change life insurance/pension beneficiary designations online using MBOS. Look for "Access myNewJersey" above.
  • State Active Employees Only: Add your spouse/partner or dependent to your Tax$ave Medical Flexible Spending Account and/or Tax$ave Dependent Care Flexible Spending Account.

Retirees

  • It is your responsibility to add a dependent to your health plan coverage. You must enroll your child within 60 days of the date of the qualifying event. You also must submit proof of dependency documentation along with your application to the NJDPB. If you miss the deadline, your dependent will be enrolled on the first of the month following a 60-day waiting period. There may be a change in the amount deducted from your retirement allowance (if self-paid) due to your coverage-level change.
  • Retirees can easily review life insurance/pension beneficiary designations online using MBOS.

To register or log on to MBOS, look for "Access myNewJersey" above.

When removing a dependent child from your coverage (for any reason) there may be a change in the amount deducted from your paycheck or retirement check (if self-paid) due to your coverage-level change.

  • To remove a child from your health coverage, Active Employees should submit an application to their Human Resources representative. Retirees and COBRA recipients must submit an application directly to the NJDPB.
  • Dependent children's coverage will be terminated at the end of the year in which they turn age 26. It is your responsibility to apply for continued coverage under Chapter 375 or COBRA for the dependent child, if desired.
  • A child who has reached age 26 and is disabled due to a mental or physical disability and dependent upon you for support can remain covered as a dependent if the child's disabled status is approved.
  • A child who has reached age 26 and a COBRA recipient may continue coverage under COBRA for a period of 36 months.

If your spouse’s employment status changes (e.g., starts or leaves a job), you can enroll/disenroll him or her in your health plan. Proof of new coverage or proof of loss of coverage is required. There will be a change in the amount deducted from your paycheck or retirement check (if self-paid) due to your coverage-level change. Active Employees should submit an application and proof of coverage documentation to their Human Resources department. Retirees and COBRA recipients should submit an application and proof of coverage documentation to the NJDPB.

If you divorce or dissolve your civil union or domestic partnership, you must remove your former spouse or partner from your health plan when the event occurs. There will be a change in the amount deducted from your paycheck or retirement check (if self-paid) due to your coverage-level change.

  • Active Employees must notify their Human Resources department.
  • Retirees and COBRA recipients must submit an application to change status to the NJDPB.

Other Considerations:

Leave of Absence: Taking a Leave of Absence without pay for illness or family leave can have an impact your service credit, retirement, and health benefits coverage. Upon returning to employment from a leave of absence, you may be eligible to purchase service credit.

PERS, TPAF, and PFRS members are eligible to purchase service credit for official leaves of absence without pay.

Disability: If you have general questions regarding temporary or permanent disability benefits, you must contact your employer’s human resources representative or benefits administrator.

Workers' Compensation can impact pension contributions, life insurance, and health benefits.

Other considerations:

Active Employees

  • It is your responsibility to add a new spouse/partner to your health plan coverage within 60 days of the date of marriage or partnership. You also must submit proof of dependency documentation along with your application to your employer. If you miss the deadline, you will have to wait until the annual open enrollment period to add him or her to your plan. There will be a change in the amount deducted from your paycheck due to your coverage-level change.
  • Employees can easily review and change life insurance/pension beneficiary designations online using MBOS. Look for "Access myNewJersey" above.
  • State Active Employees Only: Enroll your spouse/partner in your Tax$ave Medical Flexible Spending Account.

Retirees

  • It is your responsibility to add a new spouse/partner to your health plan coverage within 60 days of the date of marriage or partnership. You also must submit proof of dependency documentation along with your application to the NJDPB. If you miss the deadline, your spouse/partner will be enrolled on the first of the month following a 60-day waiting period. There may be a change in the amount deducted from your retirement check (if self-paid) due to your coverage-level change.
  • Retirees can easily review and change their tax withholdings and life insurance/pension beneficiary designations online using MBOS. To register or log on to MBOS, look for "Access myNewJersey" above.

The NJDPB should be notified of the death of an employee or retiree as soon as possible. Beneficiaries of pension and/or life insurance payments and surviving spouse/partner/dependents on the member's health insurance coverage will be notified by mail. Required forms and documentation should be returned to the NJDBP immediately in order to process payments and/or provide insurance.

Death of Spouse/Partner/Dependent: If your spouse/partner or dependent child passes away, he or she must be removed from your health plan. There may be a change in the amount deducted from your paycheck or retirement check (if self-paid) due to the coverage-level change.

  • Active Employees must notify their Human Resources department.
  • Retirees and COBRA recipients must submit an application to change coverage level to the NJDPB.

Other Considerations:

  • Review your life insurance and pension beneficiary designations via MBOS and make changes as necessary.
  • State Active Employees Only: Disenroll your spouse/partner/dependent from your Tax$ave Medical Flexible Spending Account or Dependent Care Spending Account.

Pension Boards and Health Benefits Commission Information

Boards of Trustees and Commission Meeting Dates for 2020

Employer Pensions and Health Benefits Training

The NJDPB presents employer training for Certifying Officers and other personnel responsible for the administration of pensions and benefits at employing locations. All training is designed to include recent changes to administrative rules, State and federal laws.

The Division of Pensions & Benefits’ seminars and webinars help members of the PERS, TPAF, PFRS, or DCRP understand their benefits on a variety of topics – in addition to planning for retirement. Seminars are live classroom sessions provided at locations across the State. Webinars are live, interactive web presentations hosted by GoToMeeting. Both seminars and webinars conclude with a brief Q&A period.

For inclement weather cancellations, call (609) 292-6649.

The Division of Pensions & Benefits has all financial reports available on our Financial Reports page.

Videos

Related Videos - to see more videos, please refer to our video library

How to Run a Retirement Estimate for PERS & TPAF Members

SHBP/SEHBP Horizon Health Guides

MBOS Login Issues Part 1: Forgot Your Login ID or Password


Last Updated: Thursday, 08/13/20